Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Hawkwind album for years
This is how I want Hawkwind to sound now - an overall heavier sound than previous 'propper' HW albums which I really like - lots of Dave singing and playing lead guitar. Great stuff.
Published 16 months ago by Stu1201

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Light and lacking
The problem with this album is that song ideas are really not very strong and certainly not on par with those on the Onward and Blood of the Earth. Perhaps not quite Hawkwind gives us a not quite up to the mark album. Stellar Perspective sums up the problem with Brock's spoken vocals and Chadwick's unmemorable singing. Musically it's a bit messy but has a nice ending when...
Published 13 months ago by Graham Hawker


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Hawkwind album for years, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stellar Variations (Audio CD)
This is how I want Hawkwind to sound now - an overall heavier sound than previous 'propper' HW albums which I really like - lots of Dave singing and playing lead guitar. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars much much better than i expected tbh!, 20 April 2013
By 
Mr. Peter Howe "peterhowe3" (eclectica,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stellar Variations (Audio CD)
compared to previous HW sideline albums,(hello white zone etc)this is a great release...real HW at work.maybe doesnt quite have the final shine of a full blown HW album,but theres some great tracks here.Highlights include "its all lies",as well as the first 3 tracks and the last track.im also fond of the reworking of Tim blakes "song for a new age",even though tim didnt play on this album.Its been a truly great few years,recently,for HW(and their fans) since their patchy and rather silent(studio-wise) period of 1996-2005.As their last albums title says "onward" indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hall of the mountain THRILL!!!!!, 6 April 2013
By 
PRUGRUCKER(70) (manchester england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stellar Variations (Audio CD)
Here we have another stunner!!!
As usual Hawkwind come up with another top psych album, Lot's of tunes for the older fan like me, but also a few tracks that hopefully will draw in the younger population.
Still waiting for the real deal though, my VINYL edition!!!!!!
Play, enjoy, until the next instalment.............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a mix of classic psychedelia and space rock, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stellar Variations (Audio CD)
At last the hawks have given us the a mix of their old style and new, the latest albums have been very synth based and tech compared to the old heavy space rock of years gone by tho to be honest i like 90 percent of their material and this is no exception. very very acid rock in places and could probably tip some poor sod over the edge and into orbit never to return.....especially cities of rust...excellent...love it.......whoever mixed this track knows psychedelia and those little sounds that set the mind racing into F.T.L. drive........only a few hawk members on this so dont expect tim or dibs on this...............bloody brilliant.onward flies the bird.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another masterpiece, 15 Feb 2014
This review is from: Stellar Variations (Audio CD)
Heavy, spacey, surreal, and some great lead vocals and vocal tunes. Once again Hawkwind prove how good they are at simply 'composing' great music. Their performance is never in question, but honestly, to be able to sit down and write such great stuff is the sign of genius in my opinion; and they just keep on doing it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Back on form, 30 Mar 2013
By 
S. FORGAN (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stellar Variations (Audio CD)
Judging by the reviews of Hawkwind stuff on amazon they seem to divide their fans severely. Well, I'll break the mould here by saying I like Hawkwind in all their shapes and sizes through the years! Now Hawkwind can blow hot and cold album wise, to be honest I think they can be too self indulgent and I thin that they'd really benefit from an outside producer to give an fresh opinion. Anyway...
I can honestly say that I rate this album very highly. It has elements from all Hawkwind eras and the sound quality is excellent what with all the typical Hawkwind synth swirls cranked up a bit more than normal. I think the injection of new members and 1 returnee has gave them fresh direction and overall sound, to my ears Hawkwind are once again on the up. I thought Blood of the Earth was ok but feel that the new line up was finding their feet, which they did in the follow up album Onward. Now Stellar Variations has appeared and while this is a stripped down Hawkwind I think they have produced an album that will be a powerhouse live.
So to all those HW fans that are stuck in the past, yeah they produced some excellent albums, but its time to move on and embrace the new Hawkwind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i love it, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stellar Variations (Audio CD)
at first i thought hmmmm bit different,but i was reading on the net, so was distracted 2nd play was with the lights out and just laid on my bed listening and i thought wow this is good, took me on a journey.
another must by for Hawkwind fans :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Light and lacking, 20 Aug 2013
This review is from: Stellar Variations (Audio CD)
The problem with this album is that song ideas are really not very strong and certainly not on par with those on the Onward and Blood of the Earth. Perhaps not quite Hawkwind gives us a not quite up to the mark album. Stellar Perspective sums up the problem with Brock's spoken vocals and Chadwick's unmemorable singing. Musically it's a bit messy but has a nice ending when the mix gets a bit of space. It's fairly unremarkable though. And the songs continue in this way with some more interesting musical passages. It's All Lies seems to be want to be the Right to Decide for this album but it's not quite up to that. After a few listens I do like it more. Variation 3 stands out as a decent filler instrumental. Footsteps of the Great One rehashes lyrics from The Black Sword. These are spoken and we've reached a real nadir on the album though the music is not without merit.

Things look up with Song for a New Age but then it's always been a decent song. We Serve Mankind is the other highlight. It may only be a two line song excluding the spoken bit)but it is memorable and with strong music this is great stuff. Cities of Rust is OK and then we're back to forgettable songs with Instant Predictions.

If I wasn't such a fan I'd probably only give it two stars but I'm still biased so, based on two excellent tracks and couple of reasonable instrumentals and some interesting musical sections, it's three stars from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hawkwind still first in space, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stellar Variations (Audio CD)
The last three Hawkwind albums have all been amongst Hawkwind's best for many years, Brock's writing seems to be on top form, and musically both the band on Onward and Blood of the Earth were very tight. the band here is mostly Brock's Devon chums hence the name Hawkwind light orchestra if you like me are a Hawkfan you will enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HAWKWIND STELLAR VARIATIONS, 21 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stellar Variations (Audio CD)
I THINK THIS IS A VERY GOOD ALBUM, SOME VERY GOOD TRACKS .

I think this album is a little different from Hawkwinds normal stuff, but still very good .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stellar Variations
Stellar Variations by Hawkwind Light Orchestra (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews