Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Brock Solo Album
This is a quality piece of work. There is nothing conventional about this album but artistically it is one of the cleverest and most original collections of tracks I have heard for a long time. In this work Dave Brock manages to mix's various styles together in a unique way and make it work musically. He also reuses his own original touches from the 70's without these...
Published 16 months ago by Prof A. Richardson

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs multiple listens....
On first listening to this I thought - Dave doodling again.... but on 2nd and 3rd listens I realised it's got a lot more depth. The old Hawkwind track stands out, probably because it's easier to relate to, having heard the original for 40 or so years. But it's good - I like it now! Worth buying - even 71 yr olds can make good music!
Published 19 months ago by B. H. Brown


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Brock Solo Album, 26 Mar 2013
By 
This review is from: Looking For Love In The Lost Land Of Dreams (Audio CD)
This is a quality piece of work. There is nothing conventional about this album but artistically it is one of the cleverest and most original collections of tracks I have heard for a long time. In this work Dave Brock manages to mix's various styles together in a unique way and make it work musically. He also reuses his own original touches from the 70's without these contributions coming over as dated. Emotionally the album does exactly what a musician aims to deliver, induce an emotion associated with the music subliminally that is appropriate to the title / lyrics. On the surface the music is chaotic but listen to it more deeply. The more you play it the more clarity you will see underneath the surface.

In summary, this work confirms the massively underrated artistic ability of Hawkwinds main driver. An understanding of this album will give you the tools to listen to Hawkwind productions in a new way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent solo album from Hawkwind main man, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Looking For Love In The Lost Land Of Dreams (Audio CD)
This album totally exceeded my expectations. I found his other solo albums a bit weak but this is not so. It shows another side to Brock with a sensitive almost melancholic nature. Overall the album flows really well and it span round continuously in my car for many days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting!, 13 Dec 2012
This review is from: Looking For Love In The Lost Land Of Dreams (Audio CD)
So far I have only played this twice....and I really like this. There are some really beautiful soundscapes interlaced between some more classic brockesque style rhythms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs multiple listens...., 13 Dec 2012
By 
B. H. Brown "BHB" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Looking For Love In The Lost Land Of Dreams (Audio CD)
On first listening to this I thought - Dave doodling again.... but on 2nd and 3rd listens I realised it's got a lot more depth. The old Hawkwind track stands out, probably because it's easier to relate to, having heard the original for 40 or so years. But it's good - I like it now! Worth buying - even 71 yr olds can make good music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars new album, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Looking For Love In The Lost Land Of Dreams (Audio CD)
brilliant album one of Dave Brocks best ever any die hard Hawkwind fan should have this. a definite must buy :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Looking For Love In The Lost Land Of Dreams (Audio CD)
brilliant album,, as always from the captain. a must for all hawkwind fans, got a superb version of we took the wrong steps years ago,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Suprising and bordering on genius, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Looking For Love In The Lost Land Of Dreams (Audio CD)
I think Hawkwind are a great band but this solo album of Dave Brocks really suprised me in that it highlights a real skill of song writing and production. Sounds contemporary, fresh and exciting and certainly the best solo work album from the Captain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hawkwind looking for love in the lost land of dreams, 21 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Looking For Love In The Lost Land Of Dreams (Audio CD)
i think this is a very good album lots of varied tracks.

I think this aibum is probably one of his best solo albums .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Surprising!, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Looking For Love In The Lost Land Of Dreams (Audio CD)
This is a very varied and interesting album with many unexpected twists and turns, brim full of ideas that make you want to listen to it again. Some great stuff particularly on the second half of the album, I especially enjoyed Dreams, the version of Hawkwind's We Took The Wrong Step is excellent and I just hope people out there buy this as it deserves much wider recognition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars feed back, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Looking For Love In The Lost Land Of Dreams (Audio CD)
Well what can you say ,another great cd to listen to .He enjoyed playing it and had been looking to buy it for a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Looking For Love In The Lost Land Of Dreams
Looking For Love In The Lost Land Of Dreams by Dave Brock (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews