Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just the usual stand with a new screw-on head.
This is essentially the Joby Gorillapod Original - Black but with an attachable spring-drawn clamp for your phone. In my opinion this is a better use for the tripod as it is more suited to smart-phone weight rather than full-camera weight and works well if you use to grip your bedside table or bookshelf and hold the phone towards you (for your alarm or even watching...
Published 23 months ago by J. Morris

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality with a broken leg so soon
Bitterly disappointed. I don't like writing bad reviews, but in this case I have barely used this Gorillapod within the last three months of purchasing and already a link in one of the legs has broken. I wouldn't recommend unfortunately.
Published 8 months ago by Karen


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent mini tirpod, 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joby GripTight GorillaPod Stand for Smartphones - Black (Camera)
I got this tripod for my iPhone 5. It is a great tripod, innovative and so small that you can carry it with you without making any extra effort. Overall, this little thing expanded the capabilities of my phone camera. I recommend it to anyone looking for a phone tripod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just the usual stand with a new screw-on head., 19 Aug. 2013
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joby GripTight GorillaPod Stand for Smartphones - Black (Camera)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is essentially the Joby Gorillapod Original - Black but with an attachable spring-drawn clamp for your phone. In my opinion this is a better use for the tripod as it is more suited to smart-phone weight rather than full-camera weight and works well if you use to grip your bedside table or bookshelf and hold the phone towards you (for your alarm or even watching something on the phone).

The only con I can see with the product is that the springs that keep the head holding the phone are very strong and actually cause the phone to register that the button is being 'pressed' by the stand (usually the volume keys are in this lateral position) and can affect what you are doing. However the stand is strong enough to support a lop-sided grip of the phone so that the grip is clear of the buttons. Minimum width for grip is 54mm, maximum is 72mm (2.1" & 2.8") so it is really for a smart phone viewed in the landscape orientation.

When you consider you can still use this little stand (16cm tip to top, 12cm of leg) for a camera as the head is detachable and folds flat, this is a versatile little Gorillapod. Please note the legs are not strong enough to support a full SLR or heavy camera and will fold under weight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful and lightweight for travel, 9 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joby GripTight GorillaPod Stand for Smartphones - Black (Camera)
Ideal for travel when weight is a priority. Surprisingly steady and firm for a small digital camera and the iPhone considering how light in weight it is. Enabled some very sharp night shots when travelling recently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best phone tripod, 14 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joby GripTight GorillaPod Stand for Smartphones - Black (Camera)
I love this device, it allows me to keep my phone stable while filming or taking timelapse videos, and it also works without the need to remove whatver case I have on my phone at the time.

Add to the fact that I can share this with whomever I'm with who has a smart phone makes this a winner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice little smart phone tripod, 17 Oct. 2013
By 
Peter Bennett "Pete" (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joby GripTight GorillaPod Stand for Smartphones - Black (Camera)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This tripod consists of two pieces which you will generally leave attached together if you are using it with a smart phone.

The bottom part is a very configurable tripod made up of articulated spheres. This allows you to obtain a stable base on uneven terrain or surfaces, very useful.

Definitely nice and light if a little "plasticky" in feel but works well in practice.

There is a 1/4 inch screw thread on the tripod which will allow you to directly attached most cameras. You certainly wouldn't trust a DSLR to the base, but a compact "point and shoot" will have no problems.

The top part is a spring-loaded set of "jaws" which you open, insert your smart phone and then allow them to close. It then screws onto the bottom part using the same 1/4 inch thread. The business part of the jaws are made of metal so it feels as if it will last.

The whole ensemble is able to hold the smartphone nicely in position for timed photos or longer videos whilst being small enough and light enough to pop in a coat pocket.

Overall a worthwhile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what you need, 23 Jan. 2014
By 
Mark & Pat (Stevenage - Herts - UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joby GripTight GorillaPod Stand for Smartphones - Black (Camera)
this is the same superb build quality as the other GorillaPods but just allot smaller.

this is ideal to keep in your bag, top pocket or trouser pocket.

just right for those 'wish i had a tripod' moments
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality with a broken leg so soon, 25 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joby GripTight GorillaPod Stand for Smartphones - Black (Camera)
Bitterly disappointed. I don't like writing bad reviews, but in this case I have barely used this Gorillapod within the last three months of purchasing and already a link in one of the legs has broken. I wouldn't recommend unfortunately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Galaxy s5, 3 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Joby GripTight GorillaPod Stand for Smartphones - Black (Camera)
Yes this will fit the Galaxy s5 and still has a bit more room, I have brought many gadgets from Amazon and I must say this is by far the most impressive! I would recommend this tripod for anyone looking for something they will be 100 percent satisfied with. Very easy to flex around objects and quality guaranteed...I would have been happy to pay much more for this item!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a must buy if you use your iPhone to record, 24 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joby GripTight GorillaPod Stand for Smartphones - Black (Camera)
This really is a marvellous product - incredibly versatile -gives your phone the capability of a hands free mini camera or voice recorder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great design, but not sturdy enough and broke during use., 12 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joby GripTight GorillaPod Stand for Smartphones - Black (Camera)
Ok, had to think about this for a while before posting.

Have had the stand for some time now and it does deliver in being a flexible, highly mobile, stand.

I purchase for use with my Lumia phone (920 model), but even with the phone it does struggle with the weight - so, if you have a dedicated camera, let alone an SLR/DSLR, think-again (in my opinion).

It is very flexible, but I don't think the build-quality is sufficient - the rotating ball below the mount on ours broke off completely and, although it did 'click' back in place, it now is too weak to hold the position you move it to.

The grips themselves are good (good friction for gripping to a surface or wrapping around an object), but, even before the ball mentioned above broke, they do struggle to hold position with the weight of my device.

Maybe we were just unlucky and received one with lower than standard build-quality... great idea, novel design, but just not sturdy enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews