Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More like this!
We follow a day in the life of Monsieur Oscar being driven around Paris in a white stretch limo by Céline (his driver and secretary), who ferries him around from one 'appointment' to another. To get full enjoyment from this film stop there and watch it. Anything else you read may spoil or confuse and may not be entirely accurate.

For those intrigued to...
Published 22 months ago by S. Park

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost like a David Cronenberg movie
Its got a Cronenberg feel to it but unfortunately the French just have to give it that boring old existentialist bottom line as usual, even if the movie is so futuristic.
Published 8 months ago by Karl Consiglio


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More like this!, 16 Oct 2012
By 
S. Park - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Holy Motors [DVD] (DVD)
We follow a day in the life of Monsieur Oscar being driven around Paris in a white stretch limo by Céline (his driver and secretary), who ferries him around from one 'appointment' to another. To get full enjoyment from this film stop there and watch it. Anything else you read may spoil or confuse and may not be entirely accurate.

For those intrigued to know more... Each one of Oscar's appointments could be played as its own short film. We realise that the limo is full of masks, make-up and costumes for Oscar to change his appearance to fulfil his role at each appointment. Throughout the film he changes his character about ten times to be different people, these include an old beggar woman, a powerful business man, a dying millionaire, a murderer, a kidnapper, a CGI snake, an angry uncle and husband to a chimp family. The film doesn't explain what or why each of these appointments are carried out although the audience is given a few hints to form their own conclusions. However 'why' is really not the point here, accepting that he just does makes the experience much more enjoyable. It's simply amazing to watch our character step into a completely different role and make it convincing. The argument he has with his young niece (if it's actually his young niece) is sheer brilliance, but somewhat disturbing at the same time. The character is convincing but it's not clear what is real and what isn't. This is all down to Denis Lavant as our main character and Leos Carax for some superb direction. In addition we are treated to some short but touching set pieces by Eva Mendes and Kylie.

This is essentially an art-house film, but unlike unlike other such films this is full of comedy, some subtle and some proper laugh-out-loud moments. Meaning it never takes itself too seriously and never talks down to the audience. The audience is definitely a needed extension to this film, especially if you allow yourself to be drawn in and experience the journey.

This is certainly very Lynchian and recommended for any fans of his work. After leaving the cinema I was still very caught-up in the world that Carax had created. I had the same feeling after watching Inland Empire and to a certain extent Cosmopolis.

I tend to be a harsh critic, but I really can't think of anything I didn't like. Kylie dropped in a song which could have been cringe-worthy, but actually worked well. Even the talking limos were there as comedy value rather than to annoy. As for plot holes, not only would it be impossible to find one, but also rather pointless as this film goes beyond that conventional way of thinking.

This is art done well; more please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An instant cult classic, 6 Mar 2013
By 
This review is from: Holy Motors [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Holy Motors is definitely one of the strangest, original and best films to come out of France last year. It's an instant cult classic that certainly won't be to everyone's taste as not everyone will appreciate it for the work of art it is.
French actor Denis Lavant excels as a mysterious actor who travels around Paris in a Limo, stopping off along the way to play an array of different characters from an old woman begging, a crazy tramp, an assassin to an old man on his death bed.
For some people the film won't make a great deal of sense as it doesn't have a clear point. To me it is one of those wonderfully strange, off the wall oddysseys about life that will require numerous viewings as it has so much to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leos Carax returns with a gem., 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Motors [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Holy motors reviews the relationship between Carax and the superb Denis Lavant. It starts with Carax in a dream sequence and continues throughout the film. Carax puts Lavant through many vignettes. He touches on his wifes suicide. He revisits the character "Merde" first seen in Tokyo. One of Lavants characters is seen twice. Once as the father of a teeneage girl. Then towards the end of the film his "family" become chimpanzees. A stunning film visually and thought provoking on many levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Gear....., 25 Mar 2013
By 
Phil C (Nuneaton, Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Motors [DVD] (DVD)
As long as you don't mind subtitles and do like wildly offbeat films this could be the film for you! It follows the bizarre "appointments" of a businessman (?) as he's chauffered around Paris - part pop surrealism and part existentialist roadtrip, it encourages it's viewer to read their own meanings into it whilst utterly baffling them in the process!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly original, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Motors [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Have never seen any other film by this director or any other film like this one. Without trying to oversimplify it, this is essentially a series of vignettes that seem somewhat unrelated, linked only by the protagonist donning a variety of different personas. Its funny, tragic, poetic, whimsical, gorgeous looking and inherently crazy without being desperate and kooky for the sake of kookiness.

A must see if you are a fan of french cinema, avant-garde cinema and originality in any form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost like a David Cronenberg movie, 19 Dec 2013
By 
Karl Consiglio "Carlito" (Malta) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Motors [DVD] (DVD)
Its got a Cronenberg feel to it but unfortunately the French just have to give it that boring old existentialist bottom line as usual, even if the movie is so futuristic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A film that made history in movies., 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Motors [DVD] (DVD)
I am a big admirer of Leos Carax as a director and of Denis Lavant as an actor, since "Les amant du pont neuf".
This is a surprising masterpiece with Denis Lavant better than ever and an brillant Edith Scob. It's a movie about movies and in the end about we leaving things behind with the evolution of technologie.In the end It's "the beauty of the gesture".
This film is not an easy ou linear film, sometimes it doesn't make sense at all.
It's a special film for special cinema lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional and visionary, 19 April 2013
By 
This review is from: Holy Motors [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A film that is as moving as it is strange, managing to be both emotional and visionary.

Best of all, it make you re-discover your love for cinema and its possibilities.

I watched it a week ago and it has not left my mind since. It is a masterpiece that once seen, you want to share with everyone you know.

I really can't recommend this film highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Motors [DVD] (DVD)
Is what it says on the tin
arrived quickly and appropriately packaged.
Was a gift on someone's gift list
they saw the film at the cinema and wanted a copy on DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Very hard work, 21 Aug 2014
This review is from: Holy Motors (DVD)
I am clearly just not intelligent enough to understand this movie. I am sure that those with a pretentious inclination will find it fascinating and enjoyable but if like me you need traditional film structure or a story, you will find it boring. Clever, disturbing,maybe funny but very hard work and lacking. This is an art house movie for the minority.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Holy Motors [DVD]
Holy Motors [DVD] by Leos Carax (DVD - 2013)
£7.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews