Customer Reviews


159 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Frills Drive
I bought this DVD drive to replace a Samsung one which failed after about a year. As I didn't want to go for another Samsung one, I instead opted for this Lite-On one. I won't lie, the price was a very big factor in the final decision to go for this one over all others. The price is cheap for a reason, it's nothing to do with the drive you get, but instead it's to do...
Published 9 months ago by Mr Lavery

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap but Noisy!!!
My 6 year old optical drive is far quieter than this damn its noisy. If you only use it for installing stuff it ok, but burning CD/DVD's or watching DVD's it would drive me crazy, Noisy tray too shame, but at this price point cant really complain.
Published 1 month ago by Koca


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Frills Drive, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LiteOn IHAS124-04 24x SATA Half Height Internal DVDRW Drive - Black (Personal Computers)
I bought this DVD drive to replace a Samsung one which failed after about a year. As I didn't want to go for another Samsung one, I instead opted for this Lite-On one. I won't lie, the price was a very big factor in the final decision to go for this one over all others. The price is cheap for a reason, it's nothing to do with the drive you get, but instead it's to do with the things you don't get, you don't get a retail box, screws, cables and instructions, and all this keeps cost down. My first impressions of this drive were that the eject action is a lot smoother than the one it replaced, the Samsung one was very sluggish from the very day I bought it. So far this is a good purchase, I just hope it lasts as long as my old IDE Philips one (7 years, and still going).

There are 2 slight differences between the DVD drive pictured and the one I received. The first is the shape of the eject button, on the picture the ends are rounded, but on the one I received they are flat. Second, the light on the one pictured is oval and flush with the face-plate, and on the one I received it's small, circular and recessed into the face-plate. These are merely cosmetic differences and should not change the performance of the drive, but it's worth noting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great deal, 3 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LiteOn IHAS124-04 24x SATA Half Height Internal DVDRW Drive - Black (Personal Computers)
For the price you cannot complain.
Works perfect at what it says it can do.
Tested by booting Linux from it and no problems.
Well packaged and delivered promptly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well, it is what it is - but DO NOT buy for Xbox 360 backup/burn!!!, 5 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LiteOn IHAS124-04 24x SATA Half Height Internal DVDRW Drive - Black (Personal Computers)
I originally bought this hoping that it will be an a/b/c firmware version but it was not. Resorted to buying a second hand one. So DO NOT BUY for XBOX 360 games!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LiteOn IHAS124-04 24x SATA Half Height Internal DVDRW Drive - Black (Personal Computers)
Does the job brilliantly. Great fit for my computer base unit, just slotted right in and read the disc first time. Easy to connect up. Only negative is it makes a loud noise when you turn on the computer or insert a disc but that's no biggie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Drive is fine, packaging was terrible, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LiteOn IHAS124-04 24x SATA Half Height Internal DVDRW Drive - Black (Personal Computers)
The drive itself is totally fine, does what it says. The two main problems with this are 1: The packaging, 2: Misleading info

The main problem is that this is an OEM unit, which means it doesn't come with a retail box - in this case just in a clear plastic bag. This would be OK if Amazon bubble-wrapped it properly inside a larger box, but they just sent it unwrapped in one of their regular cardboard boxes used for books. This means every knock in transit is potentially damaging the delicate internal mechanism.

Also, the advert should clearly point out that it is an unboxed OEM unit that comes without a SATA cable or screws (which you normally get with a retail unit). Additionally as someone else pointed out the first picture is of a different superior unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for the price, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LiteOn IHAS124-04 24x SATA Half Height Internal DVDRW Drive - Black (Personal Computers)
A normal DVD drive for setting up new pc and generate backup disc. Long story short, its a functional dvd drive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compact, reliable and affordable CD/DVD burner, 6 May 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: LiteOn IHAS124-04 24x SATA Half Height Internal DVDRW Drive - Black (Personal Computers)
I've used this drive for some recent PC builds. As all new drives this is a SATA one.
As others have pointed out this model does not support "smart erase" (which can securely over write discs to prevent data recovery)
That's not a huge loss, as disc media is fairly easy to destroy. If you want that feature and others like disclabel and lightscribe, then LiteOn do slightly more expensive models that support those features

The drive is shorter than some offerings meaning it will fit in most cases without any issues.
General spec is in line with DVD burners 24x is only supported with some media, I rarely burn above 16x anyway

- CD/CD-R/CD-ROM burn/read speeds are 48x
- CD-RW 24x
- DVD+R DL & DVD-R DL burn at 8x speed
- DVD-RAM is 6x
- DVD-ROM reads at 16x max

LiteOn do update the firmware from time to time (on various models), so check their site. I have never needed to update firmware
To date I've not had any probelms with these for my pc builds, they are fairly quiet (the LG's are possibly even quieter) and so far have been reliable with a good variety of media (I tend to use Verbatim discs DVD and CD)

At this price it's not worth pondering too much on DVD burner choices, these drives are cheap as chips nowadays and most of the ones on the market are of decent quality (LG, Samsung etc etc)
Recommended as a general drive, if you want more features then hunt around. For a standard drive this is a good offering
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LiteOn IHAS124-04 24x SATA Half Height Internal DVDRW Drive - Black (Personal Computers)
Does it's job. No problems with installation and usage so far. I don't know if its just me but no SATA data cable been provided. Maybe its normal. Good that i had one extra
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent product, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LiteOn IHAS124-04 24x SATA Half Height Internal DVDRW Drive - Black (Personal Computers)
this was an excellent product well priced and I loved the fact it had drivers built in 5***** thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a price? Is that a helicopter outside?, 10 Dec 2013
By 
R. Hawkes (Orpington, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LiteOn IHAS124-04 24x SATA Half Height Internal DVDRW Drive - Black (Personal Computers)
Right then, for the money, you really can't complain as the product works well.

All I'll say is it is REALLY LOUD! During my new build I had to keep reassuring my wife that it wasn't the fan making that noise but the DVD Reader! Let's be honest though, how often do you actually need a DVD reader?

But if you are thinking of incorporating this in to a sitting-room media centre, you might want to think again, or buy headphones.

Otherwise... Buy it :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews