Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Getting better and better, 9 Jan 2013
By 
Jan Exner (Cheadle, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: (III) (MP3 Download)
I loved the first album, fell for the second and the third is not disappointing me either.

Just simply great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CC III, 13 Dec 2012
This review is from: (III) (Audio CD)
Crystal Castles III was a fantastic album which is ever so different to their second album, which was ever so different to their first album. Every track is sublime, and are unique. Best tracks on the album are the ethereal "Child I Will Hurt You" and "Pale Flesh".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Their best album yet!, 3 Dec 2012
By 
Hsbc "Panda Mojia" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: (III) (Audio CD)
(iii) is definitely crystal castles most exciting and meaningful album yet. There is definitely an influence from the middle east (as shown on the album cover) showing that crystal castles are more than just a group that makes great music.

The only downside I can give to this album is pretty short, probably because most of the tracks are pretty short. Only two of the tracks on this album last for 4mins. On (ii), there are 7 tracks that last for over 4mins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars SWITCH TO ANALOGUE WORKS FINE FOR CRYSTAL CASTLES, 11 Nov 2012
This review is from: (III) (Audio CD)
There has a lot been made of Crystal Castles decision to record their third album using analogue equipment and that somehow the duo were going to become tamer and lose their bass heavy signature sound that they had perfected on their last two albums, well any fears that was going to happen are put to rest on album opener "Plague" which will opens with a siren almost to warn the listener what is coming next and that is nearly 5 minutes of bass pounding music just the type Crystal Castles do so well.

In fact the whole album doesn't stray too far from Crystal Castles signature sound of their first two albums. "Pale Flesh" features a Beastie Boys style beat throughout the track as Alice Glass alternates between shrieking and singing. "Sad Eyes" has a big disco beat that is meant to be played loud. The track "Insulin" which at less than two minutes long is the shortest track on the album and sounds like it has been mixed in a blender and then played backwards; if it were anybody but Crystal castles it would sound strange. There's even the beauty of Alice's vocals on album closer "Child I will Hurt You".

If you are familiar with Crystal castles first two albums then you will know what to expect from their third album which is a lot of big pounding beats, lots of noise and some shrieking vocals. So it's business as usual from one of the most exciting electronic bands out there at the moment. A band that really have to be seen live to truly appreciate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 30 Oct 2014
This review is from: (III) (Audio CD)
some fantastic songs especially tracks no 1 and 2 some average songs tho' - well recommended 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... different to their other two albums but just as great, 27 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: (III) (Audio CD)
Slightly different to their other two albums but just as great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 8 Nov 2012
This review is from: (III) (Audio CD)
A welcome return by the wayward duo. If you liked their previous two outings, then you will find it very difficult to dislike this offering. They retain their unmistakable sound and push it further on; a haunting mix of rave/trance rhythms with punk/noise interjections combined with Alice's brillantly produced vocals. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Affection, 15 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: (III) (Audio CD)
Crystal Castles, whilst remaining to sound like Crystal Castles have changed their sound. If you go back and listen to their first album then make your way to III then you can see that there is a difference. Despite this you still know it's them. You still have Alice's garbled voice, screaming here and there and you still have killer synths. But in III Alice sings alot, like in "Tell Me What to Swallow" but whilst Ethan backs her up with chaos. It's beautiful.

Plague and Kerosene are a solid start to the album and the latter has the haunting lyric "I'll protect you from all the things I've seen." Wrath of God is my personally favourite and a synthplosion happens in the chorus. This is followed up with Affection which is amazing, there a ghostly oos that you would expect to hear in the middle of the woods at midnight on a lonely walk home.

Pale Flesh has the glitchy feel to it that the first one had with cold synths accompaning it, commonplace in this albums sound. Next we have Sad Eyes which is brilliant. The song feels like a really depressed rave where everybody in attendance knows that they're going to die the next day. Insulin is like a tamed "Doe Deer" that has been refined. And then, we have Transgender. I think of Nina from Black Swan slowly practising her pirouette eventually turning into the Black Swan. It's beautiful and haunting. Alice's vocals are what makes it so chilling. This band are becoming masterful in what they do.

Violent Youth carried a feel of the sound from the first two albums, as does Telepath. These two songs probably incorporate all of the sounds of all three albums in one.

Mercenary slows the atmosphere down a bit before Child I Will Hurt You. This song is similar to all of their last tracks on I and II. It's like a haunting lullaby, the baby has just died and the parent won't stop crying. The rituals keep on going, she makes it's meals, prepares it's milk and sings herself to sleep with nursery rhymes.

The album whilst their slowest is their best. It's a culmination of four years of albums and live I'm sure it's amazing. This is one of the best, if not best albums I've heard all year. Brilliant.

Download:

Kerosene
Wrath of God
Affection
Sad Eyes
Transgender
Child I Will Hurt You
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is brilliant, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: (III) (Audio CD)
everbody should have a crystal castles album in their lives. brilliant brilliant. buy it now and make your life a better place
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CC Album, 31 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: (III) (Audio CD)
I loved their previous albums and this in my opinion is the best so far, if you like Crystal Castles at all then you should buy this. I paid £7, which is good value to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

(III)
(III) by Crystal Castles (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews