Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Re-recordings
Here we are with Part 6 of this series and three re-recordings this time round which are:

Disc 1 Track 07. Foot Tapper - The Shadows
Disc 1 Track 18. Putting On The Style - Lonnie Donegan
Disc 1 Track 24. Lonely Boy - Paul Anka

Surely the compilers realise that these three tracks are re-recordings so why do they do it??????
Published on 18 Nov. 2012 by paul1963

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars lazy compiling...
3 re recordings (including a truly appalling one of "putting on the style"), the inclusion of songs from the spin off musical which surely no one is interested in, selections already included on other volumes & a track listing seemingly chosen at random (do merseybeat or tracks from 1966 really qualify for the series pre beatles jukebox rock n roll brief?)...
Published on 30 Dec. 2012 by in seclusion


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Re-recordings, 18 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Dreamboats and Petticoats 6 - Dancehall Days (Audio CD)
Here we are with Part 6 of this series and three re-recordings this time round which are:

Disc 1 Track 07. Foot Tapper - The Shadows
Disc 1 Track 18. Putting On The Style - Lonnie Donegan
Disc 1 Track 24. Lonely Boy - Paul Anka

Surely the compilers realise that these three tracks are re-recordings so why do they do it??????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful 60's, 27 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamboats and Petticoats 6 - Dancehall Days (Audio CD)
Have all these cd's 60's music unbeatable. Fabulous to listen to all 6 cd's on a long journey never get tired of the 60's music got to be the best era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'ANOTHER HELPING OF MAGICAL MEMORIES', 27 Feb. 2013
By 
rbmusicman/and/movie-fan' (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dreamboats and Petticoats 6 - Dancehall Days (Audio CD)
this continues to be a terrific series of 'music' magic so many of us
treasure with great fondness.
this compilation blends one or two of the many names that continued to 'chart'
during the 'rock'n'roll'explosion of the mid fifties and on into the early sixties.
the collection follows the journey of 'rock' along with a sample of 'skiffle' which
was pioneered in the 'u.k' by 'lonnie donnegan' at a similar point in time.
'rock'n'roll' sat nicely alongside the emerging era of 'pop' in the late fifties
which saw artists such as 'cliff' 'buddy holly' 'the everly's' 'marty wilde'
and 'bobby vee' burst onto the scene, highlighting just one or two of the 'pop' heroes
included on board.
also nice to see acts such as 'del shannon' 'paul anka' 'frankie vaughan' 'anthony newley'
and 'the batchelors' included on the play-list as well as many treasured and never
forgotten acts from way-back-when.
as is the case with many compilations there are one or two 'B-sides' on board, though
overall i have to say 'what a great mix'again for us to sit back and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy days, 11 Aug. 2013
By 
White Rose (Croydon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamboats and Petticoats 6 - Dancehall Days (Audio CD)
If you are a fan of Dreamboats and Petticoats you will need to add Dancehall Days to your collection. Fantastic collection of songs from a great music era. I love it and never stop playing it. Great back ground music...
Great service from Amazon arrived very quickly.
Very happy. Looking forward to number 7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff, 6 July 2013
By 
Wd Pearson "Spartan" (Nortumberland,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamboats and Petticoats 6 - Dancehall Days (Audio CD)
Excellent.Some songs are duplicated on other 60,s hits Cds, so check the play lists.Well presented,good price for so many hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy., 15 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamboats and Petticoats 6 - Dancehall Days (Audio CD)
Very good value for your money.You are instantly transported back to the 60s when music was great..I was a teenager then, very nostalgic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Me mam loved it!, 13 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Dreamboats and Petticoats 6 - Dancehall Days (Audio CD)
Fantastic compilation album with plenty of old classics on it. Made a great birthday gift. Well recomended and good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamboats and Petticoats 6 - Dancehall Days (Audio CD)
great to hear the 50's 60's music and keeping the set going having already purchased sets 1-5 my kind of music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great c,d,, 3 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamboats and Petticoats 6 - Dancehall Days (Audio CD)
i love old songs. can listen to these all day and not get fed up with them. great singers back then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album, 2 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Dreamboats and Petticoats 6 - Dancehall Days (Audio CD)
I bought this album for my mother. She loves this kind of music and she has all of the other albums in this collection. It is a collection of mostly rock n'roll and pop songs from the 1950s and 1960s. There are some slow songs on here and also some faster songs, but my mother is elderly, so she prefers the slower songs. I looked at the track listing and I was amazed at how many of the songs I knew, even though they were a long time before I was born. My mother has heard all of the songs and she tells me that she thoroughly enjoys this album and the other Dreamboats albums too. However, she said that she noticed that several of the tracks on this album were re-recordings and some of the tracks on the other Dreamboats albums were too, but she still enjoyed them. She asked me to give this album five stars, which I have done. She is now patiently waiting for Dreamboats 7!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dreamboats and Petticoats 6 - Dancehall Days
Dreamboats and Petticoats 6 - Dancehall Days by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews