Customer Reviews


202 Reviews
5 star:
 (151)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A CLASSIC IN THE MAKING,BEST SOLO ALBUM YET !
Mark Knopfler is one of the finest and most consistent artists Britain has ever produced, from the early Dire Straits albums, listen again to those releases they bare still as great today as when they first appeared. Then The Notting Hillbillies, sadly only one album but still superb, onto the solo years.This is the latest in the solo years, a double album and twenty...
Published on 19 Sep 2012 by pete clack

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WHY, WHY, WHY???
WHY?

First let me just put forward I'm a huge Mark Knopfler fan but from all the raving reviews I've read here, I'm now confident there's a whole bunch of mindless fans who will grab everything Mark puts out and declare it's brilliant just because it's Mark Knopfler.

Well I guess it had to happen eventually and it has. Mark has released his first...
Published 1 month ago by Sean Curtin


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A CLASSIC IN THE MAKING,BEST SOLO ALBUM YET !, 19 Sep 2012
By 
pete clack - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Privateering (Audio CD)
Mark Knopfler is one of the finest and most consistent artists Britain has ever produced, from the early Dire Straits albums, listen again to those releases they bare still as great today as when they first appeared. Then The Notting Hillbillies, sadly only one album but still superb, onto the solo years.This is the latest in the solo years, a double album and twenty tracks including folk,blues,rock,and a tinge of country.The title track is as good a piece of MK writing as you'll ever get.The playing throughout is as one would expect superb, the addition of Kin Wilson on harmonica is a masterstroke by one of the best bluesmen on the scene. Having just taken this album away with me and listened to much of it several times now,for me it gets better all the time. There are songs that are immediately enjoyable,others that the melodies and others that take a few plays to realize the full quality of them.Naming songs when they are all new, and where all of them are so good would be a shame.Do please listen to one of 2012's best albums by an absolute master of his craft at the peak of his form, An album of truly lasting pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Privateering on Vinyl: Two Glorious Slabs of Analogue Heaven, 1 Oct 2012
By 
P. Kelly (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Privateering [VINYL] (Vinyl)
It is very refreshing to find that even in today's digital world major artists are still releasing their work on the vinyl format. This latest offering from Mark Knopfler comes as a double ca 200g vinyl edition with a very solid heavy-weight cover to support the vinyl. The inner sleeves are thick cardboard which I changed for antistatic, plastic lined paper to minimise accidental damage to the vinyl records.

Both records are near perfectly flat and background noise on my pressings is very low. The sound quality is brilliant. As with previous MK albums you get a very wide range of musical styles ranging from local tradition ballads to more rocking style from his past Dire Straits days. No matter what the style you cannot help but wonder at the excellent quality of analogue sound coming from the speakers. The voice is clear, balanced and every note audible. Guitars (electric & acoustic) sharp, intense and well spaced across the sound-stage. Drums/bass, clean and intense driving the music along. The quiet and loud parts of the record are very well defined and there appears not to be any significant detectable compression in the sonic quality. The high frequency notes throughout the album really test the speaker tweeters.

In conclusion, two glorious slabs of vinyl heaven. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At his best, 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Privateering (Audio CD)
There is now a timeless, familiar feel to all his work, a continuity of sound and enjoyment over the years. One is never short-changed; a seasoning of rhythmic, percussive pepper and salt brings this album alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Master at Work, 6 Nov 2012
This review is from: Privateering (Audio CD)
This really is a great example of a musician at the peak of their powers.

Mark Knopfler, like a good whiskey, matures beautifully with age.

I was never a massive Dire Straits fan (though I did like them), and Marks music now is just so much more together and inspiring. I think the step away from Stadium mega-stardom has allowed him to flourish.

For me, the folksier numbers are better than the bluesy ones, but that's just personal preference. All the songs are excellent in truth, and the guitar work, whilst very understated is exceptional as always.

Tough to pick a favourite track, but you'd have to go a long way to hear a better tune than the title track. Exceptional
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knopfler, the Master, does it yet again... twenty times over!, 6 Sep 2012
By 
Andrew Sutherland "Sutho" (Surrey outposts) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Privateering (Audio CD)
Quite a few reviewers here and elsewhere sounding pleasantly surprised to discover the unassuming Dylanesque low-key country/blues 'sound' on this, Knopfler's 7th solo record proper (excluding his many soundtracks)... but that's been the case for pretty much everything he's done post-Dire Straits, and definitely all the records since The Ragpicker's Dream have been roughly in this mould, that is, a mix of trad. British/Celtic folk and Americana, country roots, soft ballads and swinging blues. Ok, there's fewer folkie numbers in 3/4 time here than previously, and the leaning on blues structures is a fair bit heavier here... but the same Celtic stylings on this LP (e.g. on the melancholic 'Haul Away' and 'Kingdom of Gold') have been unmistakable since his debut, Golden Heart, and particularly on his last album Get Lucky. As for the Americana... well, Shari-La (my favourite of his albums) was a very easygoing, rootsy American sounding record (in the best possible sense). Anyway, the important thing is that there's been a near-total non-appearance of extended soloing and Dire Straits-style showtunes ever since he wound that band up (maybe even before if you think about On Every Street's lower-key songs) and for that reason Privateering should be considered a logical continuation for Knopfler; bluesier than before but really still just the latest in a mounting body of low-key gems from one the few truly masterly songwriters currently active, still unfairly critiqued ... but mostly by people who've not heard anything he's done except Brothers In Arms. Half a dozen listens in and Privateering already looks set to be my record of the year (depending on Dylan's latest next week). Better still, it's a double! They normally contain as much chaff as wheat but that's not the case here - clearly he's on a really prolific run and just had too many good songs for one album. Typing this listening to one example, 'Yon Two Crows', the kind of thoughtful story-song he does so well ("The dog lifts his gaze to plead/Believes the wizard has a magic stick/Leans his weight into my tweed/I give an unholy hand to lick"). Absolutely beautiful. Or how about that signature guitar line running through the middle of album opener 'Redbud Tree': sinewy, lilting and effortless strat. Unmistakably Knopfler. And that's just two of twenty songs - I could (but won't) go on. Any could be singled out for special praise. What with the whole being more than the sum of its parts... that makes for quite an album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WHY, WHY, WHY???, 9 Sep 2014
By 
Sean Curtin (Warners Bay, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Privateering (Audio CD)
WHY?

First let me just put forward I'm a huge Mark Knopfler fan but from all the raving reviews I've read here, I'm now confident there's a whole bunch of mindless fans who will grab everything Mark puts out and declare it's brilliant just because it's Mark Knopfler.

Well I guess it had to happen eventually and it has. Mark has released his first CRAP album.

I've collected all the soundtrack releases, all the Dire Straights releases, all the solo work up to this point. Now I'll be ensuring I have heard the album before I purchase it, because this album was beyond disappointing.

In short: IT'S BORING!!!

There's just no excitement here and as for the whole blues thing, it's just not the Mark I know and love.

For a better solo album, listen to 'Sailing To Philadelphia', 'The Rag Pickers Dream', 'Shangri-La' or even 'Get Lucky(not his best album but a good album never the less)' but what ever you do, run away from this trash. It's lazy slap dash thrown together rubbish and breaks absolutely no new ground nor does anything to enrich Mark's other wise excellent back catalogue of masterpieces and classics. I'm surprised the band hasn't fallen asleep on this one.

Utterly shocked and amazed Mark even released this, what a boring album.

Here's hoping he undertakes some lessons with effects units with his son, to perhaps spice up his music again.

Now a cautious fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific, 1 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Privateering (Audio CD)
Mark Knopfler simply at his best. He is getting better with age, another brilliant twin CD album. A must have...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MK AT HIS BESY, 22 Nov 2012
This review is from: Privateering (Audio CD)
I am really enjoying listening to this, Mark at his best. So many good tracks I think I'll be listening to it for years to come. The title track Privateering is brilliant, also especially like Haul Away, Yon two Crows, Dream of the Drowned Submariner, Radio City Serenade but to be honest the list goes on and on. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yo Ho Ho!, 21 Sep 2012
By 
D. Robertson "Robbo" (Tyneside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Privateering (Audio CD)
There are a few songs that are not worthy of making it onto a single album here, but its a double anyway! I have to say after a few listens I am totally in awe of the title track "Privateering" it is a marvelous piece of work by a great guitarist and superb songwriter that creates fabulous images with his lyrics. There's a few nods to old blues standards but even the Beatles and The Stones (and Zeppelin! and every other rock/pop outfit of any worth for that matter!) plundered the history of music regularly in their time. A couple of dodgy "b" tunes sounding right out of his Dire Straits cutting room floor notebook but its still great to hear Mark coming up with music most of his peers can't get near (at the moment). "Miss you Blues" and "Go, Love" are fab. Recommended even if you are not already a fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Privateering: Mark Knopfler - A Kingdom of gold standard music, 7 Sep 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Privateering (Audio CD)
It's been a long wait for Knopfler's latest album, his seventh solo release, and it has been worth it. It's another sublime piece of understated music that somehow manages to synthesise all the previous influences on his music into one perfect whole. There is a preponderance towards blues on this album, but wry rockers such as `Corned Beef City' remind one strongly of the Dire Straits days (indeed, I have this image in my mind that before recording 'Corned Beef City' Knopfler went to the special box at the rear of the studio, took out the famous headband and placed it on his head with some ceremony before stepping up to the mike), `Haul Away' and others utilise the celtic moods he has been enamoured of for so many years, there are country influences and folk trimmings all through. But it is the blues sound that is at the heart of this album, with Knopfler taking inspiration from a variety of blues styles to deliver a heartfelt album of tracks. There are nods to some of the blues greats, with tracks that in tone and style pay homage to Robert Johnson, Albert Collins, Muddy Waters and John Lee Hooker among others. Knopfler has written a strong set of songs that deal with love, regret for days gone by and other blues staples. Usually with a broad dash of his wry humour and a keen eye for the everyday detail.

As usual, even in the faster rockier pieces, Knopfler's playing and singing is elegant, with some beautifully intoned guitar solos. There is a decent production on the album, which underscores and supports Knopfler's work. It's a really classy record from one of Britain's finest. Personally I am a huge blues fan, and much as I have enjoyed his recent releases such as Get lucky and Ragpicker's Dream, this is the record that I have enjoyed most on the first couple of listens. At 20 tracks there was always a danger that there was going to be a whole load of filler, but they are all pretty darned good, and it is two CDs rammed full of music that I just love.

As usual with anything from Knopfler, there is a booklet with all the lyrics and full production credits. As there are 20 tracks this is quite a long booklet! I love the art work on the front and inset, which seems to sum up the decay that our society seems to be going through. The booklet has lots of arty pictures of guitars in the background of every page.

It's an excellent album, 5 stars. And more soon please?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Privateering
Privateering by Mark Knopfler (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews