Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!
I absolutely LOVED this book.

Zach Montgomery is a famous movie star and quite a ladies man. But that is just a cover for his real identity of a CIA operative. Almost nobody knows that he is a government agent, even his family. They just think he is the 'black sheep' of the family and drinks and parties too much.

Jenna Walters is a neighbor of...
Published 6 months ago by Jo-Anne

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Behind the Lies (A Montgomery Justice Novel)
Behind the Lies tells the story of two individuals - actor Zach Montgomery, who also happens to be an undercover CIA agent known as Zane Morgan, and his neighbour, Jenna Walters, mum to five year old Sam. When Zach's cover is blown he has to leave his home and go to his secret cabin hideaway in Colorado, a 16 hour drive away until he figures out how he was betrayed and...
Published 17 months ago by G. Archer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Behind the Lies (A Montgomery Justice Novel), 17 April 2013
By 
G. Archer (Bangor, NI) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Behind the Lies tells the story of two individuals - actor Zach Montgomery, who also happens to be an undercover CIA agent known as Zane Morgan, and his neighbour, Jenna Walters, mum to five year old Sam. When Zach's cover is blown he has to leave his home and go to his secret cabin hideaway in Colorado, a 16 hour drive away until he figures out how he was betrayed and what he can do about it. Jenna, meanwhile, has discovered that her husband Brad is not who he portrayed himself to be, but is actually an assassin known as The Chameleon. Having told the FBI about Brad, she has agreed to stay in the marital home and gain more evidence. Discovering a smashed listening device in the home, and realising Brad must have discovered her actions, she phones her FBI contact, Agent Fallon, and asks him to take Sam and her to safety before Brad gets back from his "business trip". When Agent Fallon fails to act and Brad suddenly arrives home, Jenna and Sam scale the wall of the property belonging to her neighbour, Zach Montgomery, and end up stowing away in his car just as he is leaving for Colorado. When Zach finally discovers Jenna and despite all the circumstances, they are immediately attracted to one another and so the cat and mouse game begins to resolve all the issues in their lives so as they can live happily ever. That is the story in a nutshell.

Setting aside the clichés, coincidences and predictability I felt that Behind the Lies struggled to get off the ground and truly find its identity. Ms Perini's motto is "When danger and romance collide, no heart is safe!" but I have to be honest and say that I found it was neither credible as a spy/suspense novel, nor was it a particularly believable romance and as such it failed to capture my interest or imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable and rather slow, 21 Jun 2013
By 
Anne (Sheffield, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The plot of this book is like a B-movie or 1970s television series. Zach is a movie star who is also a secret agent for the CIA. He has a female contact and finds himself, in disguise, undertaking missions whilst still making films. No one knows who his alter ego is .... and the fact that he has the same initials as Zach is probably irrelevant. When Zach is warned by his contact that his cover is blown he leaves the film he is making and goes home, hoping to escape to the cabin in Colorado that no one knows about until things cool down.

Jenna is unhappily married to a man who beats her up. She has discovered that he is really an international assassin and has been spying on him for the FBI. He finds out about this and she has to flee with her young son. In a panic she climbs over the wall into the next garden which happens to be Zach's house.

It doesn't get any more believable than that. The book is full of coincidences and connections. Zach and Jenna fall for each other remarkably quickly but they each know that "it can never be". Sometimes Zach is recognised for who he is and other times he isn't which is very strange. There is a sub-plot with an Afghani man who is determined to kill Zach for what he thinks is his betrayal - this character and his story-line is so cliched about Muslim society that it is painful. Zach comes from a large family who all love him really although he has ignored them for five years and who have their own problems (this appears to be one of a series of books about this family, although you don't need to have read the rest to understand this one).

The characters are very superficial and Sam, Jenna's son, is an amazingly precocious child of the sort that does not exist in real life and who is always asking deep and meaningful questions that make the adults search their souls and see things in a new way. The writing style did not engage me, not just because I thought the plot unbelievable and the characters shallow, and I found that the pacing was awry so that the book dragged.

I struggled to finish this one. It wasn't awful, but it wasn't very good either. Not one to remember or revisit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cliched and trite., 16 April 2013
By 
catherine "Catherine" (poole, dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The two earlier reviewers have already given a synopsis of this novel. I can only say that I share their views about this trite,cliched and ultimately unsatisfying romantic suspense novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good thriller, but.., 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind the Lies (A Montgomery Justice Novel Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I really got sucked in to this book after a few chapters but then a little after half way through it went all Mills And Boone, (the author has been published by Mills & Boone). Several pages of nonsense and slushy description of love making which was boring and eventually comic when the main characters had a shag really spoilt my enjoyment of this book. They made mad passionate love would have been covered it in a single sentence, it's a thriller for goodness sake. That said the story did continue after the shag but somehow I couldn't really get my enthusiasm back but I did finish the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Different Read, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind the Lies (A Montgomery Justice Novel Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is a book with a twist as the main character is a female sniper. Fast paced and enjoyable. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 17 Mar 2014
By 
Jo-Anne (Mississauga, Ontario) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Behind the Lies (A Montgomery Justice Novel Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I absolutely LOVED this book.

Zach Montgomery is a famous movie star and quite a ladies man. But that is just a cover for his real identity of a CIA operative. Almost nobody knows that he is a government agent, even his family. They just think he is the 'black sheep' of the family and drinks and parties too much.

Jenna Walters is a neighbor of Zach's and has an abusive husband, Brad. When Jenna discovers that Brad is an assassin and Brad knows that Jenna has figured it out, she realizes she has to run for her life and takes her young son, Sam. Jenna climbs her back fence and gets into Zach's yard, trying to find a safe place to hide from her husband. Zach has his own problems because he found out his cover is blown and someone is trying to kill him.

When Jenna meets Zach she has a hard time trusting him because she has never known an honorable man like him and doesn't want to risk endangering her son, Sam, by allowing Zach any contact with him. She figures out that he is more than an actor and is hiding his true skills. When Zach and Jenna finally get together they quickly realize both their lives are in danger so they have to run.

The character development is phenomenal. The author tells you more about them as to story goes on so you learn about their histories as well as their current situations. This was a great suspenseful book full of action, intrigue and great characters. I loved the chemistry between Jenna and Zach. The action scenes are remarkable and I liked the detailed descriptions of the surroundings and the scenes. Robin Perini took a complex story and made it an exciting, easy to follow novel.

I am so glad that I won Behind the Lies by Robin Perini in a Goodreads Firstreads giveaway because the twist and turns in this romantic suspense novel where beautifully illustrated. I loved it and highly recommend this book. I will definitely be reading more of the Montgomery Justice series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars behind the lies, 26 Feb 2014
By 
sjs101 "SJ" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
an okay holiday read if you have nothing else. the book has all the clichés and predictability you expect from a romance book, it just never seems to get going and hold your interest for too long
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Plays at James Bond, borrows from Kindergarten Cop & Sleeping With The Enemy. Contains SPOILERS. Sorry, but they're needed., 6 April 2013
By 
ROROBLU'S MUM "ROROBLU'S MUM" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Cliche'd, predictable and not at all convincing, sadly. But, I'm not surprised, as this is yet another Montlake Romance that doesn't fail to disappoint.

From the blurb, I had thought that I'd be getting a decent tale, but regrettably I got one that seemed a cliche'd mish-mash of the above action movies, but not with any big stars, just a 'made for TV' type of hero. Think Mr Dalton/Mr Lazenby compared to Mr Brosnan/Mr Connery/Mr Moore. Neither the male or female lead seemed to have anything particularly interesting about them, and I didn't feel anything for either of them, as they came across as bland, and pretty flat, which made reading the book a slog.

He, Zach Montgomery is apparently a 'the bomb' CIA agent, but the world knows him as a successful actor. In between shooting film scenes - literally, during his 30 minute 'break and make-up' window, he took off on his bike on a mission, killing three bad guys and causing the other two to flee. He 'da man! I just wanted to LOL! Was the author extracting the Michael? No-one seemingly knows that he's also Zane Morgan, secret agent and legend extraordinaire, despite his entire family being former/present law enforcement of some sort; they're a bit thick, as is proven in the ending of the tale, and in fact, their widowed mother is more on the ball.

She, Jenna is married to a guy who seemed the perfect husband, but who slowly revealed himself to be brutal, controlling and nasty and so she searcheds and discovered that he is in fact The Chameleon, hit-man extraordinaire. She shops him to the FBI, stashes money away for an escape, but of course, predictably there's a mole, and she has to escape with her son, but he comes home sooner than expected...

The blurb would have you believe that Zach takes her on the run, but in fact, he's heading for his incognito vacation home, whilst she and her son have stowed away in his car. Her husband goes all psycho on Zach, who kind of only vaguely clocks that something's not right. 16hrs later, Zach discovers Jenna and another 8 or so hours later, they're admitting that they're attracted to each other. On the run from his past and job, and her having just left her psycho husband, and without even knowing each other, they're feeling it. Yeah, right. That attraction SO didn't come off the pages; my granny could have read this non-sexy 'romance' and reminisced fondly.

So, Zach just happens to have all the contacts to help her make a new life for herself, so he does, without revealing anything of himself, and by putting a car and paid-for house in her name. His handler, in an utterly predictable cliche of cliches, turns out to be the one responsible for his father's death and for bringing an Afghani man hooked on revenge into the US to take him out (a total red herring, and really, really not worth being included in the tale). The FBI agent helping Jenna is made out to be her husband's mole in the FBI at page 262 (I think there's a bit of a plot hole or name mix-up there, as it's just too convenient, if not) and is very (sorry to repeat myself) conveniently taken out. Zach turns all Arnie/Mr Kimble-from-Kindergarten-cop, teaching the 5yo how to get help if Mommy's in danger, where to kick to disable an attacker, and to trust no-one, and teaches Mommy self-defense, which she's not very good at, but which doesn't matter, as you just know that her 5yo will come through for her in time of danger...hmmm...You see where I'm coming from with the title of the review?

The 'love' and supposed passion between the leads were not at all believable. The tale wasn't fast-paced enough, exciting enough or suspenseful enough. Add in mobile phones left lying around for the 5yo to contact Daddy and tell him exactly where they were, and for Jenna to ring her husband and to try to make a deal with him, behind Zach/Zane's back, and this becomes very tiresome.

Not a good romance, not a suspenseful...well...suspense novel at all. The only reason that I'm giving it 2* is that it's been professionally edited and because it's not totally and utterly awful. It just needs a re-read and a decent editor - the author can write, but nothing exciting, seemingly. I had hoped that I'd be getting a tale in a series such as Cindy Gerard's Black Ops Inc/Bodyguards, and whilst there's mention of various other Montgomery brothers (including one with a knee injury like in one of the aforementioned author's series), none of the characters I saw in this novel made me want to check out the author to see what more's she's written. This tale was a 'lite'/diet version of a romantic suspense novel, and the ending was too 'yeah, right', a bit too much way too soon; there are so many better similar tales out there, so my advice would be to choose one of those, not this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I liked it a lot so honest rating would be 4.5 stars., 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind the Lies (A Montgomery Justice Novel Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Not my usual type of read but will try anything once and much to my surprise, I did enjoy it very much. Good story with a few twists and turns along the way to make it interesting and entertaining. Would read this author again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very twisty!, 23 April 2013
Zach is one of six boys in the Montgomery family and he has always been labelled the wild child of the bunch, he moved away from the family to became an actor. Making movies allows him to travel extensively and provides cover for his other job - that of a CIA operative. On location for his latest movie he becomes aware that his cover is blown and it's a challenge to get home in one piece. There's a hit on him and he does not know where to turn.

Jenna Walters has had enough of her abusive husband and is making plans to run away taking her son with her, unfortunately her husband returns early before she can finish her escape. Climbing over her garden wall and hiding in her neighbours pool house seems like a good idea at the time. Jenna and Zach are both end up on the run: can they help each other or will they put each other into more danger? Both have secrets, both have people after them and they have lots of chemistry, fortunately or unfortunately they also have Jenna's son Sam with them, he's too young to understand just how much danger they are in and why, which may just put them in more danger!

I thoroughly enjoyed this instalment, it was full of tension and angst and although I did see a lot of the plot twists coming Robin did a fabulous job of interweaving them all and connecting all the dots. I loved getting to the bottom of Zach's secrets, I really enjoyed the rest of the Montgomery's finally opening their eyes and seeing him for who he truly is. Lots of secrets came to light in this one and I'm looking forward to seeing the fallout in the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews