Customer Reviews


164 Reviews
5 star:
 (120)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paradise
Oh how I love LDR, These extra songs are just as wonderfully thematic and atmospheric as her previous offerings. I love the way that she displays, through her vocals, a beautifully complex duel personality. Person one has the deep and dark drawl, showing us a woman who is deeply cynical, tired and numbed by previous dissappoints in life. Person two has the...
Published 17 months ago by tori p

versus
25 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cynical Marketeering
I loved Born To Die, released earlier in 2012, however I refuse to purchase the same album again to get the new tracks. 'The Paradise Edition' is being given the full marketing push, so why couldn't this be released as a completely new album with all 11 tracks?

Numerous acts are doing this. Lady GaGa, Katy Perry, Nicki Manaj, Take That and many more have all...
Published 17 months ago by MT


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paradise, 13 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Oh how I love LDR, These extra songs are just as wonderfully thematic and atmospheric as her previous offerings. I love the way that she displays, through her vocals, a beautifully complex duel personality. Person one has the deep and dark drawl, showing us a woman who is deeply cynical, tired and numbed by previous dissappoints in life. Person two has the higher,sweeter tones. She is childlike,open and wide eyed, wanting desperately to be loved and taken care of. I may be getting a bit carried away, but I really, really love the whole album! Other Lana fans will understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm in paradise,, 14 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born To Die - The Paradise Edition (Audio CD)
‘The Paradise Edition’ opens with the sultry and seductive ‘Ride’. Nostalgic lyrics and haunting vocals, teamed up with a rich melancholic piano melody. Listening to this song, I’m transported to a wide stretch of the American desert, where I’m free to bask in my own self-indulgent misery, if only for a moment. This is of course, until that heart-wrenching chorus kicks in, and I’m imaging myself there, on that rope, swinging in midair, just as we see in the video for the song. This song appeals to me in ways I cannot possibly explain, and because of that… I just ride. What I find most interesting about this song is Lana’s ability to highlight what it means to feel rejected, to be someone who is just drifting through life, maybe even feeling a little crazy at times.. and then to just let it go, accept it even. That is what the chorus delivers – an overwhelming sense of freedom and comfort.

After the emotional highs and lows of ‘Ride’, I find myself drifting away into a somewhat angelic, dreamy state, as I catch myself humming along to Lana’s smoky vocals on ‘American’, the second song from ‘The Paradise Edition’. It has all the key elements of a classic, sophisticated ballad, but with that key atmospheric twist that Lana brings to her music. As I listen to this song, I’m reminded of how I felt when I first heard ‘The Lucky Ones’ from the ‘Born to Die’ record. There is a certain similarity between them, in that, they both step away from the darker side of Lana. While I honestly prefer Lana’s darker, more mysterious and melancholic tracks, I have to admit that this song definitely finds its way into my top five.

Keep in mind though, that… if you thought that the tracks from ‘Born to Die’ highlighted the dark side of Lana, ‘Gods and Monsters’ will offer you her darkest side yet. With references to God and religion, conflicts between evil and good, messages of drug/alcohol addiction. Lana ties all elements together: “Fame, liquor, love, give it to me slowly”. Despite all these rough elements, Lana still holds onto the hope that “in the lands of Gods and Monsters”…. she was an angel and that no one is going to take away her soul. It’s dark, and it’s deep, and it might make you want to shy away at times, but there is something there that draws you back in.

Although, if you’re looking to take an escape from that darker side, you just might yet. Lana finds an opportunity to get a bit playful with the new record. This can be heard in ‘Cola’ and ‘The Body Electric’, both of which explore themes of popular American culture/cultural icons, as she claims “Elvis is my daddy, Marilyn’s my mother.”

‘Bel Air’ and ‘Yayo’, seem to have been branded by many as no more than fillers, used simply to fill the space at the end of the record. Honestly, I can only imagine that these comments come from those that haven’t listened to the record in its entirety. Both songs offer haunting vocals, with chilling lyrics. I welcome the piano introduction in ‘Bel Air’ – something I think we could use more of in Lana’s music.

I have to say though, that I find ‘Yayo’ quiet difficult to listen to. It’s a very personal song, that offers up a lot about Lana’s past. Her sincerity is striking, so much so that at times it can feel as if you’re an intruder listening in on the song… as if she were singing it to someone else: “Let me put on a show for you, daddy”.

As a huge Lana Del Rey fan, myself, I truly hope that the release of ‘The Paradise Edition’ will mark a new beginning for Lana, a chance to establish herself into an industry that never fully accepted her. Accusations regarding authenticity led to a difficult start for the singer, and a perhaps misunderstood debut album.

‘The Paradise Edition’ offers so much more than I even expected of Lana. It is a collection of the same hypnotic, orchestral, atmospheric and seductive Lana tracks that we have always loved and admired… Mixed with a completely new twist. A bolder, braver, more outspoken Lana. It’s personally what I love about her. She doesn’t shy away from difficult or controversial subjects… and while she might leave you haunted, she’ll comfort and console you in the process.

If you are new to Lana, or a lifelong fan, just wanting more, either way... this record is perfection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My friends ridicule me., 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born To Die - The Paradise Edition (Audio CD)
"Why would you listen to her, it's just more whiny drivel, why won't you listen to this song about bitches and ho's, WHY WON'T YOU JUST BE LIKE US." And you know what, I am so happy to have her music in my life. A song for every mood. A lyric for every moment. She might not be to everybody's tastes but I personally love her. Not to mention the pure catchyness of quite a few of her songs, lolita for example. Sugary sweet but still kinda wrong. What's not to like??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My album tastes like Pepsi cola, 15 Nov 2012
By 
Andromeda Descendent (Tarn Vedra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born To Die - The Paradise Edition (Audio CD)
I'm so much a fan of Lana Del Rey that as well as Born To Die I have listened to her little known first album and even some unreleased demos. Listening to the new CD "Paradise" I instantly recognised a new version of Yayo and the recently released Blue Velvet, but the six other songs were completely new to me. Blue Velvet, a cover song, has much of the by now verging on overused production style and sounds of the Born To Die album, the special edition of which is of course also in this 2CD jewel case. However, the other tracks thankfully have a different (if less instantly distinctive) sound to them. That was a good choice musically, as Lana's voice is distinctive enough. The subject of these songs doesn't stray very far from Lana's in-character personality, and perhaps that shouldn't surprise anyone, but it makes the thoughtful and luscious Yayo really stand out as being something different and extra special.

A mixture of playful and serious, each one telling a different story, it's hard not to listen to Lana songs without images popping into your head, but I was caught off guard by one particular lyric. I found myself, perhaps not shocked but a mixture of amused and puzzled by the first line of the new song Cola. Lana has perhaps been listening to 212 by Azealia Banks. There are a couple of songs with, shall we say, a bit of strong language on - so if that bothers you stay away, or maybe keep listening and you may change your mind. In the music equivalent of the art/pornography argument, a.k.a. I know it when I hear it, there are some uses that stand out to me as being completely inoffensive due to context. For that debate, see also Star Me Kitten by R.E.M., and equally I have to say that on the song Radio, it's not only contextually appropriate; it's actually beautiful in the context of the song. After a few listens of the songs I'm referring to on Paradise, I'm starting to think the uses here are also appropriate in context. I've actually changed this review to say that, as after first writing it I listened again and found that my opinion had changed.

Back to the main point I'm trying to get across to you here - the songs are absolutely fantastic and will be much played by me - I can't imagine anyone not feeling happier for having listened to them.

To end this review, I must tell you that I really love Lana's music, but it's a pure and platonic love, so if tomorrow you see anyone drinking Pepsi cola with an odd look on his face, as if he's trying desperately not to think of a certain line from a song in a particular context, then stop and say "hi" as it might be me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Divine sound by the Goddess herself, 12 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born To Die - The Paradise Edition (Audio CD)
Lana is seriously the best artist out there at the moment. She might have gained some of her fame for all the wrong reasons, but this album proves that people are very wrong about her and that she's very misunderstood artist - but artist nevertheless. Born To Die: The Paradise Edition includes all 15 songs from the deluxe edition of Born To Die, plus 8 brand news songs. With those eight songs, Lana proves her talent in making music that's fresh to the ear, and faithful to it's preceding album Born To Die. My favorite song is Body Electric, because I think that Lana describes exactly how she feels about herself in that song. The song is very beautiful and very dramatic and it talks about how many times we lie about out true feelings, the "put a smile on your face while you're bleeding within" thing. Gods And Monsters is also very powerful song, and I think it talks about Lana's relationship with God, and her living on the wild side of life. Bel Air is also a great one, and it's last on the album because I think it gives some kind of a "hope sound" (as I like to call it), and I think it's probably the song that people here while they go towards heaven's door (if there is heaven, that is), filling us with hope that we will be reunited one way or the other with the people who mean something to us. All on all, I give this album 5 of 5, and I praise Lana Del Rey's talent and creativity. I've read somewhere that she said that she wouldn't make anymore music, and I hope that that's not true, because if she stops making music, the world will lose one of the greatest artist that ever lived!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She did it again, 12 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born To Die - The Paradise Edition (Audio CD)
This paradise edition of one of the best 2012 albums is really great. I love all songs, maybe just YAYO could be more upbeat or at least sth. like Million dollar man on her BTD album. But all new songs are fresh in her own style. This album and Born to die changer my life and my taste in music so i recommend this album to everyone. Lana is not just a product, for me she is the spokesperson for her songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TRANSPORT YOURSELF TO PARADISE, 12 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born To Die - The Paradise Edition (Audio CD)
I admit I was a bit disappointed when It was announced BTD was being re released as I already own two copies, but when a siren calls you have to respond and I'm glad I did, the new tracks alone are worth the price of this CD American, Gods and Monsters, Bel Air, and Cola are the ones that immediately stand out for me. Yayo on first listening doesn't sound as good as the original but as always with a little LDR magic it rapidly grows on you,. but prudes be warned most of the new songs are explicit the F bomb and sexual references abound so if your of a delicate nature best avoid. if your grownup enough and liked the original album I urge you to buy this you won't regret it and if your new to Lana treat yourself to one of the most beautiful albums from one of the most original artists you will ever hear. I know I'm being greedy but I cant wait to hear more from this incredible lady.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cola Will Never Taste the Same Again, 13 Feb 2014
By 
Eugene Onegin (Lincoln England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Born To Die - The Paradise Edition (Audio CD)
Imagine walking around MOMA looking an Andy Warhol exhibition whilst listening to Connie Francis and watching Mulholland Drive on your tablet in between a few pages of Lolita. If this idea rocks your boat, then don't hesitate-you will love this. If you need a little more persuading, then be in no doubt that Del Rey has an interesting if not especially beautiful voice, a pen which can paint striking images and a mind which produces a telling line. However, far more important than any of this is this woman like all of the greats of pop can spin a melody-Ride, Video Games, Summertime Sadness and American are all minor classics of the genre and justify this purchase on their own. Not all of the tracks are as good, but it is obvious that Del Rey has surrounded herself with a production team that can make the very best of her material and provide the musical tools to bring to life her world of B Movies. teenage Lolitas, road trips, sex, love and desire painted in the brash language of a comic strip. It sounds tacky but as I said the melodic gift makes it special. She stumbles only when she starts to rap when she commits the cardinal sin of sounding just like anybody else.On average I buy 2 pop records a year. This was one of them. Enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lana Del Rey, Born to Die - Paradise Edition CD, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born To Die - The Paradise Edition (Audio CD)
Bought this CD as I love the Summetime Sadness song. There are a few catchy tunes
on this CD, but I have yet to get used to quite a few others. Generally a good CD if you
can get used to her deep toned voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paradise, Literally, 28 Nov 2013
This review is from: Born To Die - The Paradise Edition (Audio CD)
A re-release of her mainstream debut, Lana Del Rey's "Born To Die" is here presented as a 2-disc package entitled `The Paradise Edition', complete with the original album plus the bonus tracks that were included on the original deluxe release earlier this year and an additional 8 tracks that make up the 2nd disc in the form of an EP. It is the latter that I will concentrate on in this review.

To start off, I'll admit that, having originally purchased Born To Die on its release, I was unhappy with the creation of the Paradise edition, mainly because I felt that Born To Die didn't need to be re-released. These new songs, in my opinion, should have been saved for a new album along with some additional tracks that Del Rey could have written in the meantime. To add to this, the release structure is poor with the availability of the physical stand-alone EP itself limited though this is to be expected with any EP.

Moving away from those factors however and the songs provide an enjoyable listen. The EP opens with the new single `Ride', a classy and at times haunting number and it's understandable why this was chosen as the lead promotional track. This is followed by `American', a `meh' track as far as I'm concerned but the form quickly returns in the form of `Cola', the Paradise Edition's 2nd single. Away from the eye-opening lyrics ("My pussy tastes like Pepsi Cola..."), this song musically is another standout and I'm sure there's a minor reference to The Beatles' `Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds' through lyrics about a lover along the lines of "...in the sky with diamonds and he's making me crazy". It may not mean much to many, but as a Beatles fan I liked it. `Body Electric' is the 4th track and is nothing special in my opinion; Lana seems to shout at times in an attempt to give the song some power but it doesn't really work.

The 1954 track `Blue Velvet', originally recorded by The Clovers, is then featured as a cover version and Del Rey's love of the era shines through and she does the song great justice with her vocal talents coming to fruition as opposed to the awkwardness of the previous track. The dark and suggestive `Gods and Monsters' continues the pattern of telling the story of a tragic yet brutally honest lover yearning for passion of all kinds. It's songs like this where Del Rey thrives and if she continues to write songs such as this then we can expect more brilliant material from her in years to come. `Yayo', a track that has been around for a while, is the penultimate song on the EP and sees Lana again manoeuvring her vocals to create a haunting effect, but I personally don't enjoy it.

The album ends on a high note however with `Bel Air', a song that seems to provide an ending to the concept heard on the original album that carried onto the Paradise Edition but lacked a proper finish. My earlier point about being disappointed with the choice to re-release the album with an extra disc stands, but seeing as the aforementioned concept continues on with the secondary disc, I can understand why the idea of a new album was scrapped in order to complete the `story', so to speak. On this final track, again Lana variates her vocals but this time she nails it and while being a brilliant song overall, at times it is genuinely beautiful.

To cap this review off, it's another superb effort from Lana Del Rey. I personally downloaded the new tracks from Amazon in MP3 form, and though as previously mentioned, my discrepancies with the release stand the Paradise edition is a nice treat for those who never purchased the original version of Born To Die. The Paradise edition acts as a positive show for future material if she can continue this sort of form, which she seems to have done so if leaked tracks are anything to go by. A genuinely talented female artist is something to behold, and thankfully Lana is one of the standout female artists in recent memory, and fingers crossed she can stamp her mark on this period and in the long term.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa82eb88)

This product

Born To Die - The Paradise Edition
Born To Die - The Paradise Edition by Lana Del Rey (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews