Customer Reviews


148 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic companion to the first two seasons
If you're browsing this product, chances are you've seen BSG through to its crescendo. For those that have not, I advise coming back to this after you've completed viewing. There's some spoiler-ish stuff here.

This is a great companion to the first two seasons. While not crucial in the overarching storyline, it offers a chance to step back through the early...
Published on 10 Nov. 2009 by Gnorris

versus
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Variable in quality
The Plan is a TV movie that goes right back to the Battlestar Galactica mini-series and then revisits key moments from the first two seasons through the eyes of the Cylons. Along the way, it attempts to resolve several key problems with the series, notably a few major plot holes left gaping and to give a lot more screen time and character development to Rick Worthy's...
Published on 31 Oct. 2009 by A. Whitehead


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic companion to the first two seasons, 10 Nov. 2009
By 
If you're browsing this product, chances are you've seen BSG through to its crescendo. For those that have not, I advise coming back to this after you've completed viewing. There's some spoiler-ish stuff here.

This is a great companion to the first two seasons. While not crucial in the overarching storyline, it offers a chance to step back through the early episodes with hindsight of what we now know about the identities of the Cyclons, the fate of 'Brother Cavil', and the true nature of Cylons. The production expertly weaves existing footage of the early seasons with new back stories and revealing vignettes that occurred 'off-camera'. Why did a Six risk cover by stepping forward to accuse Baltar of treason, only to disappear? How did Leoben and Doral, two of the first Cylon agents to be discovered, continue to have copies in the fleet until their demise? Why was Boomer so conflicted about her mission? And what was Brother Cavil's "plan"? All of these gaps are filled.

The real treat here is simply that it is more BSG, featuring some of the regular cast plus more screen time for the supporting players. Simon's storyline examines why the Cylons found it so hard to defeat humanity even after bringing them to their knees. The always excellent Dean Stockwell as Cavil is the main focus of the story, hiding in plain sight as he struggles to wage covert a war against the 'infection' of humanity, and against human nature tainting his Cylon subordinates in their everyday lives. And, of course, the soundtrack by BSG maestro Bear McCreary is flawless and sublime.

The Plan features very little to no extra scenes for the major crew members of Galactica, save Boomer, Anders and Tyrol. Olmos does a great job of directing but due to the story cutting between the work of many directors, it is hard to judge his individual style. The fact that it is stylistically seamless is a credit in itself. This is recommended for fans of the show, and a must-have for anyone interested in the Cylons and their motivations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great addition to the Galactica universe, 25 April 2011
By 
Bm Levitan "brucelevitan" (Glossop, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really don't know why this has had some negative reviews. It is a great movie and most definitely fills in some of the lacunae of the series. People have complained that it contains clips from the series, but these are both entirely appropriate to this movie and so well integrated that it's hard to see the joins - and there really isn't that much repeat material. For me a quote from Eddy Olmos (who directed the movie) in one of the special features says it all. He notes that once you watched The Plan you'll want to rewatch the series and will get new nuances from it that you didn't see before. he's so right. The "Plan" isn't any kind of earth shattering secret that we haven't already worked out - but that's not the point of the movie. Instead it explains why the Cylons changed in the way they did and adds some extra dimensions to them that weren't revealed in the series. I thoroughly recommend this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This works on UK BD players, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think this was cheaper than the UK version with the same features and works on both my Bluray players. I bought the complete BSG Bluray boxset for £35 brand new on Amazon, an amazing price i'm still surprised by but this film was not included which is the last part to slip into the reimagined series and explains what the cylon's plans were during the first two seasons and as such includes a fair bit of repeated footage but it still fits in and works well as a film. If watching with the boxset, I'd suggest waiting until the final season and watching it between episodes 'No Exit' & 'Deadlock' as to not spoil any plots as this film was released after the final season but fits in here continuity wise.

Picture still retains BSG's usual grainy picture style but the effects look great and the sound is ace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Variable in quality, 31 Oct. 2009
By 
A. Whitehead "Werthead" (Colchester, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The Plan is a TV movie that goes right back to the Battlestar Galactica mini-series and then revisits key moments from the first two seasons through the eyes of the Cylons. Along the way, it attempts to resolve several key problems with the series, notably a few major plot holes left gaping and to give a lot more screen time and character development to Rick Worthy's character, Simon, arguably the least-developed Cylon role. In this movie we learn that there was a Simon model in the fleet after all and what he was doing, and discover that this Cylon was married with a step-daughter. This also allows the return of Edward James Olmos' real-life wife Lymari Nadal as Giana, one of the refugees from Caprica that Boomer rescued in the pilot, and a revelation about the ultimate fate of her character.

To some degree, these are small-fry questions, however, with bigger questions like how Boomer's sleeper programming worked, who the unknown person Caprica-Six was meeting on Caprica during the mini-series was and what was going on with Shelly Godfrey and her attempt to manipulate Baltar being more thoroughly explored. In some cases the answers are interesting, but in other cases not really that necessary, with fans long ago coming up with decent answers.

Overall, especially in the first half, the exercise feels like an excuse to show off some excellent CGI (and some rather ropier effects as well, including one terrible shot that makes Caprica look like it's about three miles across) but mainly to fill in some plot holes only obsessive nitpicking fans worry about. In the second half, however, a more interesting story emerges. Essentially A Tale of Two Cavils, in the second half the experiences of Galactica Cavil and Caprica Cavil are contrasted and explored in a decent manner, with Simon's situation and Anders' rise from being a sports jock to a military leader unfolding as decent subplots. These elements are tied together with some great writing and some excellent acting (especially from Dean Stockwell as Cavil, who comes across as calculating, intelligent and utterly ruthless, even moreso than he did in the series). The storylines also have a great conclusion when Caprica Cavil is rescued along with the rest of Anders' rebel group and meets up with his fellow model number in Galactica's brig and airlock where they discuss their conclusions, which are very different.

Whilst that thematic structure works well, the 'unrated' version of the DVD/Blu-Ray makes rather gratuitous use of its freedom to depict sex and nudity, most notably a rather incongruous Galactica crash-zoom on a nude pilot in the locker room. I suppose if you are going to include nudity, doing so for both sexes is fair, but none of it adds anything to the plot and looks completely out of keeping with the rest of the series.

Battlestar Galactica: The Plan (***½) is the series' swansong and on that note is altogether stronger than the actual series finale itself. However, whilst the movie eventually gets it together and has a solid second half, the first half is all over the place, story and effects-wise, and takes probably too long to cut to the chase. Still, an interesting addition to the series. It is available now on DVD and Blu-Ray in the United States. A UK release has not yet been confirmed (although a region-free UK import of the Blu-Ray is available). An edited version of the movie will air on SyFy in the United States and Sky One in the UK some time in 2010.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why the complaining? This completed the picture for me, 4 Feb. 2011
I admit my watching of the shows was spread over a number of years, and maybe I'm a bit slow, but 'The Plan' really rounded off the story. A worthwhile buy, and well made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 1 Dec. 2009
By 
N. Allen (Wrexham, north Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I watched this expecting a cheap cash in and I was surprised at how good it actually was. As said in other reviews, if you've not seen the full series then leave this until you have as there are spoilers and you'd spend most of your time wondering what all the unhinged nonsense was talking about.

If you're a fan of the show, from the action scenes to the character and plot building episodes, then this will be welcomed to your collection.

Being a bit of a nerd I loved this, and the ending, I thought was fantastic.

In my opinion, if you're a true fan you'll love this and should definitely buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching, 13 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was worth watching to see some events from the Cylon's perspective. Definitely left me wanting more....I'm off to buy Caprica now, even though the general consensus seems to be that it isn't anywhere near BSG quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 1 Dec. 2009
By 
Ms. A. Winfield "Fishboy" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
if your a battlestar fan this is great
the atmosphere and everything else is in keeping with the rest
it gives some insight into the struggle from the cylons point of view
my only real complaint is that it doesnt go far enough
it takes us up to the point of the truce
i could stand to watch the rest
i dont know what film the negative reviewers were watching but if they wanted more action whats the point
theres no point in showing all the battles again as weve seen them already.
it is a shame this is not to be included in any of the boxsets.
i cant wait till the caprica series next year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


126 of 142 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential treat for fans of the series, 27 Feb. 2010
By 
D. G. Whittaker (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I purchased The Plan with some trepidation, having read some of the more negative reviews emphasising the re-run footage/fan exploitation aspect of the release. I was relieved to find that this couldn't be further from the truth.

Rest assured that the script, direction and acting in this production are every bit as high in quality as the mainstream series. The early destruction of the colonies scenes are jaw dropping. The re-run footage used is actually brief and minimal, and is only utilised to show how seamlessly the plot of this story marries with the mainstream series, and of course to set a time frame for the events of 'The Plan' in relation to the main story.

The Plan is an excellent stand alone product, adding a fascinating new dimension to the Battlestar story arc; it is not simply a montage of old footage made to exploit completists. Furthermore, Edward James Olmos (Adama) seems to have hit his stride as a director with this one, which doesn't suffer from the pace problems which marred a couple of the main series episodes he directed.

Battlestar newcomers should definitely start with the mini series, and then go straight to season 1; 'The Plan' is spoiler-tastic if you have yet to see season four and five. For exisiting fans of the series, who have seen the final season, 'The Plan' is an absolute treat, essential to your understanding of the story as a whole, and not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average film, good Blu-ray for The Plan, 9 Nov. 2009
I think the other reviewers have hit the nail on the head with their comments, so I can only agree with what's already been said. The film is a bit of a mixed bag. If you're a hardcore Battlestar fan or a completist (like myself) I'd give it a 4 out of 5, simply for the fact that it got made and that it provides a fresh perspective on practically all of the events from the entire Battlestar timeline. If you're not in those categories, I'd say a 3 out of 5 is fair. As already highlighted, the story is not as tight, captivating or fast-flowing as it could be. The performances are great though, particularly Dean Stockwell. Some of the CGI is great to see, particularly the original attack on the colonies, which really shows the superior force of the Cylons at that moment for the first time. To my taste though, there was rather too much footage recycled from the main series (strangely some of it seems higher quality than that found in the Blu-ray boxset of the entire series, perhaps it was re-rendered or re-mastered for this to match into more recent filming?). Of course the repetition/recycling is somewhat necessary to the plot they've chosen for The Plan. I can't say more without spoilers, but I'd recommend a rental if you're sitting on the fence. It's definitely not an essential purchase. The Blu-ray itself has the same high quality audio and faithful (for which read sometimes sharp, sometimes deliberately noisy and/or over-saturated) visuals as the Blu-ray complete boxset. No particular surprises or changes there. There's also some interesting extras and a new quiz via BD-Live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Battlestar Galactica: The Plan [Blu-ray]
Battlestar Galactica: The Plan [Blu-ray] by Edward James Olmos (Blu-ray - 2012)
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews