Customer Reviews


230 Reviews
5 star:
 (172)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paradise
Oh how I love LDR, These extra songs are just as wonderfully thematic and atmospheric as her previous offerings. I love the way that she displays, through her vocals, a beautifully complex duel personality. Person one has the deep and dark drawl, showing us a woman who is deeply cynical, tired and numbed by previous dissappoints in life. Person two has the...
Published 22 months ago by tori p

versus
27 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cynical Marketeering
I loved Born To Die, released earlier in 2012, however I refuse to purchase the same album again to get the new tracks. 'The Paradise Edition' is being given the full marketing push, so why couldn't this be released as a completely new album with all 11 tracks?

Numerous acts are doing this. Lady GaGa, Katy Perry, Nicki Manaj, Take That and many more have all...
Published 22 months ago by MT


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paradise, 13 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Oh how I love LDR, These extra songs are just as wonderfully thematic and atmospheric as her previous offerings. I love the way that she displays, through her vocals, a beautifully complex duel personality. Person one has the deep and dark drawl, showing us a woman who is deeply cynical, tired and numbed by previous dissappoints in life. Person two has the higher,sweeter tones. She is childlike,open and wide eyed, wanting desperately to be loved and taken care of. I may be getting a bit carried away, but I really, really love the whole album! Other Lana fans will understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most interesting artist of the decade, 16 Jun 2014
By 
T. Dar (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A sound which is as hauntingly enchanting as it is difficult to define. Lana Del Rey is an enigma, and her music stands out as refreshingly unique and different.

The title track is truly stunning, and my other favourites include 'Off To The Races', 'Summertime Sadness' and 'Ride'.

Having said that, there wasn't a track on either of the discs of this Paradise Edition that I didn't like. Although sometimes shockingly explicit, every song has a story to tell. There is a good balance of tempo and melancholy and more cheerful tracks.

Del Rey's voice is instantly recognisable despite its fantastic range from dulcet low tones to almost child-like high pitch vulnerability.

A stunning album from one of the most interesting artists I think I've ever come across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My friends ridicule me., 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born To Die - The Paradise Edition (Audio CD)
"Why would you listen to her, it's just more whiny drivel, why won't you listen to this song about bitches and ho's, WHY WON'T YOU JUST BE LIKE US." And you know what, I am so happy to have her music in my life. A song for every mood. A lyric for every moment. She might not be to everybody's tastes but I personally love her. Not to mention the pure catchyness of quite a few of her songs, lolita for example. Sugary sweet but still kinda wrong. What's not to like??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm in paradise,, 14 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born To Die - The Paradise Edition (Audio CD)
‘The Paradise Edition’ opens with the sultry and seductive ‘Ride’. Nostalgic lyrics and haunting vocals, teamed up with a rich melancholic piano melody. Listening to this song, I’m transported to a wide stretch of the American desert, where I’m free to bask in my own self-indulgent misery, if only for a moment. This is of course, until that heart-wrenching chorus kicks in, and I’m imaging myself there, on that rope, swinging in midair, just as we see in the video for the song. This song appeals to me in ways I cannot possibly explain, and because of that… I just ride. What I find most interesting about this song is Lana’s ability to highlight what it means to feel rejected, to be someone who is just drifting through life, maybe even feeling a little crazy at times.. and then to just let it go, accept it even. That is what the chorus delivers – an overwhelming sense of freedom and comfort.

After the emotional highs and lows of ‘Ride’, I find myself drifting away into a somewhat angelic, dreamy state, as I catch myself humming along to Lana’s smoky vocals on ‘American’, the second song from ‘The Paradise Edition’. It has all the key elements of a classic, sophisticated ballad, but with that key atmospheric twist that Lana brings to her music. As I listen to this song, I’m reminded of how I felt when I first heard ‘The Lucky Ones’ from the ‘Born to Die’ record. There is a certain similarity between them, in that, they both step away from the darker side of Lana. While I honestly prefer Lana’s darker, more mysterious and melancholic tracks, I have to admit that this song definitely finds its way into my top five.

Keep in mind though, that… if you thought that the tracks from ‘Born to Die’ highlighted the dark side of Lana, ‘Gods and Monsters’ will offer you her darkest side yet. With references to God and religion, conflicts between evil and good, messages of drug/alcohol addiction. Lana ties all elements together: “Fame, liquor, love, give it to me slowly”. Despite all these rough elements, Lana still holds onto the hope that “in the lands of Gods and Monsters”…. she was an angel and that no one is going to take away her soul. It’s dark, and it’s deep, and it might make you want to shy away at times, but there is something there that draws you back in.

Although, if you’re looking to take an escape from that darker side, you just might yet. Lana finds an opportunity to get a bit playful with the new record. This can be heard in ‘Cola’ and ‘The Body Electric’, both of which explore themes of popular American culture/cultural icons, as she claims “Elvis is my daddy, Marilyn’s my mother.”

‘Bel Air’ and ‘Yayo’, seem to have been branded by many as no more than fillers, used simply to fill the space at the end of the record. Honestly, I can only imagine that these comments come from those that haven’t listened to the record in its entirety. Both songs offer haunting vocals, with chilling lyrics. I welcome the piano introduction in ‘Bel Air’ – something I think we could use more of in Lana’s music.

I have to say though, that I find ‘Yayo’ quiet difficult to listen to. It’s a very personal song, that offers up a lot about Lana’s past. Her sincerity is striking, so much so that at times it can feel as if you’re an intruder listening in on the song… as if she were singing it to someone else: “Let me put on a show for you, daddy”.

As a huge Lana Del Rey fan, myself, I truly hope that the release of ‘The Paradise Edition’ will mark a new beginning for Lana, a chance to establish herself into an industry that never fully accepted her. Accusations regarding authenticity led to a difficult start for the singer, and a perhaps misunderstood debut album.

‘The Paradise Edition’ offers so much more than I even expected of Lana. It is a collection of the same hypnotic, orchestral, atmospheric and seductive Lana tracks that we have always loved and admired… Mixed with a completely new twist. A bolder, braver, more outspoken Lana. It’s personally what I love about her. She doesn’t shy away from difficult or controversial subjects… and while she might leave you haunted, she’ll comfort and console you in the process.

If you are new to Lana, or a lifelong fan, just wanting more, either way... this record is perfection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cola Will Never Taste the Same Again, 13 Feb 2014
By 
Eugene Onegin (Lincoln England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Born To Die - The Paradise Edition (Audio CD)
Imagine walking around MOMA looking an Andy Warhol exhibition whilst listening to Connie Francis and watching Mulholland Drive on your tablet in between a few pages of Lolita. If this idea rocks your boat, then don't hesitate-you will love this. If you need a little more persuading, then be in no doubt that Del Rey has an interesting if not especially beautiful voice, a pen which can paint striking images and a mind which produces a telling line. However, far more important than any of this is this woman like all of the greats of pop can spin a melody-Ride, Video Games, Summertime Sadness and American are all minor classics of the genre and justify this purchase on their own. Not all of the tracks are as good, but it is obvious that Del Rey has surrounded herself with a production team that can make the very best of her material and provide the musical tools to bring to life her world of B Movies. teenage Lolitas, road trips, sex, love and desire painted in the brash language of a comic strip. It sounds tacky but as I said the melodic gift makes it special. She stumbles only when she starts to rap when she commits the cardinal sin of sounding just like anybody else.On average I buy 2 pop records a year. This was one of them. Enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My album tastes like Pepsi cola, 15 Nov 2012
By 
Andromeda Descendent (Tarn Vedra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born To Die - The Paradise Edition (Audio CD)
I'm so much a fan of Lana Del Rey that as well as Born To Die I have listened to her little known first album and even some unreleased demos. Listening to the new CD "Paradise" I instantly recognised a new version of Yayo and the recently released Blue Velvet, but the six other songs were completely new to me. Blue Velvet, a cover song, has much of the by now verging on overused production style and sounds of the Born To Die album, the special edition of which is of course also in this 2CD jewel case. However, the other tracks thankfully have a different (if less instantly distinctive) sound to them. That was a good choice musically, as Lana's voice is distinctive enough. The subject of these songs doesn't stray very far from Lana's in-character personality, and perhaps that shouldn't surprise anyone, but it makes the thoughtful and luscious Yayo really stand out as being something different and extra special.

A mixture of playful and serious, each one telling a different story, it's hard not to listen to Lana songs without images popping into your head, but I was caught off guard by one particular lyric. I found myself, perhaps not shocked but a mixture of amused and puzzled by the first line of the new song Cola. Lana has perhaps been listening to 212 by Azealia Banks. There are a couple of songs with, shall we say, a bit of strong language on - so if that bothers you stay away, or maybe keep listening and you may change your mind. In the music equivalent of the art/pornography argument, a.k.a. I know it when I hear it, there are some uses that stand out to me as being completely inoffensive due to context. For that debate, see also Star Me Kitten by R.E.M., and equally I have to say that on the song Radio, it's not only contextually appropriate; it's actually beautiful in the context of the song. After a few listens of the songs I'm referring to on Paradise, I'm starting to think the uses here are also appropriate in context. I've actually changed this review to say that, as after first writing it I listened again and found that my opinion had changed.

Back to the main point I'm trying to get across to you here - the songs are absolutely fantastic and will be much played by me - I can't imagine anyone not feeling happier for having listened to them.

To end this review, I must tell you that I really love Lana's music, but it's a pure and platonic love, so if tomorrow you see anyone drinking Pepsi cola with an odd look on his face, as if he's trying desperately not to think of a certain line from a song in a particular context, then stop and say "hi" as it might be me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 15 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born To Die - The Paradise Edition (Audio CD)
I'd never heard of Lana Del Rey until a couple of weeks ago. I picked up a copy of The Q Sessions by Dutch symphonic metal band Within Temptation (a selection of covers they did to celebrate their 15th anniversary), and one of the standout tracks was 'Summertime Sadness' by someone called Lana Del Rey.
I checked a couple of videos online, liked what I heard and bought the Paradise version of Born To Die.

Without doubt one of the best albums I've bought in years.

Many albums have standout tracks, growers and filler. This had a couple of standouts (Born To Die, Summertime Sadness and Ride), but everything else was a grower. Having listened to it countless times since I picked it up, it is truly deserving of the label 'All killer, no filler.'

I cannot remember the last time I bought an album that I a) wanted to keep listening to for so long without getting bored, and b) got better with each listen.

The music is a lush, epic wonder, and Del Rey's vocals glide over the top in a languid, effortless style. It combines thoughts of driving through late night Americana with the top down with the sort of small-town unease you get from from something like David Lynch's 'Blue Velvet'. Del Rey has described herself as a 'gansta Nancy Sinatra', and that's pretty much on the money.

In some ways I hope she never releases another album, because I don't believe she could possibly better this.
On the other hand, I hope she does, on the off chance that she can!

This may not be to everybody's taste, but if you've ever put an album on after dark and sat there listening with the lights off, then treat yourself to this.

You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark side of glamour, 30 May 2014
By 
Mr. Andrew K. Miller "scatterlight" (Reading, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born To Die - The Paradise Edition (Audio CD)
Lana mixes sweetly sung vocals, beautiful arrangements and juxtaposes it with lyrics that examine life in all it's cruel shades. The results are stunning and make you think you are listening to a David Lynch film. Maybe having a cover of 'Blue Velvet' helps lead you in that direction, but really Lana stands alone in the world of song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I honestly don't know why I like it so much, 14 Sep 2013
By 
This review is from: Born To Die - The Paradise Edition (Audio CD)
Every now and then a CD comes along that's special, I don't know why, but I've had Born To Die in my car for my commute now for probably 18 months, either the original album, or the Paradise Edition, both CDs...

I need her to release another album so I can get Born to Die out of my CD player for a while at least.

I think it will end up with some sort of cult status - to be honest it's only good if you like it - if you don't get the music - then it's very easy to criticise her music, it makes no sense that she's more popular outside the USA than inside, despite the whole CD being so American in nature.

For me I think it's the balance, it's uplifting in places, depressing in others, very musical in places too. The lyrics vary from being inspired to being a bit shallow, but then I think that's the point, lyrics get repeated in different songs - but that just tends to set themes.

But overall, it's the quality of her voice - it's just sublime and so flexible, she sings high-pitched in some songs and low in others, and her range is amazing - yet she doesn't croon it out like an x-factor contender.

Lana Del Rey could sing my shopping list and it'd sound awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece of pop music, 6 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born To Die - The Paradise Edition (Audio CD)
Metal is my music. Progressive metal, power metal, doom metal, melodic death metal, post-metal. That's where I'm at home.

I'm also open-minded. Good music is good music, regardless of the genre. And Lana Del Rey makes excellent music. She's the only modern pop star I listen to, and am proud to admit it. Though I'm not entirely convinced in her vocal skills, she uses her voice very craftily. Where she excels is the atmosphere. "Born to Die" is drenched with a romanticized feel of the 50s (of which I as child of the late 80s know nothing about except from films) - it's all about being wild and free-spirited during the summers of our youth. And it works, wonderfully. When I'm in a nostalgic sort of mood (but not of the variety requiring a dose of doom metal) and wish for a relaxing hour or two with music, I'll put on "Born to Die".

This edition comes bundled with the "Paradise" EP which is equally as good as the full-length album, therefore get both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Born To Die - The Paradise Edition
Born To Die - The Paradise Edition by Lana Del Rey (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews