Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death and deceit in Prague's shady underworld
This novel differs greatly from Miss O'Neill's previous offering and with 'The Prize' she shows she has matured as a writer and is more than capable of tackling diverse subject matter.

She seems happiest when describing the seedy underbelly of society, in this case Prague.

None of the main characters are particularly likeable, yet all the more real...
Published 20 months ago by SP19717

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Inappropriate bad language
This is one of the worst books that I have read regarding bad language. The language is totally inappropriate at most times unnecessary. I only read 2 chapters and deleted from my Kindle. Amazon needs to start thinking about categorising its reviewing system with a bad language inclusion in it.
Published 12 months ago by J. E. Harris


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death and deceit in Prague's shady underworld, 19 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Prize (Full Length Novel) (Kindle Edition)
This novel differs greatly from Miss O'Neill's previous offering and with 'The Prize' she shows she has matured as a writer and is more than capable of tackling diverse subject matter.

She seems happiest when describing the seedy underbelly of society, in this case Prague.

None of the main characters are particularly likeable, yet all the more real for it. Whether it is Vavrin, the corrupt and disgruntled cop, who dreams of a way out of his dismal existence (all played out to a prog rock soundtrack), the various members of the stag party over from Britain, or any of the other assorted pimps, pornographers, or drug dealers, they are all deeply flawed individuals and all the more human and therefore utterly believable.

O'Neill either has a fantastic imagination or she has seen a bit of life and for this reason I would thoroughly recommend The Prize and look forward to her next offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story, well written, 2 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Prize (Full Length Novel) (Kindle Edition)
For the price of a basic Iphone App, you get your hands on a great piece of writing, that doesn't disappoint.

Be warned, this is not in the same vein of O'neils previous offering. With this book, she is proving to be a serious author.

This book is a crime novel set in Prague. The main spine of the story involves a serial rapist preying on prostitutes. Woven around this are numerous subplots involving a variety of colourful characters.

Without giving too much away, at some stage all of the stories cross paths, keeping it interesting and providing plenty of twists and turns that you won't be expecting.

The most impressive thing about the novel, is the clever writing style. It's something I haven't come across before. O'neil changes the writing style to suit whichever character she is discussing. It gives the book a great atmosphere which I found very clever.

It delivered so much more than I was expecting (no offence Julie). There are big chunks of the book, where I completely forgot I was reading a 99p kindle book by an unknown 'newbie' author. It reads and flows like any well established Author's novel and doesn't come up short in relation to the story either.

I would definitely this book. Great story, with plenty of twists and turns to keep you on your toes.

Buy it now before it gets published and you have to spend 13 on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking prose., 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Prize (Full Length Novel) (Kindle Edition)
Good,Sharp,Racey descripted writing.
I loved the way she puts words together.
Ajoy to read.
At last a good use of English
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Prize (Full Length Novel) (Kindle Edition)
Good read and easy to read on kindle. Would recommended to people who read similar.
Easy to buy on kindle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Czech-mate, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Prize (Full Length Novel) (Kindle Edition)
Welcome to the post-Glasnost Sodom & Gomorrah that is Prague - as strikingly visualised by the versatile and stylish Julie O'Neill. If you're in the market for a truly distinctive slice of crime drama set as far away as you can get from leafy middle-upper class (and totally up itself) Middle England, then look no further. Culture-clash, vice, murder, lust and violence: the whole panoply of human weakness and excess is right here in a novel that gets right under the skin of a charismatic city. There's plainly far more to Ms O'Neill than the shag-fest that is [...].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty and witty!, 26 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Prize (Full Length Novel) (Kindle Edition)
This book is in stark contrast to Julie O'Neill's first novel "Insatiable", showing just how versatile this author is. "The Prize" is effectively a crime drama but with moments of hillarity and wit that really bring it alive. Julie has not lost her brutal honesty, and the descriptions of both the characters and the seedy underworld of Prague make this fictional work seem so real.
Each chapter is short and punchy and you simply get swept through the book from beginning to end. I read endless crime / thriller books, but this one contains moments of writing genius which set it aside from the usual.
I am becoming a true O'Neill fan!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First time, 20 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Prize (Full Length Novel) (Kindle Edition)
This is the first time I have read a book by Julie O'Nelll. From start to finish I couldn't put my kindle down. Great story, I didn't want it to end, always wanting to know what was going to happen next. Certainly didn't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Never judge a book by its cover., 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Prize (Full Length Novel) (Kindle Edition)
After reading Julie O'Neil's other novel, I wondered what I was going to get with this one. But I have been pleasantly surprised. She has good depth with her characters & very descriptive of Prague where the book takes place. An enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Prize (Full Length Novel) (Kindle Edition)
I cant remember the story now as I have read so many, but I did enjoy it. It was fare better than insatiable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Inappropriate bad language, 17 Jun 2013
By 
J. E. Harris "Tweedy36" (Gloucester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Prize (Full Length Novel) (Kindle Edition)
This is one of the worst books that I have read regarding bad language. The language is totally inappropriate at most times unnecessary. I only read 2 chapters and deleted from my Kindle. Amazon needs to start thinking about categorising its reviewing system with a bad language inclusion in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Prize (Full Length Novel)
2.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews