Customer Reviews


262 Reviews
5 star:
 (208)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the finer feelings...
of all the things said about kylie in her 25 year music career, one thing has always been agreed upon - shes a bonafide pop icon. one of the things people seem to dispute is her voice. can she really sing?

the simple answer is yes. kylies voice is very unique and instantly recognisable, but some people will be 'shocked' at the strength, and emotion this woman...
Published 22 months ago by mr bojangles

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It bored me
I thought this would be an interesting alternative to normal Kylie but actually it was pretty bland and I just can't get into it
Published 5 months ago by George


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the finer feelings..., 6 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Abbey Road Sessions (Audio CD)
of all the things said about kylie in her 25 year music career, one thing has always been agreed upon - shes a bonafide pop icon. one of the things people seem to dispute is her voice. can she really sing?

the simple answer is yes. kylies voice is very unique and instantly recognisable, but some people will be 'shocked' at the strength, and emotion this woman pours out into these 16 tracks. if you didnt know any of these songs you would like this album and at no point doubt this womans voice. however knowing the origins of these songs and hearing them in this new guise is staggering.

out go the dance beats, and layered vocals... and in come the strings, guitars and pianos. there are no smoke and mirrors on this album. the stunning bond-esque drama of cant get you out of my head, and finer feelings sweep you away in an epic landscape of violins. the old locomotion cover which was the naffest form of pop, is turned into motown-esque girl group pastiche. confide in me is as powerful as ever and seems to work with any rework thats ever been thrown at it, and is definately a highlight.

the two standout tracks though are the kiddies disco favourites from back in the day (1989 infact) hand on your heart is a stripped down guitar track, which follows closely to the jose gonzalez version a few years back.. and is a revelation. the other is never too late. a simple piano-vocal track, which oozes kylies vunerable heartfelt lyric and is a beautiful way to close this acoustic/orchestral masterpiece. after 25 years in the business, kylie has nothing to prove... but if there was just the tiniest speck of doubt, it will have long since dissipated by the close of the album. there are very few popstars who could have pulled such a feat off, and kylie has thrown everything shes got into this album, announcing to the world that she could very well be the best female vocalist in popmusic today, and will still likely be going strong when most of todays female pop pretenders have fallen by the wayside. order your copy today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 29 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Abbey Road Sessions (MP3 Download)
Ever since I saw Kylie do a session for BBC Radio at the Camden Roundhouse, I have thought how great it would be to have those songs on an album and here it is. The album is excellent and it brings a new take on Kylie's back catalogue. Happy 25 years in the business Kylie and thanks for another excellent album! A true star!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing reworking of these tracks., 14 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Abbey Road Sessions (MP3 Download)
Having been forced to watch Neighbours and see Kylie work her way through the soaps and shows I was never really a big fan of her or her music though I do admint to enjoying several of videos, hey I'm a bloke and only human !

I heard a sample of this albumn purely by accident and was amazed so much I bought it rather than copy it.

Totally changed my opinion of Kylie.

Buy it !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply outstanding, 3 Nov 2012
By 
Paul (Taunton UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Abbey Road Sessions (Audio CD)
Every once and a while you hear an album which really takes your breath away. From the outset it sends shivers down your spine and you cant wait to see if it will last throughout the album. This album did it for me. I found myself wondering how did the original sound. It doesn't matter, these songs may have the same words but they stand as great songs in their own right. Fabulous production.
SEVERAL WEEKS LATER...............
Love it so much its almost worn out!
It feels like Andrew Lloyd Webber must of had a hand in some of these songs now.........I thinks there's a musical in there somewhere. You heard it here first!!
Thank you Kylie
x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better The Devil You Know., 29 Oct 2012
By 
Flickering Ember "I need a break and I wanna ... (Once Upon A Long Ago.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
It is a brave move to try and rework such popular classics...ones which shaped and defined a pop career which has now spanned a quarter of a century. Nonetheless, transforming songs to which we all danced twenty years ago into moving ballads...familiar songs in new keys, styles and genres has been a labour of love which has definitely paid off.

Every song has been faithfully reworked, with some beautiful orchestral scores added, and even different recording techniques, including using microphones more appropriate to these genres of vocal than to pop songs. Then again, you would expect nothing less from Abbey Road Studios.

This album proves Kylie is an ever evolving, talented performing artist who is just as credible and valid as ever, and shows she is definitely not just a one trick pony. It may not be a total departure from pop music that she is seeking, but no doubt, this album is definitely able to help secure a seamless transition to a more mature sound and style.

There is also a totally new track included; Flower, which shows the likes of Adele how it's really done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow Kylie just wow......, 5 Nov 2012
This review is from: The Abbey Road Sessions (Audio CD)
Well this album is up there as one of my favourites and I haven't stopped playing it all week. This girl knows how to use her voice and to transform the songs the way they have is musical genius and a perfect way to celebrate 25 years in music. Was it really that long ago when Kylie was doing the locomotion and singing about wanting to be lucky in love. The emotion behind the new versions of lucky and never too late are jaw dropping and transform the as once happy pop song into gorgeous love letter torch songs. We even have a new single Flower which is also beautiful and should do very well. I think you may have won over an entire new fan base Miss Minogue - well done!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GORGEOUS NEW ARRANGEMENTS, 2 Nov 2012
By 
R. W. (Cheshire, England , UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Abbey Road Sessions (Audio CD)
What a great idea to celebrate Kylie's 25 year career in music. Whoever came up with this idea - well done. This album works so well. Gone are the dance beats and in come the strings, piano, acoustic and light drums. Just add Kylie's sublime vocals and you have a classic 'unplugged' style album recorded in the best studio in the world.

I love every song which has been totally reworked and slowed down and you can now appreciate more than ever the wonderful melodies surrounded in some of the most soothing lounge music I have heard in a while. Reworked classics of ttracks like 'I should be lucky' need to be listended to closely to see how the recording has completely rearranged a well worn classic.

A fine collection of classics that are a joy to listen to.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE REAL KYLIE UNCOVERED, 29 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Abbey Road Sessions (Audio CD)
Beautifully arranged & performed, goose pimples all over my body and shivers of emotion. It seems like this was an album she always wanted to make. This is emotion that touches the core (especially "I Should be so lucky" & "Never Too Late")
Always pushing new boundaries, Kylie is reaching out to a wider audience and don't let any preconceptions fool you. I promise you will not be disappointed!
This album really feels like the record company are letting her be herself and express a softer, emotive side. No longer pushed to maintain camp pop, it's as if she had room to breathe, bring out the real meaning in the songs and it works so, soo well.

Stunning, moving, a benchmark in her career and something that we can all connect to somehow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is this really Kylie?, 2 Nov 2012
By 
Yay!! (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Abbey Road Sessions (Audio CD)
I'm not a fan of Kylie, so was really surprised at the stupendous quality of the "Abbey Road" CD.

The musicians and producers have to be congratulated for the massive sound - it's like being in the Albert Hall. Big, Bass, full and rich sounds... very impressive.

She seems to be singing in a lower octave, and it really suits her. The massive orchestra backing her, makes it like one of the block buster cinematic productions... it's electrifying to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Stunning, 29 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Abbey Road Sessions (MP3 Download)
She may not have the big diva voice of a Whitney, Celine or Mariah, but Kylie Minogue shows she can sing and sing very well. A great mix of her classics and newer hits all with a stripped down or orchestral feel, and it works so well!

15 classic songs with the the brilliant new single Flower all combine to give Ms Minogue another sure fire hit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Abbey Road Sessions
The Abbey Road Sessions by Kylie Minogue
Buy MP3 Album6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews