Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album I have heard for ages.
A friend recommended this Album to me and I owe them a drink! Every track is good and the songwriting is superb. It has a distinct sixties feel to it and makes a refressing change to the usual garbage you hear on the radio. It even has a track featuring Paul Weller on vocals. Would highly recommend this to anyone who likes the Beatles, Kinks, Small Faces, Zombies.
Published on 26 Sep 2012 by Paulw

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
not the best but not the worst
Published 4 months ago by glen c bowler


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album I have heard for ages., 26 Sep 2012
This review is from: Fables Of History (Audio CD)
A friend recommended this Album to me and I owe them a drink! Every track is good and the songwriting is superb. It has a distinct sixties feel to it and makes a refressing change to the usual garbage you hear on the radio. It even has a track featuring Paul Weller on vocals. Would highly recommend this to anyone who likes the Beatles, Kinks, Small Faces, Zombies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Over the moon with this one!, 31 Dec 2012
By 
Andy Sweeney "music was my first love" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fables Of History (Audio CD)
This thoroughly enjoyable album, the fruits of Andy Crofts' (better known as Paul Weller's organ/keyboard player) labours, is one of those quintessentially English albums that harks back to the best of our classic pop/rock/mod bands of the last fifty years. Throughout Fables Of History, you can hear The Kinks (Jennifer Sits Alone), The Coral (Lights Out), Dodgy (Revolutionary Lovers) and a run-through of some of the best sounds, grooves and beats our country has had to offer over the last half-decade. The melodies and harmonies of The Beatles, the minor-key masterpieces of The Zombies, you can hear the love of all of these bands in The Moons' music. The best thing about it, is that they manage to keep it fresh, new and without you feeling they've lifted anything lock, stock and barrel from other artists. A really cracking collection of songs and a superb live band to boot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MY album of the year., 27 Sep 2012
This review is from: Fables Of History (Audio CD)
This album blew me away. I have predicted bigger things for this band for some time. Now is their time!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 July 2014
This review is from: Fables Of History (Audio CD)
Brilliant cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums I've bought in years!, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fables Of History (Audio CD)
Title says it all - you will enjoy this album! Echoes of The Beatles, Pink Floyd and the more modern Tame Impala.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best record for years, 24 Nov 2013
This review is from: Fables Of History (Audio CD)
Incredible piece of work. Brilliant band, brilliant sound, brilliant songs, brilliant flow through the album and wonderful production. This is the record the Small Faces, Kinks and Ocean Colour Scene might have come up with if they'd created a supergroup, been fed through a psych/glam/pop filter and had Jimmy Miller sat at the control desk. Sheer joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great album love it, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fables Of History (Audio CD)
well written songs
funky tunes sounds great in the car on the beach and anywhere else
keep it going chaps
cant wait for the next work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pleasant surprise, 22 Sep 2013
By 
Jct Willett (Lancaster, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fables Of History [VINYL] (Vinyl)
surprise only because I wasn't aware of The Moons before I gave this a try and I love the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece!, 18 Sep 2013
By 
V. Thorn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fables Of History (Audio CD)
An authentic 60s sound with some absolute classics. If you have every thought "why can't people write great songs like the 60s anymore", well Andy Crofts certainly can. Love the whole album, and the track "Jennifer" is an absolute gem. Wake up world - look what you are missing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 10 Mar 2013
By 
D. P. Farren "music lover" (Northants England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fables Of History (Audio CD)
Bought their first album and loved this one as much as that,
would recommend, well packaged, love this album, thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fables of History
Fables of History by The Moons
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews