Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not without its flaws
This is like six times as long as it should be, but it covers everything.

007 Legends is a James Bond game featuring adaptations of the movies Goldfinger, On Her Majesty's Secret Service (OHMSS), Licence To Kill, Die Another Day, Moonraker and Skyfall.

The game has three main components; Campaign, challenges and multiplayer. The campaign has two...
Published 14 months ago by S. Trainor

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I thought this would be really good but it wasn't multiplayer is rubbish campaign is ok not the best some improvements and this would be a good game
Published 9 months ago by Mr. P. A. Still


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not without its flaws, 16 Feb 2013
By 
S. Trainor (Belfast) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Bond: 007 Legends (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
This is like six times as long as it should be, but it covers everything.

007 Legends is a James Bond game featuring adaptations of the movies Goldfinger, On Her Majesty's Secret Service (OHMSS), Licence To Kill, Die Another Day, Moonraker and Skyfall.

The game has three main components; Campaign, challenges and multiplayer. The campaign has two missions from each movie (two Skyfall missions are included, though they were downloadable content (DC) on the PS3 and Xbox 360 because the movie was released after the game), the challenges have two missions from each movie excluding Skyfall, and the multiplayer features 8 levels (Three from Goldfinger, three from Licence to Kill and two from Die Another Day) and characters from all of the movies (two were DC on PS3 and Xbox 360).

Controls:

The wii remote and classic controllers (CC) are not compatible in this game. The wii remote not being compatible is a disappointment because the wii remote controls were very good in Goldeneye Wii, and the CC not being compatible means that you are unlikely to be able to play local multiplayer with more than one person, since you need pro controllers, and probably haven't bought three already. There is no option for off TV play using only the gamepad, which is a shame. There is little control customisation, which is my main gripe with the game. The controls feel clunky to begin with, and since there you can only change the general sensitivity, rather than the vertical/horizontal sensitivity, or ADS/hipfire sensitivity, you may feel comfortable with the hipfire speed, but uncomfortable with the ADS speed. Also, the control layout can't be changed much, which I disliked because I wanted to change my melee attack to a shoulder button rather than pushing in the joystick. I played the local multiplayer with two friends who enjoy Call of Duty, and they seriously disliked this game because of its controls.

Campaign:

For the single player you can only use the gamepad. The controls are the same as on the pro controller and the TV screen is the main screen, but the gamepad screen displays a map, your weapons and attachments, and gadgets. The screen makes it easier to use your gadgets, as you don't have to remember what d-pad directions they are assigned to. It is also used for entering security codes.
It has a similar style to Goldeneye Wii, in that there are separate missions with checkpoints throughout and a choice between a regenerating health system, and health bars with health packs and body armour dispersed throughout the levels. Unlike Goldeneye Wii, the levels are longer, so you can quit at any checkpoint and come back to it, rather than having to restart the level. There is also an xp system which allows you to purchase attachments and perks to help you in the game. This, multiple difficulty settings, and completing a list of various killing methods could give incentive to replay the game if you enjoyed it the first time round.

The gameplay is mainly run and gun, though there are some stealth areas in which you can silence your weapon and take out guards and cameras in specific orders to avoid being detected. Most people seem to dislike stealth sections, since you can't move bodies after you've killed them, but I thought that was good, since it meant you had to plan out your attack more and dispose of the guards more efficiently. There are four missions which aren't run and gun, which involve driving, skiing and riding a motorbike. Most of these involved chases, and there are also a few on foot chases throughout the game. I enjoyed these, but found the skiing frustrating since there were so many trees. The thing I disliked least about the campaign was the melee sections. It involves using the two joysticks to hit one part of four areas of the enemy, which is left unguarded. This was interesting at first, but is over used in the game, and most boss battles revolve around doing this, then completing a number of reaction based button prompts and completing another melee section. I thought this was a waste of good boss battle opportunities, as it would've been more fun to have a shootout in which the boss has a large amount of health, like in Goldeneye 64 (though the last boss battle did exactly this, and was better than the rest).

Challenges:

This is similar to the MI6 ops mode in Goldeneye Reloaded, in which you have to complete 10 missions with various difficulty modifiers in an attempt to get the highest score possible, which is achievable by completing missions undetected, without wasting any bullets, and getting a balance of a quick time, a high kill count and a high difficulty setting. I really enjoyed this mode, and still enjoy competing for the top position on the leaderboards, as it requires a lot of time, practice and thought to get the highest score possible. Some of the missions are things done in the movies that weren't playable in the campaign, such as falling back into Fort Knox as Oddjob when under attack by the CIA, or escaping from Blofeld's lair in OHMSS as Draco, which is a nice touch. There are three types of mission in this mode:

Stealth, in which you have to kill specified targets or escape as discreetly as possible.
Defence, in which you have to protect a laptop from waves of enemies til it has finished uploading data.
Assault, in which you have to kill a large number of people in order to get to the end of the level.

Multiplayer:

Local and Online Multiplayer can use the pro controller or gamepad, and in local multiplayer the gamepad user can play on the gamepad screen while the other 1-3 players use the TV. In the online multiplayer you start at level 1 and progress through 50 levels unlocking new weapons, attachments, perks and receive accolades for achieving certain feats in the game. Upon reaching level 50, the player can choose to "specialise", returning them to level 1 and losing them their weapons. However, some weapons can only be unlocked by doing this. It can be done up to five times. The online uses a regenerating health system, with no modes featuring a health bar system, which is a shame. The online doesn't have many players, and usually there's only one match at a time in Team Conflict mode. Other modes can be played by changing your clan tag to encourage other players to move to a specified mode. There is also no party system, meaning to can't play on the same team as your friends. These are obvious downsides, but the upsides are that there is a small community of people who you will recognise, and the matches will always be balanced and competitive.

The online multiplayer consists of the modes (all of which last 10 minutes):

Legends - A 10 player mode featuring 20 playable characters each with different abilties, such as infinite sprint, extra damage to players who have killed you, extra secondary weapons or throwing weapons and more. 20 kill limit.
Team Conflict (TC)- A 12 player mode with a 60 kill limit for each team.
Conflict - An 8 player mode with a 20 kill limit. (Similar to Legends but without special abilties)
Golden Gun - An 8 player mode with a 40 point limit. Kills are one point, golden gun kills are 5 points. Everyone knows where the golden gun is, and it kills in one hit, but you have to reload after each shot.
Heroes - Each team has one hero. A person will automatically become a hero, and be given a large amount of health, extra damage and new weapons, and will be shown on the map for the other team to attack and your team to protect. After a hero dies, another will respawn until a high score limit is reached.
Icarus - Stand beside one of 5 consoles to hack it. Once it is hacked move onto another console or defend the consoles your team's already hacked, and try to maintain more hacked consoles than the other team to win. No kill limit, 12 player mode.
Black Box - One team tries to destroy the box, the other team tries to carry it around to download data from it. No kill limit, 12 player mode.
Data Miner - A 8 player mode with no kill limit, which is a free for all. When players die they drop a phone. Picking up a phone increases your download rate. Collect as many phones as you can and stay alive until the download is done.
Bomb Defuser - There are three areas one team has to plant a bomb in, and the others have to diffuse a bomb in? I haven't played it, or seen it.
Licence to Kill (LTK) - Conflict with no radar and less health.
Team Licence to Kill (TLTK) - TC with no radar and less health.

Having 12 people in a mode can make it laggy sometimes, but generally it isn't noticeable (especially if you're the host).

The local multiplayer features all of the modes from online except LTK and TLTK, but features two extra modes. There are a large number of modifiers including health, damage, paintball mode, headshots only and many more. You can also customise 6 loadouts each with a choice of any of the online weapons, and play as one of 20+ characters. Legends mode isn't included in local multiplayer because you can choose the characters from legends and whether or not they have their special abilties on.

Conclusion:

The campaign isn't bad, and if you enjoyed Goldeneye wii you'll probably enjoy it.
Challenge mode is fun to play just once, or over and over again to strive for perfection.
The local and online multiplayers have a lot of customisation options, and can be really great.
The two major flaws are the control system (lack of customisation and no wii remote support) and the small online player base.
The Wii U game is more expensive than the PS3 or Xbox 360, but seems to have a larger online player base, and comes with DC you'd have to pay for on other consoles.
It's a challenging game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 007 legends Wii U, 17 Jan 2013
By 
Tim Elton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: James Bond: 007 Legends (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
It seems that I am in the minority here as, for me this game is quite enjoyable. After having played call of duty 2 on the wii u I can say that the look sensitivity is better on COD, however after playing for 10 minutes I got used to it. I don't understand why this game got review scores so low. I would warrant this game 70-80%. If you see this game for 30 then buy it and if you don't like it sell it again! it's great fun and shouldn't be compared to the likes of COD, it's a different type of game! maybe it isn't as good as goldeneye wii but it's pretty good anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 007 legends ... the best shooting game ever, 26 Jun 2013
By 
SP AUSTIN (LONDON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Bond: 007 Legends (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Now, I really don't know why people put some bad reviews on this game, for it is the BEST GAME EVER tied with Fifa 13. The graphics are amazing and the game can suck you in for hours. OK, I don't exactly have hours of time, but it can be a very fun with 30 minutes or 1 hour of game time. It's true I have never played COD, but I don't really want to because a friend played one of the editions and said it was rubbish. The multiplayer is good and fun and easy to play with anyone. There are a lot of single player levels for a lot of fun, including levels from Goldfinger, OHMSS, Moonraker, Licence to Kill, Die Another Day and Bonus levels from Skyfall. There are car, skiing and a motorbike in some levels.

I think this is a very good game, I rate it 5 stars and I thoroughly recommend anyone interested in it to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Bond: 007 Legends (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
very happy ;with purchase, son loved it, price was good, would recommend if you want to purchase. a satisfied customer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 21 July 2013
By 
Mr. P. A. Still "PAW" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Bond: 007 Legends (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
I thought this would be really good but it wasn't multiplayer is rubbish campaign is ok not the best some improvements and this would be a good game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Less than average, 26 Mar 2013
By 
M. Gilbert "Gadgets, gadgets, gadgets" (Twickenham, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Bond: 007 Legends (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
This game came with high expectations but is let down by average graphics, frustrating response, poor controls and dire links between films.

Why not carry on making Bond games like 007 Bloodstone?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An ok game, 9 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Bond: 007 Legends (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
This game is not going to set the world on fire, but if you fancy a decent COD type romp then this will do the trick. Also it was cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great challenging game, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Bond: 007 Legends (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Really good graphics and great movie-interaction which for a 007 fan is pretty awesome. I also like the ability to play online. Star knocked off 'cos not able to use just the WIIU gamepad (I don't mind but other members of the family do lol)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant be not perfect, 11 Jan 2014
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: James Bond: 007 Legends (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
This is one of the games. its almost perfect. shame, i like this game. the gameplay on the single missions is awesome. great use of the gamepad to do certain tasks. and really good story, i like James Bond and took to this quickly. Now its on par with goldeneye on the N64.

Now me personally think the online gameplay is shocking. weird thing the single mission are really good graphics. and look nice. granted not on par with cod:ghosts that's stunning.

I found online gameplay to laggy, and lower graphically. its like a ps2 game. weird as the single missions look crisp in HD.

Anyway if you can put with this slight niggle you are rewarded with a good shooter. i like it very much. and feel if they took a little bit more time and polished the online gameplay. we would be looking at 5 star game.

Maybe an update, or even a new Bond game.

Great game for wii u. and worthy of your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Half good I say for 007 fans, 26 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. L. C. Emmott "Lee Emmott" (Uk Leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: James Bond: 007 Legends (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
I got this one for christmas.

It seems to follow the story quite good with old villians with
Dan Craig this time it seems he stil says what Sean Connery would
say in the Goldfinger mission most parts of the game reminds you to
press lz or something to dodge in cut scenes.

Note to self this actally plays like Goldeneye for the Wii you
get his smartphone stil? How wonderful most time you need to scan
items to progress. Controls feel like Goldeneye too but at least
you can choose either modern life or classic life where armour
is in the game I not tryed it only the modern one.

looks like same weapons is on here too like Goldeneye don't you
think they just copy and paste a game from another game?

Most easy thing is the boss boxing fights where you got to punch a boss to death if you continue to hit a boss you'll win and the boss won't be able to hit you, I think that is easy.

Online game noone is around to play with you it takes ages to find players (depends on the time if you do it afternoon it is ok but in morning you can forget finding anoyone to play with) and some lag to turn up the heat too.

And need more maps than 8 online I was bored when I got to level 50 killing the same people over and over, but I say it is better than Goldeneye for Wii.

That's what I was thinking the stealth parts is excellent though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2804078)

This product

James Bond: 007 Legends (Nintendo Wii U)
James Bond: 007 Legends (Nintendo Wii U) by Activision (Nintendo Wii U)
11.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews