Customer Reviews


222 Reviews
5 star:
 (168)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


101 of 107 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The X-Files (New Packaging - 2012) - 'The Truth Is Out There', but this isn't it - Buyer beware...
The X-Files truly is an amazing show - within the first 7 seasons there is only one bad episode and that is in Season 2 and it's called '3'... I won't explain why, but if you watch it, be warned. I've yet to watch 8 and 9 - but this review isn't about the show it's about the DVD.

I originally bought the Complete Collector's Edition of The X-Files which is...
Published on 3 Nov 2012 by Michael S. Yelland

versus
55 of 61 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cult series in cheap packaging!!! Avoid it!
Customer Video Review     Length:: 3:10 Mins
Recently bought X Files box, unfortunately by mistake ordered new packaging from 2012. Couldn't be bothered to return it, having some problems with delivery (not from Amazon, I'm always happy with your service :).
Knowing that there's only 55 discs (not 61 as in previous release) I was certain that there will be no extras. I was not...
Published on 7 Nov 2012 by Kriss


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

101 of 107 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The X-Files (New Packaging - 2012) - 'The Truth Is Out There', but this isn't it - Buyer beware..., 3 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The X Files - Complete Season 1-9 (New Packaging) [DVD] (DVD)
The X-Files truly is an amazing show - within the first 7 seasons there is only one bad episode and that is in Season 2 and it's called '3'... I won't explain why, but if you watch it, be warned. I've yet to watch 8 and 9 - but this review isn't about the show it's about the DVD.

I originally bought the Complete Collector's Edition of The X-Files which is essentially what this is, except THIS DOESN'T have some of the extra discs the original DVD sets had or the Collector's box, for that matter. The Collector's box also has an extremely nice episode guide telling you each episode. I originally bought this for more storage space but... well just read on...

The DVD box is almost identical to the packaging of the complete 24 box set that was repackaged in 2008 (24 - Complete Season 1-8 + Redemption (New Packaging) [DVD]).

So what you get is 2 huge Amaray DVD boxes (4 single DVD cases, all next to each other's, width) contain 4 seasons each (1-4, 4-8) and then you have a smaller DVD box about half the size of the huge boxes (2 DVD width) and within there contains Season 9 and the 2 feature films. The outer box is small, yes - and looks lovely, and the bulky plastic box design is quite nice yes - but the fact there's NO extra discs on Seasons 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8 and 9 - it really is kind of a 'rip-off'... But then again on the front of the box it does say 55 discs (which is what confused me) as my original box has 61. I was shocked to discover it was the basic show and films with 2 extra discs... And the only reason they're included is because they have the last episodes of Season 2 & 6. It's a shame these 6 extra discs - featuring tons of documentaries and deleted scenes, out-takes, and other material - weren't included.

So, overall - the packaging is nice, but with the exclusion of the 6 discs and collector's episode guide - it feels incomplete. At least all the shows are in tact and how they should be.

Also, if you don't care for your extras - then buy this as it is great value for your money, and worth price just for the 9 seasons and 2 films as well.

P.S. In case my review makes about as much sense as the existence of aliens (bad joke...) - I have uploaded 24/25 pictures of the set itself so that you, the buyer, don't end up making the mistake that I made and thinking it was the same as the previous 61 disc set, when it's not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW! This is the bees knees!, 31 Oct 2005
By 
Iceni Peasant (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you loved the X-Files and don't own any of the seasons on DVD then buy this set! It's great to have all 9 seasons on DVD in one boxed set.
Each season is housed in its own case, producing a sort of library effect when you open the main box. Each season also has a lot of extras on its own bonus disc; including deleted scenes, behind-the-scenes featurettes, cast and crew interviews and overviews of each season.
Each season has a glossy booklet, listing which episodes are on which disc and the scene selections you can choose and where to find the bonus features, along with a list of the original TV broadcast dates.
The first few seasons are shown in 1:33 full screen format and later seasons are in 1:78, which is nearly widescreen. Both formats produce a good quality picture.
This is the ultimate for any X-Files fan; although it can be argued that the first seven seasons were far superior to the last two, it's nice to have ALL the episodes. The X-Files Movie is not included in the set; considering it was a very average movie, it's not really a down point. In conclusion this is a highly recommended set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Truth Is Out There and its a bargain, 13 Jan 2008
By 
Bobsta (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I remember having the first VHS tape season one box set. Not great quality especially after numerous replays and friends borrowing the tapes. So fast forward to 2008 and here we have it - a 61 DVD disc set consisting of possibly the best sci-fi series ever created. David Duchovny and Gillian Anderson inject life into into their characters and when William B. Davis' Cigarette Smoking Man appears, you just know something bad is going to happen.

The DVDs themselves are enclosed within well designed sturdy plastic DVD cases which ensure that the DVDs do not come loose. Picture quality wise, season one holds up very well considering it was made in the early 1990s when digital and HD were just a dream. The picture and sound quality in latter seasons are substantially better. There are numerous special features dotted around on the discs and there is a copy of the X-Files Movie and a special bonus disc.

If you want to relive the X-Files then this box set is truly a bargain. And as always, Amazon delivered the box set the next day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


132 of 144 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling contender for best TV show ever, 5 Nov 2007
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
There are 201 episodes of the X Files , plus the movie .The show originally aired on September 10th 1993 and finished on May 19th 2002. Created by Chris Carter( He wrote the show after hearing 3.7 million Americans claimed to have been abducted by aliens), the show cleverly mixed genres dealing with science fiction - the existence or not of extra terrestrials is the shows defining theme, but it has elements of horror, spirituality , procedural cop thrillers and of course massive amounts of conspiratorial conjecture.
The plot for the pilot episode has FBI agent Dana Scully ( Gillian Anderson) assigned to be the partner of the agency's investigator of the paranormal Fox Mulder (David Duchovny). Shuffled out of the way in a basement office Mulder is a "Believer"-nicknamed "Spooky" by his colleagues- with a filing cabinet full of incidents of supernatural or alien activity -the so called X files. Scully is a sceptic , plus it transpires that she has been placed with Mulder so she can report back to her superiors so they can keep a cap on any of Mulder,s findings. One of the show's less than credible aspects was Scully's continuing cynicism in light of what she see's and experiences but she has a strong faith ( faith is a continuing sub plot of the show) and is also a doctor (medical) so also seeks scientific rational for what she encounters.
The series instigated the concept of a continuous mythology running throughout the narrative series to series.-namely that of alien interaction with humanity, government cover ups and abductions, with Mulders sister Samantha proving a progressive facet These are dubbed "Mytharc" episodes . The others are the "Stand Alone" or "Monster" episodes which can be viewed by casual viewers without reference to the continuing narrative. These provide some outstanding episodes with "Ice" , Beyond The Sea"( The first episode to concentrate on Scully) and "Excelsis Dei" up against light hearted fare like "Humbug".
The other on-going aspect to the show is the relationship between Mulder and Scully . The dichotomous nature of their affiliation drew almost anal scrutiny from the shows fans ( Or "X-Philes" as they became known). Despite their disagreements over the nature of their work a bond grows between the two and they constantly seem on the cusp of something more physical , thankfully something the shows writers resisted. .
The supporting characters - Fox and Mulders immediate superior Walter Skinner( Mitch Pileggi), The shadowy Cigarette Smoking Man(William B Davis), the duplicitous Agent Krycek (Nicholas Lea) the anti-government "Lone Gunmen" ( Who also got a spin off series that bombed) the enigmatic "Deep Throat" (Jerry Hardin)and the "Alien Bounty Hunter" ( Brian Thompson)to name a few of the many are all beautifully realised and often get episodes that provide more insight into their characters .
The last two seasons saw Mulder mysteriously disappear so Scully is allocated a new partner John Doggett(Robert Patrick) after he fails to find the missing Mulder in "Manhunt" and in neat role reversal he becomes the sceptic before Scully is fired from the FBI and replaced by Monica Reyes (Annabeth Gish). This took a little of the momentum out of the narrative but Scully keeps a connection to the past and of course Mulder returns to ties things up at the conclusion of season nine.
The inclusion of the movie(Made in 1998) is a nice bonus. The film is like an extended episode with a bigger budget( No surprise there) and ties neatly into the "Mytharc" , even elucidating some aspects of that continuing plot-line. There are numerous commentaries and interviews to expand and inform on the X Files mythology which is a convoluted and absorbing one and a god-send for pedants .
The X Files is a hugely influential show. It led to a sort of spin off series "Millennium" (Excellent) and "The one Gunmen"(Less So) but its influence can be seen in numerous contemporary series like "Lost" , "Supernatural" and "Heroes" where continuous plot threads and multi-character story lines occur.At the time of its final episode The X-Files was the longest running sci-fi show ever on American TV, a title since lost to Stargate SG-1. The show was declared by TV Guide to be the second greatest cult television show (Star Trek being number one) .The second X Files film is in pre-production and it will be fascinating to see where the writers go with that. Until then this box- set provides an excellent value chance for those that haven't to completely acquaint yourselves with this superb TV series and for long standing fans who haven't already to own the X Files outright. Either way it,s essential viewing .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 61 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cult series in cheap packaging!!! Avoid it!, 7 Nov 2012
By 
Kriss (Bedford, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The X Files - Complete Season 1-9 (New Packaging) [DVD] (DVD)
Length:: 3:10 Mins

Recently bought X Files box, unfortunately by mistake ordered new packaging from 2012. Couldn't be bothered to return it, having some problems with delivery (not from Amazon, I'm always happy with your service :).
Knowing that there's only 55 discs (not 61 as in previous release) I was certain that there will be no extras. I was not mistaken. What's good about this boxset is that you can get every episode and both films in one reasonably sized box (it's really small for such a long series). What's bad? Apart from just handful of extra features whole series is packaged in cheap cardboard box. Box is as thin as a box with teabags and contains 2 big plastic cases with season 1-4 & 5-8 and slimmer one with season 9 and both films. I don't mind keeping my PG Tips in that kind of box but anytime i'm holding this boxset I'm afraid it will fall apart.
Box is looking nice on the shelf but contents and execution is really poor. Better go for separate season boxsets or previous collection with 1st movie and 61 discs.
About series itself. I remember watching X-Files when it originally aired. Remember that I stopped around end of season 3 or 4. Some whispers in my head told me that maybe I should watch it again, so I'm back to the series after almost 20 years (never seen it again since around '93-'95) and after few episodes of season 1 I must say that memories are back and I can understand phenomenon of X-Files. Let's see how it will go in later seasons (especially after Duchovny leaves the show).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great TV is out there, 11 Feb 2008
By 
Speedster (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
I watched many X Files and loved the film, so when this appeared on offer I bought it immediately. Fed up with the absolute mindless, processed dross on British TV (how many more house buying/make over shows can they produce?) each day this has saved my sanity throughout the dark winter nights.
It is even better than I remembered it to be, which is a delight. The comic episodes (the cockroaches, the genetic/comic book freak, the circus freaks) are fabulous and offer a bit of light relief from some of the intense and darker episodes (which are fantastic too).
The addition of the feature is great as I didn't know how it all tied in with the alien conspiracy, plus there are special features galore.
With 201 episodes and the gorgeous casting combo of Anderson and Duchovny, this is the best DVD set I have owned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars X-cellent, 26 Nov 2007
By 
Mr. T. S. Andersson (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This may not be helpful to others however I have to say this boxset is worth buying. It is beautifully packaged and the extras are included, despite what someone says to the contrary (in another review). There is also a 50 page booklet! If you love The X Files then buy this set. It's worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great item, 22 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The X Files - Complete Season 1-9 (New Packaging) [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this as a gift for my husband as he has just dragged boxes and boxes of videos out of the loft to rewatch whole series, quite unsightly and bulky which I wasn't happy about! Over last few weeks he has fallen back in love with series so thought the DVD collection would make a great Xmas gift whilst making myself happy about getting rid of videos :) the collectors edition has a few more DVDs but is a lot more expensive so I was happy when I saw this complete collection for a very reasonable price. Very happy with my purchase and I'm sure my husband will be too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Complete Collector's Edition, 30 Jan 2012
Now I have seen many people give a boxset review 5 Stars because the show was good, but when it came down to it the presentation was only worth 1. This is not one of those reviews.

The X Files is awesome, and barely any shows have even been able to touch on how big a phenomena it was. Now down to what you're wanting buy; the boxset. Without a doubt, this is THE boxset to buy. There are other X Files sets out there - don't bother with them. This is the only true collection. It has all 9 series, packed full of special features, it includes the first X Files Movie, which is subsequently covered in the "previously on the X Files" segment bit at the beginning of season 6, something that was cut from the cardboard evidence container boxset. The presentation is clean and neat, and sits nicely on your DVD shelf. It is fantastic value for money, and I'm so pleased with it.

BUY IT TODAY, YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best TV Series Ever, 19 Sep 2005
Everyone knows the general storyline of the series. Agents Mulder and Scully investigate paranormal cases unsolved by the FBI. Scully is the sceptic and Mulder is the believer. This series is quite literally one of the best series every to grace the tv screen. The episodes are fantastic and display a variety of themes from horror to comedy, all with fantastic writing and fabulous acting from David Duchovny and Gillian Anderson.
The episodes range from stand alones where a single case is investigated and mostly solved within an episode, to mytharc which involves a government conspiracy surrounding aliens, abductions, implants, colonisation (invasion of our planet), etc. This becomes an ongoing trend with the show, which slowly becomes confusing and quite literally slows the show down in terms of how much the conspiracy storyline drags and baffles the audience. Particularly from season five onwards.
However, every season has enough quality episodes which enables the show to be consistently good. There is far too much to discuss to give a overall analysis of the show, but at such a bargin price compared to how much the seperate dvd sets cost, it really needs to be purchased by either the general viewer who gave up before the end or the fans who resisted buying the original sets because of the price.
Arguably, the season began to dip from season six onwards and this became an issue with many fans from season eight, especially with the departure of David Duchovny. This is a chance to find out exactly how these seasons compare with both season eight and nine included in the set.
The only down side to the collection is that its an insult to the fans that purchased the dvd sets seperately and I've a feeling the set is simply a container with the original sets stored inside. I was hoping for more of an incentive for those fans who already bought the sets on their original release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The X Files - Complete Season 1-9 (New Packaging) [DVD]
£50.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews