Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More like this!
We follow a day in the life of Monsieur Oscar being driven around Paris in a white stretch limo by Céline (his driver and secretary), who ferries him around from one 'appointment' to another. To get full enjoyment from this film stop there and watch it. Anything else you read may spoil or confuse and may not be entirely accurate.

For those intrigued to...
Published on 16 Oct. 2012 by S. Park

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fascinatingly Freaky!
As I suspected, this is a film that ordinary mere-mortals don't like and don't get, therefore because of that, they label the film as "bad" or "valueless". They then criticise others who criticise them, but don't like it when the tables are turned back.

HOLY MOTORS is not your ordinary film. In fact, if you haven't seen any of Leos Carax's previous works, it...
Published 23 months ago by PoochJD


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More like this!, 16 Oct. 2012
By 
S. Park - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Holy Motors [DVD] (DVD)
We follow a day in the life of Monsieur Oscar being driven around Paris in a white stretch limo by Céline (his driver and secretary), who ferries him around from one 'appointment' to another. To get full enjoyment from this film stop there and watch it. Anything else you read may spoil or confuse and may not be entirely accurate.

For those intrigued to know more... Each one of Oscar's appointments could be played as its own short film. We realise that the limo is full of masks, make-up and costumes for Oscar to change his appearance to fulfil his role at each appointment. Throughout the film he changes his character about ten times to be different people, these include an old beggar woman, a powerful business man, a dying millionaire, a murderer, a kidnapper, a CGI snake, an angry uncle and husband to a chimp family. The film doesn't explain what or why each of these appointments are carried out although the audience is given a few hints to form their own conclusions. However 'why' is really not the point here, accepting that he just does makes the experience much more enjoyable. It's simply amazing to watch our character step into a completely different role and make it convincing. The argument he has with his young niece (if it's actually his young niece) is sheer brilliance, but somewhat disturbing at the same time. The character is convincing but it's not clear what is real and what isn't. This is all down to Denis Lavant as our main character and Leos Carax for some superb direction. In addition we are treated to some short but touching set pieces by Eva Mendes and Kylie.

This is essentially an art-house film, but unlike unlike other such films this is full of comedy, some subtle and some proper laugh-out-loud moments. Meaning it never takes itself too seriously and never talks down to the audience. The audience is definitely a needed extension to this film, especially if you allow yourself to be drawn in and experience the journey.

This is certainly very Lynchian and recommended for any fans of his work. After leaving the cinema I was still very caught-up in the world that Carax had created. I had the same feeling after watching Inland Empire and to a certain extent Cosmopolis.

I tend to be a harsh critic, but I really can't think of anything I didn't like. Kylie dropped in a song which could have been cringe-worthy, but actually worked well. Even the talking limos were there as comedy value rather than to annoy. As for plot holes, not only would it be impossible to find one, but also rather pointless as this film goes beyond that conventional way of thinking.

This is art done well; more please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An instant cult classic, 6 Mar. 2013
By 
This review is from: Holy Motors [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Holy Motors is definitely one of the strangest, original and best films to come out of France last year. It's an instant cult classic that certainly won't be to everyone's taste as not everyone will appreciate it for the work of art it is.
French actor Denis Lavant excels as a mysterious actor who travels around Paris in a Limo, stopping off along the way to play an array of different characters from an old woman begging, a crazy tramp, an assassin to an old man on his death bed.
For some people the film won't make a great deal of sense as it doesn't have a clear point. To me it is one of those wonderfully strange, off the wall oddysseys about life that will require numerous viewings as it has so much to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leos Carax returns with a gem., 1 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Motors [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Holy motors reviews the relationship between Carax and the superb Denis Lavant. It starts with Carax in a dream sequence and continues throughout the film. Carax puts Lavant through many vignettes. He touches on his wifes suicide. He revisits the character "Merde" first seen in Tokyo. One of Lavants characters is seen twice. Once as the father of a teeneage girl. Then towards the end of the film his "family" become chimpanzees. A stunning film visually and thought provoking on many levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Gear....., 25 Mar. 2013
By 
Phil C (Nuneaton, Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Motors [DVD] (DVD)
As long as you don't mind subtitles and do like wildly offbeat films this could be the film for you! It follows the bizarre "appointments" of a businessman (?) as he's chauffered around Paris - part pop surrealism and part existentialist roadtrip, it encourages it's viewer to read their own meanings into it whilst utterly baffling them in the process!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly original, 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Motors [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Have never seen any other film by this director or any other film like this one. Without trying to oversimplify it, this is essentially a series of vignettes that seem somewhat unrelated, linked only by the protagonist donning a variety of different personas. Its funny, tragic, poetic, whimsical, gorgeous looking and inherently crazy without being desperate and kooky for the sake of kookiness.

A must see if you are a fan of french cinema, avant-garde cinema and originality in any form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A film that made history in movies., 5 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Motors [DVD] (DVD)
I am a big admirer of Leos Carax as a director and of Denis Lavant as an actor, since "Les amant du pont neuf".
This is a surprising masterpiece with Denis Lavant better than ever and an brillant Edith Scob. It's a movie about movies and in the end about we leaving things behind with the evolution of technologie.In the end It's "the beauty of the gesture".
This film is not an easy ou linear film, sometimes it doesn't make sense at all.
It's a special film for special cinema lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional and visionary, 19 April 2013
By 
This review is from: Holy Motors [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A film that is as moving as it is strange, managing to be both emotional and visionary.

Best of all, it make you re-discover your love for cinema and its possibilities.

I watched it a week ago and it has not left my mind since. It is a masterpiece that once seen, you want to share with everyone you know.

I really can't recommend this film highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fascinatingly Freaky!, 26 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Holy Motors [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
As I suspected, this is a film that ordinary mere-mortals don't like and don't get, therefore because of that, they label the film as "bad" or "valueless". They then criticise others who criticise them, but don't like it when the tables are turned back.

HOLY MOTORS is not your ordinary film. In fact, if you haven't seen any of Leos Carax's previous works, it would serve you best to seek them out before diving-in with this one. Carax is not your usual director. He is an avant-garde film-maker who doesn't do conventionality. And I personally feel that too many of the film's critics want conventionality. It's as if any film that isn't conventional, has to be lambasted against, for daring to be different.

The film is essentially about one businessman, who's job seems to be to take on different roles, and to try and make something of his own, or his client's lives, in one manner or another. The film is not your normal kind of cinematic experience, and if you are seeking a movie in which A, B, then C happens, and the ending is all neatly-wrapped-up in a cinematic bow, so you can leave feeling all warm and safe inside, then this is NOT for you.

An experimental work, that too many people are failing to take for what it is, rather than forcing their own narrow views of what this film should be. It's a disjointed, complex, non-linear piece of moving cinematic art, from which the viewer is required to engage their brains, and think for a bit. The first half-hour is a steady - relatively "normal" - drama, but once you reach the "Beauty And The Beast" scene, you may find that the film "clicks" for you, just as it did for me, on a much higher and more cerebral level than you first imagined. The audaciousness for Carax (and Denis Lavant - in one of the most complex and controversial roles ever undertaken by any actor) is what makes this work for me in the most magical way. Suddenly, we have Lavant dancing as a bedraggled, leprechaun/homeless man/nymph going through a Parisian graveyard, stealing flowers, eating them, before arriving upon Beauty herself - Eva Mendes. It's only then, after a shock moment, that we realise the point of the film: that there is no point. This film is art. It's purpose is not to be anything more than what it is, but it is for you the viewer to dictate what it should be.

It's bold, it's shocking, and it's occasionally self-indulgent, but then so is Lavant's character. His world is made-up solely of inhabiting the worlds of others. He is to them, the glue that binds things together, whilst simultaneously his own world (personal and business) collapses ever further, as family and friends desert him.

One of the other highlights for me, was the "Interlude" sequence. It served no point nor purpose, but it was damn entertaining, and somehow made the film even more special. Like I say, this film is not for everyone. In fact, it's more for people who are comfortable with films that are non-linear, avant-garde, strange, introspective, freakish, outlandish, archaic or just downright weird. If you enjoy films like SANTA SANGRE, EL TOPO, TRASH HUMPERS, THE CREMASTER SERIES and don't mind sitting back for two hours and just revelling in whatever delights the director serves up, then you should enjoy this film.

Just don't look for any literal meaning. This is the very definition of "art" film. Study it, think about it, discuss it. Just try not to understand it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wierd!, 27 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Motors [DVD] (DVD)
Somewhat entertaining but very much in the pretentious bollocks mode. An interesting and thoughtful concept only part delivered, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Carax the Existential Mechanic, 26 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Holy Motors [DVD] (DVD)
Leos Carax's first feature in over a decade is the sort of film that defies star ratings because it only gives what the viewer is willing to take. Personally, I found it to be a intriguing, moving, serious exploration of the roles we adopt throughout life, and how those roles can prevent us from locating our true identity. But I can see why some might find it frustrating or even impenetrable. I feel the film is flawed in its final moments, when Oscar returns to his "last job" - what might have been poignant is, in my view, cheaply undermined - followed by a climactic Big Train-esque gag too far.

The ageless Denis Lavant should be up for an Oscar as Oscar, the chameleonic actor whose myriad roles see him infiltrate the real world, or possibly prearranged compartments of the real world, inciting mayhem or emotion as required. At times his antics resemble Lars Von Trier's The Idiots via David Lynch; other times, wandering and wounded, the characters look like they've stepped off an Michelangelo Antonioni set. There is nothing "random" about these scenes; each raises pertinent questions about the role of art and its relationship with the functioning world. How far should an actor go before he becomes his role? If there is no one around to see it performed, is it still art? And should we, as an audience, feel any guilt for enjoying the intimacy of a woman weeping at her dying uncle's bedside?

With its hub inside the enclosed space of a limousine, the film has an aesthetic link with David Cronenberg's recent Cosmopolis. But Carax's film is all about emerging from our internal world and performing in the external; our influence or lack of influence on the world around us. Cronenberg, by comparison, remains on the inside until the end, his characters monologuing fruitlessly without ever really communicating. Both films are despairing and passionate in their own way, and both are films of our time: a time when the methods of human interaction are so vast, yet without apparently moving us any closer to unravelling the mysteries of the subjective experience.

For fans of avant-garde cinema, Holy Motors is essential viewing. For everyone else, it's not so strange as to be alienating, so should be considered a thought-provoking curiosity worth seeking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Holy Motors [Blu-ray]
Holy Motors [Blu-ray] by Leos Carax (Blu-ray - 2013)
£9.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews