Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait, 30 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unforgivable (Kindle Edition)
Not usually a big fan of regency romances but I loved this. The premise is that Gilbert, future Lord Stanhope is forced to marry young Rose Davenport to prevent financial ruin after his father gambles away the inheritance. Gil resents the bargain bitterly, a bargain made worse in his eyes by the youth and unattractive appearance of Rose who is recovering from near death illness when they are introduced. He marries her, beds her and then deserts her for 5 years in Northumberland whilst he conducts a long series of affairs and gains a reputation as a lothario.

Rose recovers from her illness and comes to her maturity an honourable, feisty, attractive woman. So changed that when Gil encounters her in London he fails to recognise her and is enchanted by her not realising she is his wife.

It's a tale of trials and tribulations, of conduct both decent and deplorable, of the push and pull of the relationship with each of the protagonists fearful that honesty will expose them to ridicule and hurt. And of course it is about forgiveness. Gil feels that being pressured into the marriage was unforgivable but truly it is his conduct post marriage which requires forgiveness.

Great story, lots of emotion and Rose was fab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enchanting story, 24 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unforgivable (Kindle Edition)
First time I've read anything by this author and worth every penny! The story was similar to others I've read but beautifully weaved by the author. I loved the central protagonists and the story captured me from the start. The letters written in part of the book were brilliant! Definitely recommend this book - a perfect steamy, charming story with it's own bit of heartbreak but underlying blooming love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A FORCED MARRIAGE, 7 Dec. 2013
By 
Reader (The south) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unforgivable (Kindle Edition)
Gil Truman the eldest son and heir to the Earl of Stanhope is forced to marry Rose Davenport. The Earl had got himself into a hole and the only way out was for Gil to marry Rose. Unfortunately Rose does not discover that Gil does not wish to be married to her until it's too late. She soon realises that after their disastrous attempts at intimacy.

Gil deposits Rose at his northern estate and abandons her for five long years. Rose had been seventeen when they married, and just prior to that she had been seriously ill, she was thin and her skin had been red and splotchy. But in the five years she had regained her strength and beauty. Taking herself off to London she has decided that her errant husband and his philandering ways must stop, she wants a proper marriage. Rose attends a masked ball where she knows he will be a guest, fully intending to unmask herself and reveal her identity to him. Gil does dance with her, and he seems attracted to her, but when she removes her mask he doesn't recognise her. But worse he confides to her why he had to marry. Worse of all was that he had been in love with another. Rose knows then she cannot reveal to him who she really is.

This is a very well written romance full of passion and emotion. It was difficult to take sides, both Gil and Rose had been wronged. The way forward for these two people is not easy there are hurt feelings on both sides. This is one of those stories that draws the reader in right from the first page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 25 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unforgivable (Kindle Edition)
This is the second book I have read by 's Chambers a great find for me. Intelligent,witty,beautifully written stories . This was a cracker- a marriage based on debt and misunderstanding when Rose 's father secures her a nobleman to marry in exchange for forgiving a debt. Rose thinks she has a knight in shining armour who can overlook her appearance ravaged by chicken pox but he makes clear shortly after the marriage that he's nit happy. My only complaint would be that his change of heart was frankly based on her becoming beautiful. I would have liked him a little more had she been a little less lovely yet he still loved her!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very enjoyable, 3 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unforgivable (Kindle Edition)
The plot is along the same lines as Georgette Heyer's Civil Contract. I enjoyed reading it and did so in one sitting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unforgivable (Kindle Edition)
Not so keen on the man, I think he held a grudge for too long and there wasn't much action to keep you interested. Otherwise it was well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely!, 25 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Unforgivable (Kindle Edition)
Loved this emotion driven book, the writing flowed which made it easy and a joy to read. My favourite books are the ones written from both male and female points of view because let's face it, we all want to understand why they behave a certain way and that is nicely portrayed in this. I marked it down by 1 star because I felt that despite the length of the book, the authour could've gone into a bit more detail regarding certain areas of the plot, so in other words, i liked it so much, I was unhappy it had to end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read!!, 28 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unforgivable (Kindle Edition)
I could not stop myself from reading this book until I finished and was disappointed it had to end. I loved the main characters Gil and Rose and really felt bad for them both and angry at times with Gil for his bad ways.
However I do wish that the secondary characters such as Gil's brother Jason or the aunt were included a little bit more as the means of adding more flesh to the story.
Despite this will definitely be reading more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unforgivable, 9 Jun. 2013
By 
Clare O'Beara - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Unforgivable (Kindle Edition)
In 1809 Rose Davenport almost dies of chicken pox and fever, but when she recovers is told she is marrying, for a gentleman desires her dowry. Aged seventeen and unpresented, she has no say in her life and accepts that her father is making a safe match for her. But the young man who offers for her hand, trying to ignore her blemishes, resents having to marry wealth to save his family's estates.

A miserable wedding and honeymoon follows for Rose, whose shorn hair and emaciated figure give her no confidence and don't flatter her. Only at piano playing does she excel. Gilbert, a Viscount, had hoped to marry his sweetheart and is dreadfully disappointed by having to do his duty. The breakdown of communication leads to Gil's riding back to London to the society life and leaving Rose ensconced at his Northumberland house, alone for the next five years.

Bored and regretful, Rose has become a good steward of the estate, and takes matters into her own hands. She travels to London and stays with a lady friend, and deliberately meets Gil at a masked ball. He has had one mistress after another, and she entices him to betray his wife one more time. He has no idea who she is, but after a night of passion with a voluptuous beauty he wants to see more of her. She has vanished however. The vicious social gossip mill is in full swing by now and Rose wonders if she should set Gil free....

A nicely toney romance, UNFORGIVABLE shines a spotlight on the role of women, as the carriers of wealth without permission to be women of substance in their own right. Little is said about the lower classes even when Rose is improving their circumstances; what surprised me more was that nothing was said of the Napoleonic wars, when Gil and his younger brother would have joined some regiment and needed heirs in case they were killed in battle. Life was far from being all balls and card parties at this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unforgivable (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book even though the story has been done a number of times.
It was still well written and will look out for other books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unforgivable
Unforgivable by Joanna Chambers
£3.32
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews