Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track Listing - Someone, Somewhere Sparkles in the Rain
For the price of 1 full price CD you get five in this remastered set.

This is one of a whole series of '5 Album Set' bargains.

But Amazon have not put the track listing.
So this is it.

The five albums are
Sons & Fascination,
New Gold Dream,
Sparkle In The Rain,
Once Upon A Time and
Street Fighting Years...
Published 18 months ago by Glenn Cook

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Awesome music.... Awful re-mastering
I've always loved early Simple Minds and thought this to be a great way to replace my vinyl with CDs. However, the 2002 re-masters by Simon Heyworth at Super Audio Mastering leave a lot to be desired. Super bright and super harsh does NOT mean modern !!! The only way you can listen to the albums without a large intake of C is at low volume which is such a shame.
I...
Published 18 months ago by Sven


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track Listing - Someone, Somewhere Sparkles in the Rain, 13 May 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 5 Album Set (Audio CD)
For the price of 1 full price CD you get five in this remastered set.

This is one of a whole series of '5 Album Set' bargains.

But Amazon have not put the track listing.
So this is it.

The five albums are
Sons & Fascination,
New Gold Dream,
Sparkle In The Rain,
Once Upon A Time and
Street Fighting Years

Track Listing

1. In Trance As Mission -2002 Remaster
2. Sweat Bullet -2002 Remaster
3. 70 Cities As Love Brings The Fall -2002 Remaster
4. Boys From Brazil -2002 Remaster
5. Love Song -2002 Remaster
6. This Earth That You Walk Upon -2002 Remaster
7. Sons And Fascination -2002 Remaster
8. Seeing Out The Angel -2002 Remaster
9. Theme For The Great Cities -2002 Remaster
10. The American -2002 Remaster
11. 20th Century Promised Land -2002 Remaster
12. Wonderful In Young Life -2002 Remaster
13. League Of Nations -2002 Remaster
14. Careful In Career -2002 Remaster
15. Sound In 70 Cities -2002 Remaster
16. Someone Somewhere (In Sommertime) -2002 Remaster
17. Colours Fly And Catherine Wheel -2002 Remaster
18. Promised You A Miracle -2002 Remaster
19. Big Sleep -2002 Remaster
20. Somebody Up There Likes You -2002 Remaster
21. New Gold Dream (81/82/83/84) -2002 Remasterglittering Prize
22. Hunter And The Hunted -2002 Remaster
23. King Is White And In The Crowd -2002 Remaster
24. Up On The Catwalk -2002 Digital Remaster
25. Book Of Brilliant Things -2002 Digital Remaster
26. Speed Your Love To Me -2002 Digital Remaster
27. Waterfront -2002 Digital Remaster
28. East At Easter -2002 Digital Remaster
29. Street Hassle -2002 Digital Remaster
30. White Hot Day -2002 Digital Remaster
31. "C" Moon Cry Like A Baby -2002 Digital Remaster
32. The Kick Inside Of Me -2002 Digital Remaster
33. Shake Off Teh Ghosts -2002 Digital Remaster
34. Once Upon A Time -2002 Digital Remaster
35. All The Things She Said -2002 Digital Remaster
36. Ghostdancing -2002 Digital Remaster
37. Alive And Kicking -2002 Digital Remaster
38. Oh Jungleland -2002 Digital Remaster
39. I Wish You Were Here -2002 Digital Remaster
40. Sanctify Yourself -2002 Digital Remaster
41. Come A Long Way -2002 Digital Remaster
42. Street Fighting Years -2002 Digital Remaster
43. Soul Crying Out -2002 Digital Remaster
44. Wall Of Love -2002 Digital Remaster
45. This Is Your Land -2002 Digital Remaster
46. Take A Step Back -2002 Digital Remaster
47. Kick It In -2002 Digital Remaster
48. Let It All Come Down -2002 Digital Remaster
49. Mandela Day -2002 Digital Remaster
50. Belfast Child -2002 Digital Remaster
51. Biko -2002 Digital Remaster
52. When Spirits Rise -2002 Digital Remaster

EU-only five CD set containing a quintet of albums from the Scottish New Wave band: Sons & Fascination, New Gold Dream, Sparkle In The Rain, Once Upon A Time and Street Fighting Years. EMI.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value For Money., 13 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 Album Set (Audio CD)
Nice compact disc set with five of Simple Minds' best albums. I am glad I bought it. Now I am curious about their other albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still excellent, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 Album Set (Audio CD)
Having returned to pop music after a number of years I find That "Simple Minds" are still excellent. Their sound is marvellous and Jim Kerr's voice a superb complement. I love the big sound that they produce: I believe that they were an excellent stadium band as a result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good listening, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 Album Set (Remastered) (Sons and Fascination/New Gold Dream/Sparkle in the Rain/Once Upon a Time/Street Fighting Years) (MP3 Download)
They are definitely one of the

best bands of all time I have always enjoyed their music and jim kerr has got a fabulous voice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yesteryear. . ., 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 Album Set (Audio CD)
A very enjoyable blast from the past! Guilty pleasure -- maybe. So many, many memories from the eighties. The era for best music?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An almost prefect retrospective, 7 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 Album Set (Audio CD)
Great package at a great price which could only be improved by starting with Empires & Dance and ending an album earlier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really please to hear again., 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 Album Set (Audio CD)
A great value for money collection, I have replaced my vinyl albums and also got 3 more I had wanted back in the 80's. Really enjoying listening to these songs again after many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Value For Money, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 Album Set (Remastered) (Sons and Fascination/New Gold Dream/Sparkle in the Rain/Once Upon a Time/Street Fighting Years) (MP3 Download)
Great Value For Money For A 5 Album Set A Good Selection Of Their History A Comprehensive Guide To Group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple Minds - a bargain buy, 4 Jan 2013
By 
P. Cook - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 Album Set (Audio CD)
This collection of 5 CDs represents really good value for money - there are hits on all 5 albums covering their early period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great albums, great price and all ripped already!!!, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 Album Set (Audio CD)
How can you not for that price?5 albums for less than £10 and all pre-ripped and downloaded as well???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews