Customer Reviews


200 Reviews
5 star:
 (147)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 88 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The X-Files (New Packaging - 2012) - 'The Truth Is Out There', but this isn't it - Buyer beware...
The X-Files truly is an amazing show - within the first 7 seasons there is only one bad episode and that is in Season 2 and it's called '3'... I won't explain why, but if you watch it, be warned. I've yet to watch 8 and 9 - but this review isn't about the show it's about the DVD.

I originally bought the Complete Collector's Edition of The X-Files which is...
Published 22 months ago by Michael S. Yelland

versus
55 of 61 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cult series in cheap packaging!!! Avoid it!
Customer Video Review     Length:: 3:10 Mins
Recently bought X Files box, unfortunately by mistake ordered new packaging from 2012. Couldn't be bothered to return it, having some problems with delivery (not from Amazon, I'm always happy with your service :).
Knowing that there's only 55 discs (not 61 as in previous release) I was certain that there will be no extras. I was not...
Published 22 months ago by Kriss


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars X-files has aged well, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed the first few years of the show when they did ... well... x-files type stuff, but it kinda lost me when they started focusing in on his sister and the alien thing a bit too much ... Actually the same thing happened to me when it was on TV but still worth a watch if only for the earlier episodes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars yeah!, 12 Nov 2010
By 
Ms. Jade Lowery (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Brilliant tv show so glad that i decided to purchase this boxset, fast delivery all the seasons and plus the movie this completes my x files collection perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great set, 18 Sep 2010
By 
Great box set including every episode, tons of special features and the first Theatrical Movie. Beautifully presented and packaged. The series itself: It was an amazing show for it's time and for me, in many ways, it felt like the spiritual successor to Twin Peaks in that it was really well scripted, funny, scary and unafraid to have the odd wacky or downright silly episode. By the time I got to season 5 it was starting to feel like somewhat of a struggle to get through the episodes, although most of them are above average there are some episodes that are plain awful. The show does seem to lose itself for a while during the middle seasons but it does pick up it's pace again and get more interesting after a while. The theatrical movie is plain awful, it allegedly bridges a gap between two of the seasons but to me it's just a completely nonsensical waste of time, I still don't know what the hell was going on with the bee keepers and the running around in circles in cornfields, it also doesn't have a discernible beginning, middle and end, the structure is way off as are some of the perfomances and script choices.

Overall this box-set is essential to anyone who was a fan of this show when it aired on TV, many of the episodes are still amazing in terms of special effects and story-telling, the dialogue between Mulder and Scully is always incredibly well-written and both actors gave 100% to their roles. Buy it ASAP if you're a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best EVER!!!, 4 Jun 2010
Put very simply, This is the GREATEST TV SHOW EVER MADE! Lost is fantasic, 24 is amazing, buffy the vampire slayer was incredible, but this truly was on another leval.
This show truly gripped the world and never let go.

No other tv show will create such and following again.

THE X FILES ROCKS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for all X-Philes, 9 April 2009
By 
As the title says, this is a must-have for all X-Philes. You get every single episode, the original X-Files film, commentaries and documentaries, and a very nice booklet detailing the contents and containing a complete episode guide.

I only experienced minor technical problems, one being that one episode, "Soft Light", skipped the opening and jumped directly to the intro when pressing play, but you could simply jump back a scene to watch it. A few times I experienced a bit of lag, one of the times apparently because of a scratch in the disc, but in all cases it worked fine when I tried playing the disc on my laptop, including the disc with the scratch.

All in all a very thorough and comprehensive box set with only very minor problems that can be solved easily. It cannot be stressed enough: This is a definite must-have for fans of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I want to believe..., 21 Mar 2009
By 
True Blue (Kidderminster, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The whole X-files in one box! 61 DVDs , hundreds of episodes and the film. As a self confessed X-files fan I was always going to be happy with this set, but it enables me to go though the whole X-files story, series by series, in chronological order. All those episodes I missed are here, and I no longer have to scour the satellite channels for re-runs.
For those not familiar the X-files is a series based on 2 FBI agents investigating mysterious cases from the so called X-files. They centre mainly on UFO/alien abduction /conspiracy stories but cover other paranormal, mythical creature and abnormal powers too.
Some episodes are quite spooky or scary for young children.
I loved this series, and wish that all the government held knowledge on some of the real mysteries that are touched on in the series could be opened to the public.
I want to believe...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 Mar 2009
The box set is brilliant. I was afraid that the dynamic duo would look young and comical so long after, but the story line is good and the sound and picture is great, so it is a treat to watch. If you were a fan when the series first aired, you will not be disappointed in this box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant entertainment, 15 Feb 2009
Brilliant Box Set and worth every penny.
I have just finished watching it all and I am so sad it's over!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it!, 13 Feb 2009
By 
This was so worth every penny! The great thing about it is that it includes every saeson plus the film but in a studry box. All the DVDs are well protected and it looks fantastic on the shelf with the Mulder and Scully photo on the back looking out into the room!
This is a must for any true X-Philes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic buy!, 4 Feb 2009
By 
L. Christensen (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The X-Files - The complete collector's edition is worth every penny. Hours and hours of good entertainment, and the way the DVD's are boxed is really nice. You get a big booklet with summary's and pictures, and the first x-files movie made.

I recommend this box set to anyone with an interest in sci-fi and the supernatural.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The X Files - Complete Season 1-9 (New Packaging) [DVD]
57.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews