Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing
An excellent book! I was captivated throughout and could have read it from start to finish in one go, had time, work and sleep requirements allowed. If you like Charles Stross's 'Halting State' and 'Rule 34', as well as the 'Terminator' and 'The Matrix' films, you will probably enjoy this book. The only thing I found a bit strange was the ending. I look forward to reading...
Published on 9 May 2012 by Liam Mariscotti

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice novel for the Internet / computer science techies
I must admit I was captured by the title and by the mention of "singularity". I bought the book and started reading it with totally neutral expectation because nobody suggested it to me, nor did I know the authors before.

The plot is good and got me interested from the very beginning.

Writing is fair, makes the novel good for bed or travel...
Published 23 months ago by claudioccc


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing, 9 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent book! I was captivated throughout and could have read it from start to finish in one go, had time, work and sleep requirements allowed. If you like Charles Stross's 'Halting State' and 'Rule 34', as well as the 'Terminator' and 'The Matrix' films, you will probably enjoy this book. The only thing I found a bit strange was the ending. I look forward to reading the other books in William Hertling's 'Singularity series'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book will certainly read more by this author, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book manages to be a real page turner, while still being credible and thought provoking. I was really pleasantly surprised by it spotted someone recommending it over on the grandroids site and was reading about the singularity at the time. Really impressed with the standard of the writing and the author has a clear understanding of IT. If you like Daniel Suarez give this a go too it's in a similar style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Read, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a very interesting, and thought provoking book. Intelligently written and hard to put down. The ending was a bit abrupt though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The near future story presented here is a good one. Totally believable in its concept and followed through in good fashion. The book is relatively short, so you're never waiting fo the next plot point as it'll be on the next page. The one weakness is the way the characters are sold to you. Whilst an effort has clearly been made to give a back story/depth to them, I don't believe he quite succeeds. The big plus is that you'll likely enjoy this, but it also sets up the sequel which is REALLY good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern expanded 'The Evitable Conflict', 4 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good read! I've read it all over the weekend. Hopefully it's not too much of a spoiler, but if you liked the main idea of Asimov's 'The Evitable Conflict', I can recommend this book as expanded story about how such AI could be developed as a part of our modern everyday internet products. It's not perfect and lacks some detail, but nevertheless I think it's worth five stars and I would like to see more books like this. I like in particular how close to reality it is, in a similar way to Suarez's or Russinovich's technothrillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad ... but not great, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice idea but not very well written. That being said I'd give it a 3 stars but the ending was a bit cliched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Frighteningly Possible!, 24 Jun 2014
By 
Andrew Laws (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great Sci Fi adventure set in today's world. Avogadro Corporation sounds very much like a familiar internet company and the story begins with just another work project. Despite the seemingly everyday context, the plot soon gains momentum and the project takes on a life of its own. Believable scenarios, interesting characters and an increasingly tense plot make this a good read. I don't want to spoil the end; enough to say I am presently enjoying the sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read. A very plausible scenario of how the singularity could unfold. The author actually departs from the technology we have today and then weaves a scenario very plausible today.well done,GOOD on you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One company springs to mind reading this: Google, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What with google buying robotic companies all around the world and getting its teeth into all sorts of business deals, I found myself reading this book thinking that what if !!!

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book, and have purchased the next in series, can't wait to start reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars hard to put down, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book addresses a possible future .. well ...around the corner.. It is well stuctured and clearly written so although some of the technology may not be familiar to all readers, it is absorbing. The best thing about this book are the ideas ..and where things will/might go... Not difficult, this is great for travel/holiday reading and I have just bought bk 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews