Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very handy little book
I found this a very helpful little book which gives a good account of the basics of wine without being patronising or pompous. I suspect that I'm like quite a few people who might be considering this book - I'm not a wine expert by any means, but I have picked up some knowledge of grapes, countries and regions and so on - and I found that it filled in a lot of the gaps...
Published on 22 Nov. 2009 by Sid Nuncius

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too basic.
Not as in depth as I'd have liked but perfect if one needs an introduction to wine terminology and grape varieties.
Published 19 months ago by Gaynor Allen


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why buy this book? Wine not?!?, 16 Dec. 2009
By 
Matt Aylott (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I am not a wine expert but I now atleast feel able to have an opinion on wine thanks to this book. Its a one stop shop for everything you ever wanted to know about the alcoholic grape juice! I can now say with absolute certainty what the difference between red and white wine is and where to pick up the best bottle of plonk.

But does it say anything new that a million and one other wine tasting books would tell me? No. But it is presented in an intuitive manner - with clear short sharp sections and quick boxed facts that give you enough but not too much information. The book is obviously written by the intellectual and for the intellectual, which may make it inaccessible to the lambrusco drinkers but will appeal to those with a nose and interest in 1961 Bordeaux!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 21 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a present for son who has found it useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Jun. 2015
Husband loves it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice ..., 3 Jan. 2010
By 
Clarke (Linlithgow, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a delightful little book full of interesting and useful wine info. I'm not a serious wine drinker (although I did meet my wife on an informal, yet fun, wine course)and that is why I liked it. The book wasn't too self-important. It was just right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Format, 15 Jan. 2010
By 
Sunglasses - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Another excellent guide in the series that lays out all the facts in concise way and is very easy to reference. Above all is it makes the subject interesting without being pompous (like other wine books)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly Surprised, 5 Jan. 2010
By 
Pete in Wiltshire (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Pleasantly surprised by this little book. Crammed full of wine facts, high also on brevity, this book is very easy to pick up and put down, an excellent coffee table book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 30 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wine Pocket Bible: Everything a wine lover needs to know (Pocket Bibles) (Kindle Edition)
Wish I hadn't bothered
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews