Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly amusing with wonderful colourful pictures.
Elmer by David McKee is an extremely amusing, colourful book with a lovely moral to it. It tells the story of a multi-coloured elephant who, for once in his life, wants to mingle with the rest of his herd and be like all the others. When he does this he finds out what his true purpose is in life and that is to make the other elephants happy. A lovely story to read to a...
Published on 12 April 2002

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice story; bad grammar
This is a charming story with some delightful illustrations. It also raises some important ideas about what it is to be different in a gentle way. However, it is such a pity that the text is riddled with superfluous commas, sentences that lack either an object or verb and some pretty rudimentary punctuation errors. So,yes, do read the story to your children and talk...
Published 21 months ago by Paula Arthur


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Classic., 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elmer (Paperback)
This book is such a classic, after learning about it at nursery my daughter requested it. I remember it myself from childhood and it never disappoints. Great story for little children, my daughter loves the pictures too. Also doesn't drag on for too long like some stories too, so enables children to maintain their concentration for long enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic., 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elmer (Kindle Edition)
Elmer rocks. What else is there really to say? Other than I've got to type 11 more words for this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You cant go wrong with Elmer, 20 Jan 2014
By 
Mrs. Heather Nelson "Heather" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elmer (Paperback)
I gave this to my Granddaughter with the Elmer pull along, it meant she could have the story and act it out with the toy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elmer is exciting !!!, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elmer (Paperback)
What a great book this is. A super story with deep and meaningful sentiments expressed. This book could be used to get over feelings about being different and individual , even unique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elmer, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elmer (Paperback)
How could you not enjoy an Elmer book? This Elmer book, along with Elmer on Stilts, was bought as a present for a young child, so hopefully the next generation will love the antics of Elmer as much as I always have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elmer (Kindle Edition)
Great book, although the letters are quite small making it had to read. Overall I would recommend it to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elmer, another firm favourite, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elmer (Paperback)
Another excellent book from David McKee, suitable for even very young children with its brightly coloured pages. A good way of teaching colours without them knowing they are learning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for a friend's baby, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elmer (Paperback)
I bought this as part of a friends baby shower gift... She cried when she opened it! I presume because of the hormones! Arrived next day and in perfect condition! Thank you so much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely book, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elmer (Paperback)
Ordered this book as a newly qualified teaching assistant to nursery age children we have a few children with autisum and other children were noticing they were different. I thought this book would be a good idea and fun for the children to learn that it is ok for us to be different and that we are all different and special in different ways. Since doing this story the children are now starting to accept that we can all be different and it is ok to be different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So wonderful, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elmer (Paperback)
Loved this book from when it first came out. have used it lots at work(school) Now I am looking forward to sharing it with my granddaughter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elmer
Elmer by David McKee
3.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews