Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant +, 14 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: (III) (MP3 Download)
I play Crystal Castles relentlessly, and this one will join the playlist. Nothing too much unusual in that I suppose, but I must confess to owning a Bus Pass. I'm not trying to relive my youth, I just think the music that Ethan and Alice produce is the best and most exciting thing around at the moment. If you liked the first two you'll like this-at full volume. +++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crystal Castles - 'III', 11 Feb 2013
By 
This review is from: (III) (Audio CD)
By the time III's first track Plague climaxes, shuddering through a cacophony of witch-house synths and abrasive shrieks, it's clear that Crystal Castles mean business. Recorded in Warsaw, the third album from Ethan Kath and Alice Glass is influenced by Glass's proclamations of being "one step away from a vigilante". Over just 12 tracks - not an ounce of fat here - the duo tackle dystopic trance beats (Sad Eyes), eerie electronics (Pale Flesh, Insulin) and minimal, tender moments that pack a surprising punch (Child I Will Hurt You). Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SWITCH TO ANALOGUE WORKS FINE FOR CRYSTAL CASTLES, 2 Dec 2012
By 
nin/ja77 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: (III) (MP3 Download)
There has a lot been made of Crystal Castles decision to record their third album using analogue equipment and that somehow the duo were going to become tamer and lose their bass heavy signature sound that they had perfected on their last two albums, well any fears that was going to happen are put to rest on album opener "Plague" which will opens with a siren almost to warn the listener what is coming next and that is nearly 5 minutes of bass pounding music just the type Crystal Castles do so well.

In fact the whole album doesn't stray too far from Crystal Castles signature sound of their first two albums. "Pale Flesh" features a Beastie Boys style beat throughout the track as Alice Glass alternates between shrieking and singing. "Sad Eyes" has a big disco beat that is meant to be played loud. The track "Insulin" which at less than two minutes long is the shortest track on the album and sounds like it has been mixed in a blender and then played backwards; if it were anybody but Crystal castles it would sound strange. There's even the beauty of Alice's vocals on album closer "Child I will Hurt You".

If you are familiar with Crystal castles first two albums then you will know what to expect from their third album which is a lot of big pounding beats, lots of noise and some shrieking vocals. So it's business as usual from one of the most exciting electronic bands out there at the moment. At band that really have to be seen live to truly appreciate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deliciously Dark - best of 2012, 17 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: (III) (Audio CD)
On (III), Crystal Castles go for a darker, more refined sound, creating an extremely good album.

Plague - The first release from (III), dark and progressive with a grinding bass. 9/10

Kerosene - With a strong bassline and a combination of high pitched vocals and high pressure,dry, jagged synths, plus one my favourite synth riffs of 2012, this is my pick of the album. Perfect song. 10/10

Wrath Of God - Opening with warm but sombre layered synths, the track explodes into an apocalyptic chorus, featuring icy chords and distorted vocals. Bleak,sinister and excellent. 10/10

Affection - Drenched in reverb, Alice's vocals drift across the sprightly instrumental on this chilled out track. 7/10

Pale Flesh - A minimal, jittery synth line is hit with vocals dripping with pain. Dark & emotive. 9/10

Sad Eyes - Pulsing, sorrow tinged dance track. Most commercial song on the album. Melancholic. 8/10

Insulin - Opens with 80s horror synths, before breaking into crackling menacing distorted basslines and shouty vocals. 7/10

Transgender - Eerie and haunting dance-tinged track with echoing vocals. Pleasant. 8/10

Violent Youth - An upbeat electro song featuring chunky bass synth lines and simple but memorable melodies. 8/10

Telepath - Uplifiting electro-dance track, one of the best on the album. Happiest track on the album. Every chord & note is perfectly chosen. 10/10

Mercenary - One of the more experimental tracks on here, has a spiritual vibe to it. Interesting string-like synth riffs. 8/10

Child I Will Hurt You - Mystical, beautiful closing track. Twinkling instrumental complimented by angelic vocals. Sounds festive. 9/10

This is the perfect dark electro album. Everything about it fits together perfectly, the variety of soundscapes created, the song titles, the visuals, all create an intriguing atmosphere.
As my favourite release of 2012, this is a must have album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: (III) (MP3 Download)
Insane album. Was the anthem of my November 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Different music, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: (III) (Audio CD)
Sounds a bit like angry fairies and we like it! If electronic music is your taste - go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Their best album yet?, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: (III) (Audio CD)
Time will tell, but I think this could well be their best album yet.
'Child I will hurt you' is a change of pace, but one of the most sublime songs for a winter evening...

I had no interest in buying the physical CD but it worked out cheaper to do that and get the free instant digital download than buying just the digital album - how can that make any sense?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CD, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: (III) (Audio CD)
I bought this CD as a Christmas Present so not really able to comment but had no complaints so rated 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice direction!, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: (III) (Audio CD)
On their third album CC takes more organic approach to their music. Synths are still present, but rugged 8-bit soundscape has subsided and more softer and emotional sounds takes space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ¡CC la rompe!, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: (III) (Audio CD)
Es el mejor disco que he comprado en todo el año, no puedo describir lo genial que son... Y esa capacidad siempre va llenarme de expectaciones próximas. Tengo que agradecer a alguien que me introdujo con la banda...[Haku]
Keep on Rocking bro'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

(III)
(III) by Crystal Castles (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews