Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The acting is superb and the film worth viewing!
Okay, let's forget the end which sort of fizzled out, on the whole the film was FANTASTIC. The acting, the suspense, the chemistry, a true psychological thriller!

The beginning (rich boy and average girl falling in love, getting married) was fast-paced and involving, and then, the strange things started to happen. I thought the building up of something unknown...
Published 7 months ago by Lola

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Confusingly Suspenseful
Throughout this film I kept wondering, "Just who is this family? What is this all about?" 'All Good Things' is a story taken from true life. A wealthy real estate dealer and his two sons live in a large mansion in Long Island. It appears the mother committed suicide, and one would surmise that one reason is the father Sanford Marks, played by Frank Langella.. A...
Published 7 months ago by prisrob


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The acting is superb and the film worth viewing!, 21 Jan 2014
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: All Good Things [DVD] (DVD)
Okay, let's forget the end which sort of fizzled out, on the whole the film was FANTASTIC. The acting, the suspense, the chemistry, a true psychological thriller!

The beginning (rich boy and average girl falling in love, getting married) was fast-paced and involving, and then, the strange things started to happen. I thought the building up of something unknown and malicious was very cleverly done, the wickedness of David Marks, brilliantly portrayed by Ryan Gosling, was palpable. Of course we never know did he, did he not, of course we are not sure if he is crazy or if the world is playing a joke on him, but one thing is clear - Ryan Gosling is one brilliant actor - the scenes where he plays a woman are a punch to your stomach!

And Kirsten Dunst, she plays her role so well, she effortlessly and so believably portrays a woman confused to comprehend who her husband truly is. And who is David Marks (a character based on a suspect in one of the most notorious missing person case of the New York history, still unsolved)?

Recommended, if you love psychological thrillers, eerie films based on real stories and/or Ryan Gosling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Confusingly Suspenseful, 19 Jan 2014
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: All Good Things [DVD] (DVD)
Throughout this film I kept wondering, "Just who is this family? What is this all about?" 'All Good Things' is a story taken from true life. A wealthy real estate dealer and his two sons live in a large mansion in Long Island. It appears the mother committed suicide, and one would surmise that one reason is the father Sanford Marks, played by Frank Langella.. A mean often vicious man who always gets what he wants, no overtly physical abuse, but plenty of emotional abuse is apparent.

David Marks, played by Ryan Gosling, the younger son seems meek and mild and has no interest in his father's family business. He meets a young woman Katie, played by Kirsten Dunst, they marry, go off to Vermont and set up an organic food store, 'All Good Things', where they are very happy. Enters dad, telling them he will no longer support this lifestyle and they move back to New York. It is here that things fall apart. David is lifeless and listless, Katie goes onto college wanting to become a physician. But time takes it's toll, the marriage falls apart and Katie goes missing.

Kirsten Dunst plays this role to the hilt, as a woman at a loss to understand who her husband really is, and I had the same question throughout the film. Who is David, really? . The man we first met, the man she married has completely changed. Was he hiding some sort of psychotic imbalance? The rest of the film is creepy in a sense. We view the film from different episodes, past and present. Ryan Gosling certainly plays this character well, keeping us and himself off balance. The fact that this is a true story is eerily chilly.

Recommended For Those Who Enjoy Suspense And Confusion. prisrob 01-19-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "All Good Things" on BLU RAY - 'US' Disc Won't Play On Our Machines And The 'Euro' Version Is Expensive..., 2 April 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Whether you adore Ryan Gosling or the lovely and talented Kirsten Dunst - the BLU RAY of 2010's "All Good Things" is afflicted with the same crap that so many titles are nowadays - 'Region Coding'.

As a UK buyer you have two choices in April 2014 - the 'American' Magnolia Pictures BLU RAY is REGION A LOCKED - so it won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are).

The alternative is a 'Euro' release (I believe it's German) that is REGION B - so it will play on our machines. You simply go the set up menu and choose the English Audio (it will be defaulted to German). But it's pricey for such an average film...

So I'm afraid until such time as someone sees fit to release "All Good Things" in the UK at a reasonable price - you're stuck with one BLU RAY that won't play and another that costs too much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than what I expected, 28 Jan 2014
This review is from: All Good Things [DVD] (DVD)
After the railers I was not sure I want to see this. I have to say it was exciting and I was biting my nails at some points and the music was just amazing, rare to see a feature with the music so matching with the story! And I have to add the acting was great. I was never too into Kirsten(I apriciated her acting more when she was younger) but she was just amazing here. Maybe even the best Ive ever seen in her movies. So mature and meaningful, beautiful reactions. She surprised me a lot. Also the father...sorry I cant remember his name... I was really surprised how good he was!! And of course THE amazing Ryan. Watch out, he will be one of those BIG BIG BIG movie stars who not only really good at acting but taking on outstanding, surprising roles (remember Lars? WOW). I have a huge respect to him and played this guy so well!!
The story first was very good and exciting, then became a bit boring. This is a true story so I cant blame anyone for it... :) I do recommend this movie tho, worth to watch it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A powerful true drama!, 24 Dec 2013
By 
ReviewBlog51 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: All Good Things [DVD] (DVD)
'All Good Things' is a based on a real life murder/missing persons case that took place in America from the eighties. Given the nature of the story, the film adaption offers plenty of drama.

Set in 1970s New York City, household name Ryan Gosling once again proves himself as one of the most talented actors of his generation. The character he plays his time is David Marks, the son of a powerful man who owns acres of real estate. David falls in love with a beautiful student called Katie (played by Kirsten Dunst), and unlike himself, she comes from a working class family. Despite their different backgrounds, the couple are soon married and move to the country to own a heath food shop called 'All Good Things' and start a new life together. We quickly learn more about David's fractured past and after being lured back to their old hometown by his father, we see David turn controlling and violent, especially when Katie suggests having children, and when she becomes increasingly more independent. As secrets of his family are revealed, Katie disappears without a trace. When his best friend is found dead, the 20 year old missing persons case is reopened, with David as the prime suspect. All of the evidence is laid in front of the viewer, who can make up their own mind as to whether David Marks is innocent or guilty.

All of these happenings are told by himself in a flashback, at the start of the film he is seen taking about his life through interview. Within the first few minutes we know that his father is alive, and his mother passed away when David was only seven. We see home video footage of him as a little boy, looking like every other happy child, and playing with his mother.

'All Good Things' is a film which showcases Ryan Gosling's wide acting range, I have always maintained that he excels at playing broken, complex and troubled characters, and he is once again outstanding. This dark tale is filled with suspense and should please viewers who enjoy a good docu-drama. Well worth a watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Truly disturbing story., 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Good Things [DVD] (DVD)
Based on a true life 'murder', this was very interesting and as far fetched as only true life can be. Ryan Gosling's performance as the husband was very disturbing.
Great chemistry between the two leads. Well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dark and disturbing, but excellent performances nonetheless, 8 Mar 2013
This review is from: All Good Things [DVD] (DVD)
All Good Things is a film that's `based on a true story.' However, I've lost count of the amount of times I've seen those words, only to find that the movie was so loosely based on reality that it might as well have been Star Wars. Yet, with All Good Things, it really is based on a real murder/missing persons case in America from the eighties.

We see Ryan Gosling and Kristen Dunst meeting and falling in love. Everything seems idyllic until Gosling starts acting more and more strangely. Then his erratic behaviour starts to get physical and even violent. The strength of the movie as a story lies in its focus on a web of characters and their relationships to one another, rather than on the crimes themselves. We never see the actual violence, but only its effects on characters, and their subsequent efforts to conceal the truth, to escape from their situation, or to satisfy some personal need.

We're given plenty of visual ammunition with which to base our own conclusions on who may or may not be guilty of which crimes, mainly through alluding to deviant mental conditions or sexual preferences. None of these offer any real evidence, only circumstantial. However, despite leaving the viewer in the role of judge as to whether Gosling's character is guilty or innocent, the film is worth watching for the two leads' performances. They do well to get into some very difficult characters and the film is definitely worth a look.

So, not a great movie, but an engrossing entertainment if you are in the mood for a dark story that leaves you wondering how closely real events in fact matched up to this clever reconstruction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspired By A True Story, 18 Oct 2011
By 
Mr. R. Domar (Wolves) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The disappearance of Kathie McCormack who has never been found.
This is a love story and murder mystery set in the 1980s. David played by Ryan Gosling comes from a wealthy family and not all the money comes from legal business. The head of the family is played by Frank Langella and he is excellent and sinister. Katie played by Kirsten Dunst is the girl David falls in love with and marries against dad's wishes. All seems fine between the couple but when Katie finds herself pregnant things turn nasty as we see another side of David, an ugly side. She has an abortion. Not long after this Katie disappears.
The film starts in 1971 and around 2001 the DA re-opens the missing case file. We know there's a court case which we don't see a lot of but we hear several voice overs recounting events that took place. The acting is spot on and all the characters are believable as the film plays out in a powerful drama that's very entertaining and comes in a good package of extras. My only complaint was that the ending did not satisfy me, but that's just me. Other than that it's a good 3 star film bumped up to 4 thanks to the generous extras.
Extras include 2 coms, interviews, deleted, all good things, researching the original story, unravelling the story, wrinkles in time and trailers. USA Release Region 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars slow complex story, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Good Things [DVD] (DVD)
This film shows ryan goslings wide range as an actor, but it is a very slow complex story with deep meanings, if your planning a relaxing night in with a loved one this is not the film to choose
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, True Story, but not great., 12 July 2013
By 
E. Ford (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Good Things [DVD] (DVD)
On the plus side, it has Ryan Gosling in it. It's not one of his best but if you're a fan, then it's a must. He plays a broken character really well.

A few chilling moments and some good acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All Good Things [DVD]
All Good Things [DVD] by Andrew Jarecki (DVD - 2013)
4.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews