Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Winter`s Light
I gave this cd 5 stars because I thought it was very cleverly arranged. The music is beautiful and is everything you want in a Christmas arrangement.
Published on 29 Dec. 2012 by Sandra Lancaster

versus
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Winter's Night
At first sight this looks to be a fine collection of Christmas choral music with just the right balance of old favourites to the unfamiliar, it is all the more perplexing then when it doesn't quite hit the nail on the head!
We are offered timeless classics from the likes of Sweelinck, Howells, Gabrieli, Darke and Walford Davies, but for me it is those pieces by the...
Published on 18 Nov. 2012 by Stuart Sillitoe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Winter`s Light, 29 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Winter's Light (Christmas Carol Selection) (Audio CD)
I gave this cd 5 stars because I thought it was very cleverly arranged. The music is beautiful and is everything you want in a Christmas arrangement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Modern arrangements of Christmas carols, 23 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Winter's Light (Christmas Carol Selection) (Audio CD)
Bought this as it included arrangements of Christmas carols that I had not heard before. The newer ones were performed with great panache the older lacked lustre in comparison, but nevertherless a good buy and a most enjoyable addition to my 'unusual' collection of Christmas CD's. This has to be listened too and not put on as background music whilst partying on mulled wine and mince pies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A winter's light, 10 Jan. 2013
This review is from: A Winter's Light (Christmas Carol Selection) (Audio CD)
Lovely choral music for Christmas. Gentle and relaxing. Makes a changr from 'Jingle Bells' etc. (And I used to work with the conductor!!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "A Winter's Light" Carols CD, 20 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Winter's Light (Christmas Carol Selection) (Audio CD)
A superb CD...great value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Winters Light is a delight, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Winter's Light (Christmas Carol Selection) (Audio CD)
Enjoyed the selection on this CD as I like finding different and varied Christmas music. Lovely to listen to at any time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Winter's Night, 18 Nov. 2012
This review is from: A Winter's Light (Christmas Carol Selection) (Audio CD)
At first sight this looks to be a fine collection of Christmas choral music with just the right balance of old favourites to the unfamiliar, it is all the more perplexing then when it doesn't quite hit the nail on the head!
We are offered timeless classics from the likes of Sweelinck, Howells, Gabrieli, Darke and Walford Davies, but for me it is those pieces by the living composers, Jonathan Rathbone, Bob Chilcott and Gabriel Jackson which leave the greatest impression. I don't know why this is, but to me the Vasari's almost sound as if they are on auto pilot when singing the well known works, I hate to use the term `run of the mill' but on occasion that is how their interpretation sounds, which is a shame because, in the modern pieces they sound truly engaged with the music, with their performance of Rathbone's Gabriel's Message being one of the highlights of the disc.
So, not an ideal Christmas disc, there is some fine singing here, but there is also some which lacks excitement, but I would buy this disc, if only to play the more modern pieces, but not the arrangement of Greg Lake's, yes he of Emerson, Lake and Palmer fame, I Believe in Father Christmas, here I find Rathbone's arrangement does not add anything to the music!
Stuart Sillitoe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Winter's Light (Christmas Carol Selection)
A Winter's Light (Christmas Carol Selection) by Martin Ford (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews