Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars416
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 January 2013
Another film I wasn't expecting much from. Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed the first one and felt it had a few funny moments. I didn't think much of the second film and was dragged along with the kids to see this.
This is Very funny, good clean family fun. An original chapter that deserved the critics reviews it received.
In short it's another attempt of the animals trying to get back home.
The penguins don't get as much airtime as the others which was a shame as I like them but the rest are very good and the relationships are great. The 3d worked very well and didn't feel tacked on.
Very much one for young and old with some excellent replay value.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2012
Great film, fantastic 3D the best madagscar film so far. The 3D comes out of the screen the film is just amazing and very funny and its muti-region so u can play it in the uk. Save going to the pictures right now when u can watch the film at home. Extras are pretty good to and excellant picture and great film for all the family. A must have.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
DreamWorks Madagascar 3 in 3D is a visual treat and anyone interested in a great 3D experience should own this title. The 3D is the best I have seen so far. The 7.1 sound is of reference quality as well. The movie is 4 of 5. 3D is 5 of 5! Just superb!

Watched it on a Panasonic plasma 50" with active 3D.
0Comment10 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
This is a joyous romp of a movie. It's bright, colourful and action packed.

Our animal protagonists start the movie stranded in Africa and awaiting the return of the penguins who have gone to Monaco to gamble at the casinos. Tired of waiting, our heroes track them down before falling foul of a psychopathic animal control inspector who proceeds to pursue them across Europe.

Having crashed their Heath Robinson flying machine the animals hitch a lift with a decrepit circus. They learn that the circus is to be auditioned by an American agent for a gig in New York. Seeing an opportunity to get home the animals convince the circus animals that they are great circus performers and agree to train their rescuers in return for a chance to try out with the circus for passage to New York.

This is the cue for all sorts of physics-defying lunacy before the animals stage a psychedelic spectacular for an amazed audience.

As a 2nd sequel this is a pretty good film. Despite the one star detractors among the reviewers I think it holds up well against the first two films. There are new characters, plenty of action and the hopes, doubts and dreams of the circus animals drive the emotional core of the story. Yes it could be interpreted as giving a message that animals belong in a circus but only if you over-think it. After all, what circus has trapeze walking giraffes and hippos? Where would you see a sea lion or a zebra blown out of a cannon? It's too fantastic to take seriously.

Buy the movie, a big bag of popcorn and some drinks and enjoy a family night with the kids. You could do a lot worse.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2012
Madagascar 3 and still very funny,normally they struggle to keep up the gags and interest,but this made me laugh quite often even if doesn't have quite the charm of the original. This time round we focus on these brilliant characters finding life in the circus,introducing us to more great characters,including a bear on a bike and a tiger that leaps through tiny hoops,hoops far smaller than him,very amusing stuff.
Although this isn't quite as good as the first,it is still well worth watching and buying. One thing that really stood out for me,the colours,amazing colours,certain to open the eyes of youngsters. Once again brilliant animation and voice overs and good reason to hope for a Madagascar 4.
0Comment23 of 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
The Madagascar films have come some way since the first one, which is a good film, but perhaps lacked the depth of other offerings from DreamWorks. To say that the creators of the third instalment pulled the stops out for the trilogy may be considered an understatement by some.

Madagascar 3 certainly is colourful in every way from the characters to the set pieces and storyline. I'll save you the story board but essentially the premise is still the same; the main characters are still trying to return to New York.
But what has differed this time is that to accomplish this goal they stow away with a failing circus. However they end up buying the circus with help from everyone's favourite Penguins and Chimps, and making it a show to remember on their way home, all the while being tailed by a slightly psychotic French animal control captain. This villain adds the pace to the story as she is always one step behind and closing fast. However I found nothing in her character to like, unlike previous DreamWorks villains who all had something you kinda liked which made them fun. If I'm honest I believe they could have written her to be much more fun and far less macabre, it will fly way over the heads of younger viewers that Captain Dubois is essentially a crazed animal killer; she doesn't want to catch Alex the Lion, she want to mount his head on a plaque...

The other new characters are the members of the circus; a leopard trapeze artist, a sea lion master of ceremonies, and an amusingly angry Siberian tiger. There are other supporting roles which flank the main cast, such as a circus dog voiced by our very own Vinnie Jones, and of course King Julian has made a return.

The story is just as wacky and fun as ever before if not a little more wacky than ever before, and the jokes and fun role smoothly throughout the film which keeps the comedy paced well with the story.
Madagascar 3 will please its target audience with vibrant colours, comedy, and the return of all their favourite characters, my son thinks it's great and he's only a year and a half. The only downside to this film is the addition of Captain Dubois, but like I said, the dark undertones are likely to sore well over the heads of the majority of the youngsters watching this.

Madagascar has gone from strength to strength in production, characters, and storylines, this makes the trilogy, and if they ended it here it would be on a high note. Great film.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2013
After all hype thought would be a good film teach me not to read reviews beforehand.youngest two children liked but agreed not as good as the other 2.eldest said its boring, weird,rubbish and sickly odd singing&reading the cover it claimed the best one yet.he snorted said yeah right&3 quarters in got up left the room.. its very colourful will give it that some points in circus acts.. 3d yes def drawn out for that..

All characters are there but its like they are not> nothing really major from any of them, to many new characters, not fun as normal but was bits that do make all chuckle its just not continuous enough. only decent fun watchable bit is the actual circus colourful bit..

The film seems drawn out thrown together with no real story line just going from one bit to the other, almost like its been made up at the time and rushed along for money,didnt feel passion or any of the other two films in it. far to long film for what it is, actually reminds me a bit of open season 3 where circus involved..

I found the film a tad to violent,unnecessary violence and weapons. ie broken glass bottle of the little dog and guns shot at ceiling.

I personally do not want to sit through this film again so will leave that to my two youngest which a shame as usually enjoy films more than once and def the Madagascar films and spin of penguins of Madagascar and the Christmas special.for me a major disappointment along with my sons plea. please return it to store its rubbish and weird. it certainly is different not sure in a good way.. most impossible things happen in this film. sure others will love just my feelings and honest review.. I wish watched before bought and considered buying second hand cheap for my two children .. I do not think its worth the money at all.. Kind Regards
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
DreamWorks Animation has often had little regard for a coherent story in their films; some have worked out anyway `Shrek', whilst others have been absolute bilge water `Shark Tale'. A series that has had some tiny semblance of plot are the `Madagascar' films, but this is forgotten in `Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted', a film that makes no sense, but has a great time anyway. Alex the Lion et al are bored in Africa and decide to try and head back to New York, on the way they arrive in Europe and meet up with a travelling circus, much randomness and chaos ensues.

With the success of the first two films, the `Madagascar' team must have been given carte blanche by DreamWorks to do what on Earth they like. When this happens, a film like `Madagascar 3' occurs. At times the cartoon feels more like a series of hilarious moments than a coherent whole, the movie equivalent of loads of `The Simpsons' intros stitched together. Jokes come from the left, from the right, but rarely from the front. This is a surreal and subversive film that takes the sandbox that is the `Madagascar' universe and plays in it. There is no semblance of plot, physics or sense to most of it, just fun.

There are many laugh out loud moments in `Madagascar 3', but the lack of meaning to what is going on screen can get a little wearisome. Animation wise I think that the series has lost footing to some of the other studios out there - the over stylised and angled animals no longer look fantastic. However, you do not watch this series to be awed by the CGI or brought to tears by the plot. Instead, you want silly fun and `Madagascar 3' has that by the bucket load - just don't expect it to make any sense.

The BluRay option is the way to go as although the animation is a little flawed, it is very colourful. There are plenty of extras on the discs, but I found them pretty empty headed and not really worth watching.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
DreamWorks Animation has often had little regard for a coherent story in their films; some have worked out anyway `Shrek', whilst others have been absolute bilge water `Shark Tale'. A series that has had some tiny semblance of plot are the `Madagascar' films, but this is forgotten in `Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted', a film that makes no sense, but has a great time anyway. Alex the Lion et al are bored in Africa and decide to try and head back to New York, on the way they arrive in Europe and meet up with a travelling circus, much randomness and chaos ensues.

With the success of the first two films, the `Madagascar' team must have been given carte blanche by DreamWorks to do what on Earth they like. When this happens, a film like `Madagascar 3' occurs. At times the cartoon feels more like a series of hilarious moments than a coherent whole, the movie equivalent of loads of `The Simpsons' intros stitched together. Jokes come from the left, from the right, but rarely from the front. This is a surreal and subversive film that takes the sandbox that is the `Madagascar' universe and plays in it. There is no semblance of plot, physics or sense to most of it, just fun.

There are many laugh out loud moments in `Madagascar 3', but the lack of meaning to what is going on screen can get a little wearisome. Animation wise I think that the series has lost footing to some of the other studios out there - the over stylised and angled animals no longer look fantastic. However, you do not watch this series to be awed by the CGI or brought to tears by the plot. Instead, you want silly fun and `Madagascar 3' has that by the bucket load - just don't expect it to make any sense.

The BluRay option is the way to go as although the animation is a little flawed, it is very colourful. There are plenty of extras on the discs, but I found them pretty empty headed and not really worth watching.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
The Madagascar series has been a profitable one for Dreamworks but not their best output. They never reached the heights of Kung Fu Panda and How to train your dragon, however that has all changed with this third instalment.

Madagascar 3 is an anarchic, chaotic laugh-a-thon which has the simplest of stories which is there only to loosely provide a reason why all these characters are together. Alex and his gang are on the move again after waiting for the penguins to make their return to pick them up from Africa and take them back to New York. They track the Penguins to a casino in Monte Carlo and along the way draw the attention of a ruthless, almost robotic animal hunter who will stop at nothing to snag her ultimate quarry, a lion!

From here on in it is action all the way with chase sequences across rooftops, circus acts, and good old fashioned rescue missions. The kaleidoscopic nature of these scenes is superb and they burst with colour throughout. The new characters all have something new to offer and add to the manic charm the film has. The animation is superb and the running time just flies by. Funky music and consistent jokes will keep all the family entertained.

By dispensing with the usual story and keeping the whole thing simple, Madagascar 3 is a joy to watch and feels like a breath of fresh air. Dreamworks have a slightly patchy body of work, but if they keep surprising us with little gems like this, they will be bothering Pixar on a regular basis.

A fun, firing on all cylinders, action packed ride!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.