Customer Reviews


1,645 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,040)
4 star:
 (425)
3 star:
 (122)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delight
If you enjoy the QI programme, you'll love this fantastic collection of the weird and the wonderful. I got it in the Kindle format for the bargain price of 20p and read it all the way through without stopping. Now I'm going through it again reading out loud to anyone who'll listen. One point is that this is probably better bought in the print format as it's the perfect...
Published 20 months ago by B J Burton

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It does only what it says on the tin
This book is just a list of facts - and with no context around them and no explanation, so it is very hard to understand exactly what the facts are. An example might help illustrate this. A fact "a cat [has] the same environmental effect as a Volkswagen Golf". How? Is it because VW off-set emissions? Is it because some very spoilt cats have exotic cat food...
Published 14 months ago by C. Shepherd


‹ Previous | 1 2165 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delight, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1,227 QI Facts To Blow Your Socks Off (Kindle Edition)
If you enjoy the QI programme, you'll love this fantastic collection of the weird and the wonderful. I got it in the Kindle format for the bargain price of 20p and read it all the way through without stopping. Now I'm going through it again reading out loud to anyone who'll listen. One point is that this is probably better bought in the print format as it's the perfect coffee table book; your friends will enjoy dipping in - but they'll have trouble putting it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very entertaining collection of facts, 4 Nov 2012
By 
As a keen contestant in quizzes, I own a fair-sized selection of general 'trivia' books, and so it was with keen anticipation that I opened this book, the latest from the 'QI' stable. (I should make clear at the outset that I have met James Harkin, one of the writers, a couple of times, and correspond with him occasionally.)

The standard of 'QI' books has generally been high in the past (I was particularly fond of the now-discontinued series of annuals!) so I had high hopes for this. The presentation of the book is simple - the 1,227 facts are presented four to a page throughout the book. They are not explicitly divided into themes although at many points similar facts are collected together, or one fact relates somehow to the next. This works well and I found that reading the book cover-to-cover worked well - although of course, as with any work of this kind, the book can be dipped into as well.

The acid test of books of this kind lies in the choice of facts - too many such works trot out the usual chestnuts, reminding you for the 27th time that (e.g.) duelling is legal in Paraguay but only if the participants are registered blood donors. This book passes this test convincingly. Even for the dedicated trivia-lover, there are plenty of very novel facts in here and the bar has been set high in terms of quite-interestingness. I won't spoil the surprises by giving any examples but there are some real beauties in here.

All told, this would make an ideal stocking filler Christmas present for anyone interested in facts and trivia, and is one of the best books of this kind I have read - it's not as encyclopaedic as Mitchell Symons' 'This Book' trilogy, but the standard of interestingness is as high (if not higher).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever and funny, 2 Nov 2012
Where else could you find out that Richard Gere's middle name is Tiffany? The joy of this book is that the facts are funny as well as clever, and it is a lot of fun reading them aloud to someone else. Perk up your Christmas Day by giving this to the cracker-joke bore in your family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably the perfect loo book, 6 Nov 2012
This book is another success in the canon of QI, did you know for example: that a carrier pigeon is faster than a fax over a distance of a mile, or that the 'g spot' was nearly called the 'whipple tickle'? Can be read cover to cover, or dipped into if one has a spare few minutes and is just as satisfying. I am, as you would expect, now thoroughly sockless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now sockless, 1 Nov 2012
A must for any fan of QI, but equally accessible to anyone - full of delightfully unexpected (as well as some downright bizarre) facts. It was great to discover, for instance, the location of the Dyslexia Research Centre, or what the international dialling code for Russia is. Distills the quirky wit of the TV show into a great read. Online source list is a nice addition for the curious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It does only what it says on the tin, 2 Jun 2013
By 
C. Shepherd "Craig" (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1,227 QI Facts To Blow Your Socks Off (Kindle Edition)
This book is just a list of facts - and with no context around them and no explanation, so it is very hard to understand exactly what the facts are. An example might help illustrate this. A fact "a cat [has] the same environmental effect as a Volkswagen Golf". How? Is it because VW off-set emissions? Is it because some very spoilt cats have exotic cat food made of endangered animals? Without explanation the fact is uninformative, and really fairly dull. And reading a list of facts in quick succession is like listening to a child who has been given a bumper Knock-Knock-Joke-Book for Christmas and insists on reading every joke.

If you want something fun and interesting, avoid this. If you want to be able to bore people at dinner parties, go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and entertaining read, 5 Nov 2012
A fascinating and entertaining book with a variety of interesting facts. Very informative and a great recreational read to dip into if you have a few spare minutes to fill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super addictive., 3 Nov 2012
Picked it up for the first time and then 171 pages later I realised I should of been doing something else. Extremely addictive......credit to the people who put it together. Perfect stocking filler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I expected, but very enjoyable., 22 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1,227 QI Facts To Blow Your Socks Off (Kindle Edition)
I was rather expecting this to be more like the QI "books of general ignorance" - an interesting factoid or question answered thoroughly.

It isn't - as others have said, it seems like it would an an excellent "loo" book, as it's possible to read just one fact or several dozen.

Each fact is stated as simply as possible, with some enjoyable thematic groupings from one fact to the next, but there is no backing up or explanation of each one. For that one must access the sources page online, itself a selection of entertaining and intriguing websites.

Overall I found it very enjoyable, even though it wasn't really what I was expecting it to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars QI Untrue facts to blow your socks off.., 3 Mar 2013
By 
K. L. Hunt "Kaz" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1,227 QI Facts To Blow Your Socks Off (Kindle Edition)
Just started reading this as I'm interested in strange facts. A couple of them seemed so weird I decided to research to find out the details ie: why St Christopher is no longer a Saint. But the fact is he IS . Then the one about gerbils ARE used in airport security to detect adrenalin to counter terrorism. Gerbils were tried out in Israel airports in 1970 but discontinued as they couldn't tell the difference between terrorists and those afraid of flying.
Sadly after looking up just these 2 facts and finding they're not strictly true I've lost faith in reading any more.
Maybe I've missed the point and its meant to be tongue in cheek and not accurate. ??? Glad I didn't have to pay a lot for it or I'd want my money back. !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2165 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1,227 QI Facts To Blow Your Socks Off
4.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews