Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars storming live performance
This is an excellent double cd and single dvd performance. a good mix of new and older songs from the 4 original members. This is likely to be the last official recording featuring the excellent guitar playing of Steve Howe as he has now quit the band. he wants to concentrate on Yes and his jazz trio. Good luck to him and he will be missed. when he quit after the Alpha...
Published on 21 Jan. 2013 by R. L. Baldry

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mmmm
The album cover is an absolutely fantastic piece of artwork. Muscially its only OK, I feel that its not up to the level of performance that I had expected from asia, a bit of a let down.
Published 18 months ago by Fireball 61


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars storming live performance, 21 Jan. 2013
By 
R. L. Baldry "Robbie Bee" (cambridge uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resonance: Live In Basel - Switzerland (Audio CD)
This is an excellent double cd and single dvd performance. a good mix of new and older songs from the 4 original members. This is likely to be the last official recording featuring the excellent guitar playing of Steve Howe as he has now quit the band. he wants to concentrate on Yes and his jazz trio. Good luck to him and he will be missed. when he quit after the Alpha album in 1984 the band went on to record the Astra album without him,which was a tired sounding effort and lacking the vibrancy of the first 2 albums. I hope i,m wrong but i fear Steve Howe leaving will leave a huge void. So enjoy this live performance of the 4 originals in sparkling form. good luck to Asia in 2013 with Sam Coulson joining the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mmmm, 25 Oct. 2013
By 
Fireball 61 (Moray, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The album cover is an absolutely fantastic piece of artwork. Muscially its only OK, I feel that its not up to the level of performance that I had expected from asia, a bit of a let down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good but no audio cigar sadly., 11 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Resonance: Live In Basel - Switzerland (Audio CD)
Please be aware that the sound quality is only average.ignore previous reviews.dvd is poor stereo only. CDs ok but not top notch at all. Very low key production. Asia great of course but why don't they spend more on the engineering ? Probably cos they record every show on a budget. For top notch audio buy John wet tons cd nomansland. Live recording of Asia stuff etc...it jumps out the speakers and the bass burns you....buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You can't beat good music, 30 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resonance: Live In Basel - Switzerland (Audio CD)
I was eagerly anticipating this album and it has not disappointed me. The quality of the dvd and the cd is great. I managed to see the boys on this tour and this is a great reminder for me and all their fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great music from a quality band, 20 Nov. 2014
By 
Ken Findlay (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resonance: Live In Basel - Switzerland (Audio CD)
Great music from a quality band, that prove that they have the staying power and song writing quality. Definitely for those who want to relive the tour , then it is worth it, and for those who have never seen the band, then what an introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Expectations, 1 Jan. 2013
By 
Peter L. Crisp (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resonance: Live In Basel - Switzerland (Audio CD)
I was absolutely looking forward to the new Asia live album, but to my surprise and disappointment i have never heard an album so limp, boring, and lacking in so many ways.
You would think that a band with a rich history could release such a lame box set, and even suggest it's a good document to add to their already back catalogue is totally incomprehensible. The only good thing is the packaging itself, it's obvious a great deal of work was done in completing the final product, it's just a pity about the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality as always., 19 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Resonance: Live In Basel - Switzerland (Audio CD)
These guys just seem to get better and better, the DVD is the highlight. A must for all ASIA fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They improve with age., 17 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resonance: Live In Basel - Switzerland (Audio CD)
With two more years of material compared to the multiple 2008 double CD sets and the confidence of age this stands out as a solid package especially with the addition of a quality DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sadly the end of the "Originals", 15 Feb. 2013
By 
C. S. Grant (London & Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resonance: Live In Basel - Switzerland (Audio CD)
I was due to see Asia just before Xmas, December 2012, unfortunately Carl Palmer was ill and the UK shows were cancelled. Not only was I upset but I consoled myself that I'd get my fix with this 2010 show and I'd see them again perhaps during 2013. Since then, Steve Howe, otherwise known as the Yes guitarist has left. It won't be the same again, no matter how good the new guy is. This is a greatest hits plus tracks from their first two comeback albums, Phoenix and Omega. They make a great go of it. The DVD is only in stereo, which for me a 5.1 surround lover, slightly disappoints. The playing is first rate, which is always the case from the many times I've seen the band live since their reformation. This will be the last chance to see and hear the "originals" in concert, so "Go" for it. "Go" is the second last track and came off the Astra album, their third, which I thought Steve Howe took no part of. However hearing it live, perhaps he did play just that one track on Astra, hence him playing it live on this occasion, as these guys don't normally play what they weren't on (if you exclude the "solo" offerings they used to play such as "In The Court Of The Crimson King" or "Roundabout"). The CD's just split the DVD show in half.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Resonance: Live In Basel - Switzerland
Resonance: Live In Basel - Switzerland by Asia (Audio CD - 2015)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews