Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars139
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 27 October 2011
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a great book with 100's of recipes from breads, crumpets, teacakes to scones, fairy cakes and brandy snaps and much much more!

There are some very nice pictures of the various items you can bake in the front of the book, although I noticed some of the pictures are duplicated from one page to the next? I am not quite sure why, I think it may be an editing error! But there are also at least 80 recipes that have photographic instructions, so you know exactly what you should be doing at each step and what your mix should look like. There are also many simpler recipes that are instruction only, but in thoery you can't go wrong following the recipes!

A warning - The book itself is hardback and is EXTREMELY heavy. I am a fit 37 year old and this book even makes my arms hurt to lift, so although this may be a strange observation, it is worth bearing this in mind if you are buying this for someone a little frailer or who may have arthritis of the hands and may struggle to hold the book.

The cover has shiny pink cup cakes on it (the picture does not really show the shine) and looks rather pretty.

The pages are smooth and quite thick (which adds to its weight), so can be easily wiped if they get mixture splashed onto them.

On the whole this is a very nice recipe book that I would recommend not only to a beginner baker, but to the avid baker also.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 November 2011
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book is quickly turning into a family favourite. My (grown up) children have likened it to the D&K first baking book they had when they were younger. Each of the recipies is very clearly laid out with step by step photographs and instructions in true D&K style. Varients are then detailed without photographs. The range of recipes is HUGE, every type and genre of baking is covered in depth. So far I can only vouch for scones, flapjack and a handful of cakes, but can not fault the instructions in any way. This is an extremely good addition to any kitchen. Not so much of a recipe book, more of a baking encyclopedia!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I very rarely buy cookery books as I find them full of recipes I would either never make or need to buy half of the supermarket for.

This one is great. It has step by step recipes, beautiful photos, how long the product will keep for and useful 'bakers tips.' I've already found lots of recipes I can't wait to make and, most importantly for me, think I will be able to achieve. Black Forest Gateau is first on the list, closely followed by chocolate brownies. There are over 350 recipes which are divided into everyday cakes; celebration cakes; small cakes; patisserie; biscuits, cookies and slices; meringues and souffles; cheesecakes; sweet tarts and pies; savoury tarts and pies; classic and artisan breads; flat breads; quick breads and batters. There really is something for everyone.

It lost a star as I really don't like buttercream or butter in sauces. Buttercream is in quite a lot of the cake recipes but I will be able to adapt them. I was really hoping to find a fish pie recipe that doesn't use butter, but it wasn't to be! I also think some of the recipes are things that I just wouldn't make because they are easier to buy (for example jam doughnuts.)

All in all a great book which I'm sure will get a fair bit of use!
22 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2011
This is a big, heavy, bulky book which does make for big pictures (approximately 2"x2") of their step by step instructions. Not all recipes have step by step pictures, but there are step by step instructions and explanations for all and pictures of the finished product. There is also an easy to understand key for each: servings, prep time, and cooking time, freezing or storing information. Special equipment is also noted; such as loaf pan, brioche molds. There are some pictures in the beginning that have no identification which could easily have been remedied.
The inside covers contain useful charts of volume, oven temperature, cake pan, yeast, weight, volume, butter equivlilants and calculating pastry quantities. The book contains; everyday, celebration and small cakes, patisserie, cookies and slices, meringues and soufflés, cheesecakes, sweet and savory tarts and pies, classic, artisan, flat, quick breads and batters. There is also an index.

This is absolutely wonderful for a beginning cook or even those who are not used to baking from scratch and its joys. The book does miss some helpful points, that beginning cooks would need; like warning when you zest oranges and lemons not to get the pith/white part in and avoiding the bitterness it would bring. Then there is the method of making sourdough, which they do admit is cheating, by using flour and yeast and water and letting it sit for a few days.
The savory pie section is absolutely a hit in our family. The crab and shrimp tart with saffron is marvelous as is the steak and wild mushroom pie, fish pie, steak and kidney double crust pie, cold chicken and ham pie. There is a wonderful version of beef wellington - relatively easy and will impress the heck out of your family or guests and even the sourdough rolls are good (but I did use my own sourdough starter for them).
So beginning cooks and even more experienced ones might enjoy purchasing this book or especially getting it for a gift.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 October 2011
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
well what can i say ?? , where to start ?? ITS PERFECTION !having collected cook books for many years and having a bit of a fondness for baking i buy any i find and often keep books for one or two recipes never using the others contained, this book hoever has become my baking bible, i cannot find a single recipe ive either not cooked or dont want to cook right now !!! its classy to look at, huge and exciting, 350 recipes containing everything from basics right up to more complicated ideas but even then easy to achieve with the simple instructions and stage by stage photos.they show you how to take a basic recipe and change it which is very handy and inspiring. in the front there are full conversion charts for everything from weights and measures to temps.

the book is a little big for the kitchen i agree but who wants a small one when the world of baking can be containg in one book ??!!
with this book you can learn all i think you need to know to go on to produce so stunning creations for yourself or friends and family.everything from cakes and biscuits to pies and breads, sweet and savoury.
i believe this book to be superb value for money and a definate must have for anyone who enjoys baking, the only problem is where do you start ?? my husband has already made a list of over 30 recipes he wants baked and ive not dared to let the kids look through !
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 December 2011
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
For those of us who are somewhat 'domestically challenged' when it comes to the Delia like moments in life, it can become a little embarrassing when everybody and their dog is suddenly a baked goods master chef. Whether at the office, the local fete, or family get together, there is always someone waiting to put your burnt offering to shame with some work of art which tastes even better than it looks.

Fear not, intrepid kitchen exiles, for we have been gifted this new book, choc full of delicious and easy recipes! And it really is easy too. One of my usual gripes with these books is that there aren't enough pictures to show you what things should look like at stages as you go along. Whilst we don't get these with every recipe, the more challenging ones do have comprehensive pictures and instructions. All in all, a good buy, perfect for any cake lover or wannabe cake makers!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 November 2011
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I love this book. It is absolutely chock full of gorgeous photographs, in a lot of cases, step by step photographs accompany the recipes, and in most (but not all) cases, there are mouthwatering photos of the finished product. It is the type of book that inspires you to get in the kitchen and bake, it is wonderful to browse through as well. The only thing is that it is quite big and heavy so not the easiest book to flick through or to use in the kitchen, however the size of it is due to the amount of glossy photos so it's not really a complaint. Perfect for newbies to baking as it guides you through the processes step by step, and also a beautiful gift for someone who loves to bake. A fantastic book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2015
As others have said, the Kindle version is not the same as the actual book. The small selection of recipes I received were the classics -Victoria sponge, Swiss roll etc that most of us have anyway. There is nothing new or modern here and I have requested a refund.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2016
The I absolutely love this book, it is definitely one of my favourites! The book is a lot larger than i expected with 543 pages. The first pages are incredibly useful in this book as they contain information including oven temperature equivalents, volume equivalents, weight equivalents, cake tin equivalents, yeast equivalents and how to calculate pastry quantities- all of which are very helpful!

The contents of this book includes chapters on:
Everyday cakes- this covers everything from a simple Victoria sponge cake to Swiss rolls and Genoise cake with Raspberries and Cream (very yummy!)
Celebration cakes- includes a wide range of baked goods including fruit cakes, panettone, chocolate chestnut roulade, black forest gateau etc
Small cakes- includes a wide range of cupcakes which range from basic vanilla to fondant fancies, whoopie pies, welsh cakes etc.
Patisserie- includes a wide range of pastries including croissants, cinnamon rolls, profiteroles, eclairs etc
Biscuits, cookies and slices- includes recipes such as gingerbread men, brandy snaps, tuiles, millionaires shortbread etc
meringues and soufflés- includes various meringues and macaroons, my favourite being strawberries and cream macaroons! (The book makes it easy for anyone to make them and taste amazing!!)
cheesecakes- ranges from traditional cheesecakes to marbled cheesecakes and crosata di ricotta (Italian!)
sweet tarts and pies- traditional apple pies, a range of tarts (My favourite being the raspberry tarts with chocolate cream) to cobbler and crumbles
savoury tarts and pies- good for those who don't have a fully sweet tooth! includes recipes such as steak and wild mushroom pie, pork pie, beef Wellington, Cornish pasties and my favourite- Filo Pie with spicy kale and sausage!
classic and artisan breads- ranges from the classic white loaf to more artisan varieties including recipes such as rye bread and pane siciliano
flat breads- pizza (everyone loves!), pita crisps, naan bread etc
quick breads and batters- cornbread,buttermilk biscuits, crumpets, crepes etc.

The book also contains a very useful 'recipe chooser' section which allows you to search for a specific recipe based on your requirements without searching the entire book, for example 'Party bites', 'Baking for children' and 'traditional afternoon tea' One of my favourite things about the book is that it contains high quality photos of the majority of recipes, giving me an idea of what it should like and also tempt me to make it because it looks super yummy!! In my opinion this book is perfect for anyone, from the beginner starting off to a more experienced cook!

Its my most used baking book by far and I am so happy i decided to get it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 16 November 2011
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book certainly looks the business. It is big and heavy with lots of (1,500) superb colour photographs. It is a very weighty book indeed.

The colour photographs are not only of the finished dish but also of the various steps along the way. This book covers more or less everything that goes into the oven that is connected to pies, pastries, cakes, soufflés and bread.

There is a very useful conversion chart inside the front cover.

For a person already skilled/partly skilled in cake making I am sure that this would be a great book for inspiration as some of the results look stunning in the photos.

However for a complete bakery novice, like me, I do think that more is needed in the way of basic instruction. One example of this is lining the baking tin with paper. I think Delia does a far better job of explaining the issues.

Similarly I did take the butter from the fridge to soften (sponge cake) but I did not let it soften nearly enough (hindsight is a glorious thing). I also used the eggs straight from the fridge. I do think more explanation would have been helpful here.

Still I am learning and getting better and hope shortly to be producing the elaborate cakes shown in the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)