Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deftones' sonic masterpiece
"Koi No Yokan" sees the Deftones' music reach a maturity that allows them to navigate rougher textures and beautiful soundscapes with great dexterity. Very much building on from previous album "Diamond Eyes", the subsequent evolution and refinement of their sound makes "Koi No Yokan", to me, one of the Deftones' stand out works.

Lead single 'Leathers', which...
Published 16 months ago by lulteaser

versus
4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overrated
Has anyone else ever noticed how the majority of people who write reviews tend to adore a particular product? Of course, everyone is entitled to their opinions, but I really must be listening to a different album from the people who claim this album is a masterpiece, or the Deftones best album. For me personally, it's nowhere near. I love the Deftones. LOVE. Saying that,...
Published 22 months ago by Kris Rees


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year by a country mile, 21 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: Koi No Yokan (Audio CD)
Simply stunning on all levels. So much thought, energy and beauty oozing from every track. For me this is their best album, even better than Around the Fur.

Best tracks? well, they're all incredible but standouts for me are:

Graphic Nature
Leathers
Romantic Dreams
Rosemary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another fine release from the Casanova's of metal, 15 Mar 2013
By 
patrick (Herefordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Koi No Yokan (Audio CD)
There's something about Deftones that sets them apart from the rest of the alt-metal/heavy rock bands around today. I guess the fact that they blend aggression and softness together so perfectly is a huge factor in what makes their music so interesting. But it's also the skill each band member possesses. Whether it's Stephen Carpenter's heavy layers of ambient guitar, Abe Cunningham's crisp snare, or Chino Moreno's effortlessly lush vocals, these guys are veterans of the metal scene and can always be relied upon to provide honest, integral and skillful music.

Koi No Yokan is just another step forward for these guys. They seem to have managed to balance all of their strengths perfectly on this album. Opening track 'Swerve City', with it's relentlessly heavy groove and dreamy verses makes for an ideal starting point, setting the mood for the rest of the album.

Second track 'Romantic Dreams' is vintage sounding Deftones, where they use their romantic/seductive sound that they do so well to soften the energetic blow of the previous track. Other stand out tracks include; 'Poltergeist', 'Tempest' and 'Goon Squad', and really, this is the first Deftones album since White Pony that doesn't have a single weak track.

The only reason that this album doesn't get 5 stars is because it would be nice to see Deftones try something really out of their comfort zone. I mean, they already have a pretty varied sound, and they are not scared to experiment, but this is still very much a typical Deftones album, just done especially well.

That being said, for anyone just getting into the band, this album (along with White Pony) is an ideal starting point, and is a release that Chino & Co should be proud of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good., 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Koi No Yokan (Audio CD)
I love Deftones. Some great heavy riffs here which are my favourite but really, only 3 songs to add to my favourite Deftones tracks of all time. Still a good album though and very DEFtones. Just why I love 'em!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost a masterpiece...?, 18 Feb 2013
By 
C. Watmough (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Koi No Yokan (Audio CD)
I will start by saying that I wasn't expecting this album to be as good as it is. I mean no disrespect to the Deftones, but I wasn't that taken with Saturday Night Wrist or Diamond Eyes. Koi No Yokan, on the other hand, is sublime from start to finish. It is heavy yet melodic, with wonderful vocals and crushing riffs. If I had to pick a stand out track, it would be 'Poltergeist', which crashes and soars from verse to chorus. For me it's the best album of 2012, and a mighty return to form for the Deftones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You just never know what you're going to expect from Deftones on any album, yet they constantly impress with new sounds and new ideas which still maintain their sound and style -- great album full of great songs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Koi NoYokan, 2 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Koi No Yokan (Audio CD)
If your a fan of Saturday Night Wrist and Diamond Eyes, you'll sink straight into this album with joy. From the initial heavy guitar riff of the first track to the beautiful and dreamy final track, for the most part, it was bliss. The singles from the album, 'Tempest' and 'Leathers' are great tracks, but as a fine example of how good this album is, yet again, Deftones prove their is more to chew on, with rich and beautiful tracks like 'Entombed' and 'Rosemary' that gel the album together. Chino's raw screams come to the fore in more heavier tracks like 'Gauze' and 'Goon Squad'.
I cannot really fault this album. Its another fine release from a band that doesnt dissapoint, unless your the type that refuses to let go of the first two albums, as some people do, and I understand. Deftones have expanded and come along way since their raw unhinged beginnings, but in my opinion, have retain the the Deftones style we all know and love. They have evolved, refined and honed this style with grace and beauty. I welcome more material like this in the future.
Keep up the good work. One love for Chi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the Year, 15 Dec 2012
By 
J. Leggett (Oxford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Koi No Yokan (Audio CD)
Sublime, intense,powerful.... and even better than the incredible Diamond Eyes. There are very,very few bands that keep improving so dramatically 15 -20 years in, but here is one. This album needs to be heard to be believed so buy it now and do not hesitate.Deftones - you rock my world !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crushing dreamscapes, 12 Nov 2012
By 
Darkwave81 "jackiepoo" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Koi No Yokan (Audio CD)
Deftones have a difficult time not making a consistent album, and there latest album "Koi No Yokan" is no exception. Every track effortlessly flows from one to the other in perhaps what could be there most honest sounding album to date.

If I could compare albums its somewhere between Saturday Night Wrist and Diamond eyes. The production is slick and crystal clear that makes space for a lot more ambience and dream like textures which really gives this album an atmosphere that is distinct from their previous work while retaining their aggressive foundations. Chinos vocal work is as memorable as ever, with guitars/bass/drums to follow giving each song a melody that is instantly engaging and gratifying.

Stand out tracks for me are Leathers, poltergeist, Gauze, Entombed and rosemary, which are some of their most impressive works to date.

I think its safe to say that this album lives up to most of its expectations amongst most fans, not too far deviating from a formula that sounds good but also capturing a glimpse into something that feels like more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great album!, 17 Jun 2013
This review is from: Koi No Yokan (Audio CD)
I thank the amazing Arnór Dan of Agent Fresco for pointing me in the direction of Deftones, who I have liked over the years but never owned an album of. Arnór sited Chino Moreno as the inspiration for his singing style so I took a closer look and decided to buy Koi No Yokan. Not disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice, 11 April 2013
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Koi No Yokan (Audio CD)
deftones produced some grand quality with their last album which was a marked improvement on saturday night wrist which strangled the life out of me at times, this is a step up in every direction.
Feeling dreamier than the band have for a while this album soothes and tortures in equal measure with his ability to bring quality to the fore. This is one band on form right here and now. A powerful album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Koi No Yokan
Koi No Yokan by Deftones (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews