Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Biolante!!!
Loved the idea of this movie. Loved the crazy concept of Biolante.
A little upset by the slightly cloying Disneyfied feeling to the storyline, but the battles more than make up for it.
As a DaiKaiju fan I feel Biolante has been so underused, would so want to see her have another crack at the big G.
This DVD is a nice recording of the film and very nicely...
Published 13 months ago by Charles James Craddock

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some interesting ideas, but not one of the Big Feller's best
Despite - or perhaps because of - being picked up for US distribution by Miramax, 1989's Godzilla Vs. Biollante has long been one of the hardest entries in the series to find in an English-friendly version, with only an Asian Region 4 DVD offering (occasionally bizarre) English subtitles until Echo Bridge's much delayed US Blu-ray and DVD finally hit stores. It's tempting...
Published on 11 May 2012 by Trevor Willsmer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Biolante!!!, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Godzilla Vs Biollante [DVD] [2012] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Loved the idea of this movie. Loved the crazy concept of Biolante.
A little upset by the slightly cloying Disneyfied feeling to the storyline, but the battles more than make up for it.
As a DaiKaiju fan I feel Biolante has been so underused, would so want to see her have another crack at the big G.
This DVD is a nice recording of the film and very nicely put together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, if slightly bizarre, 9 Feb 2013
This review is from: Godzilla Vs Biollante [DVD] [2012] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Most Godzilla movies are pretty barmy, but this one -in which Godzilla faces off against a giant mutated rose- is barmier than most.

The plot rambles erratically, but in the end it doesn't matter too much as the film plays out energetically and there are some wonderfully impressive set-pieces which more than make up for plot deficiencies (the military attack on Godzilla in a driving rainstorm is particularly impressive).

Entertaining, if slightly bizarre, monster fare...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some interesting ideas, but not one of the Big Feller's best, 11 May 2012
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Despite - or perhaps because of - being picked up for US distribution by Miramax, 1989's Godzilla Vs. Biollante has long been one of the hardest entries in the series to find in an English-friendly version, with only an Asian Region 4 DVD offering (occasionally bizarre) English subtitles until Echo Bridge's much delayed US Blu-ray and DVD finally hit stores. It's tempting to think that its above average reputation is a case of absence making the heart grow fonder because it's not one of the big feller's better films. There are certainly some good ideas, but the script and execution are rather inconsistent and occasionally leave much to be desired.

This time the evil is not nuclear but bioengineering as various multi-national companies fight (literally) over Godzilla's cells to create a nuclear energy eating bacteria, only to discover that by creating a biological weapon to take on Godzilla they risk creating an even bigger monster. Of course, it doesn't help that the brilliant Japanese scientist working on the project borrows some of the cells to cultivate a new plant spliced with some of his dead daughter's genes, which is the sort of thing that never ends well. Sure enough, when Godzilla makes his belated reappearance from the volcano he was consigned to at the end of 1984's The Return of Godzilla/Godzilla 1985, there's a giant carnivorous plant with giant flytrap tendrils to contend with while the Japanese authorities find themselves watching on the sidelines knowing that they'll have to deal with whoever wins...

The film takes the series' ecological message to its logical conclusion by making the ultimate villains a ruthless Arab oil kingdom this time round, though the subplot with their hit man taking out everyone in their way isn't any more convincing than the atrocious English language abilities of the cast: much of the first half hour is delivered in what is allegedly English, but it's delivered in such a phonetically stilted style through such thick Japanese accents that you'll be reaching for the subtitle button on the new release (the already awkward English dialogue was even more awkwardly translated on the Chinese DVD so that lines like "We're in trouble" were rather charmingly translated into English as "Oh bugger."). It doesn't help that even the presumably native English speakers in the cast can't act and put the emphasis on the wrong syllables or are handed atrocious direlogue - at one point the hit man says "Kiss you guys!" to a trio of Aussie mercenaries who won't be appearing in the rest of the film.

The effects are variable as well. While Biollante is for the most part surprisingly well realised, even if you do expect it to start singing "I'm a Mean green Mutha From Outer Space and I'm Bad" at any moment, the redesigned Godzilla suit in the film fares particularly badly with the less than flattering 80s film stock that makes it look rather flat and plastic. Some of the model work in the highrises of the Osaka Business Park that Godzilla stomps his way through is surprisingly undetailed and much more obviously artificial than usual too. But more of a problem is that it seems caught between trying to do something new with the formula only to cast its seed on stony ground and go back to the usual we've-tried-everything-and-nothing-can-stop-it routine, which is at times a little bit too routine. Nor is it helped by a score that at times feels like it's been laid on the wrong picture by mistake, veering from the classic Godzilla sound - albeit at one point given an 80s rock makeover - to a jaunty little march that sounds like something from an old British war movie. It still has its compensations like Godzilla's return being heralded by the shared dream of a classroom of psychic school kids or a nice "He's behind you moment," but it never really rises to its potential and ends up feeling just a bit average.

The picture quality on Echo Bridge's region-free Blu-ray doesn't really make much of a case for the format - it's hard to imagine the master material Toho provided looking that much better than the DVD - but is acceptable for a budget title and it comes both with the original Japanese soundtrack and an English dub, with different subtitles for each. Better still, it actually has extra features: a short featurette on the design of Biollante and the Super X2 and a very good 49-minute documentary about the making of the film with substantial interviews with the crew, much behind the scenes footage and even some deleted footage, including understandably unused stop-motion animation and the original hand-drawn animated ending. An audio commentary was recorded, but due to delays in Toho clearing it wasn't included on the initial pressing, though the label still hopes to include it on future pressings - though considering how notoriously tardy Toho are in signing off on extras, don't hold your breath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Godzilla Vs Biollante Blu Ray, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Best Godzilla Movie ive seen, and it works on my UK PS3 Quick delivery, Japan knows how to make the best Godzilla movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Underwhelming Ending, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I brought this on import not knowing if it would work on my UK PS3. I'm happy to report that it does work.

I brought Godzilla vs. Biolante after watching and loving Pacific Rim with my son. I've seen and enjoyed Godzilla films before, but this just seemed confused. It has some interesting ideas, and the story is OK, but the final battle between the two monsters was underwhelming. It left me wanting more - maybe a proper resolution - but alas it doesn't deliver on the things you'd expect from a Godzilla movie.

I also purchased Daimajin and and Gamera trilogy box sets and all six of those films are superior to this film which I would consider a missed opportunity considering the amount of new and interesting ideas in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Bag, 21 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Godzilla Vs Biollante [DVD] [2012] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I had seen this before so knew what to expect story-wise, Biolante is a good monster but as with many in the series is not active enough throughout the film. i wont go into the story itself but for me it is one of the mid-level films, for fans you need to watch it but if i was trying to convert a new viewer there are others that would be higher up the list (G vs Destroyer).
There are several sub-title choices but i havent found which actually fits with the English dub, you seem to get subs appearing for diologue that is already dubbed and instances of both Japanese and English text on screen at the same time or no subs at all even when it should be showing the location of a new scene, perhaps its my player?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of my favourite Godzilla movies. It's not one of the best but for some reason i love it. The final biollante form is great and more monstrous than the usual guy in a suit (although I love that too).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Remove brain & ENJOY!, 21 April 2013
By 
S. J. O'Leary (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Godzilla Vs Biollante [DVD] [2012] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The good - Great Toho special effects - the Biollante monster looks epic and scary. The atmosphere and sets are super well done and the scenes of destruction are very satisfying.

The bad - Like a lot of Godzilla movies, the plot isn't the best. It's quite hard to make sense of anything, even with English translation, but luckily its the sort of film where it doesn't really matter.

So sit back and enjoy a giant monster battle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Plant vs Beast, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Godzilla Vs Biollante [DVD] [2012] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Another strangely eco friendly Godzilla film. I was expecting a moster mash, alas what I received was another stop Godzilla menace and a minor monster fight. However regardless of the lack of moster smashing the film is fun Godzilla film. However I might be biased as I enjoy all Godzilla films made by Toho.
I have no issues with subtitles but sometimes you just want to watch and enjoy so it was a shame that the english audio track is in nono and compared to the 5.1 DTS original japanese audio track.
This is a great entry into the Godzilla cannon a must see for Godzilla completists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars GODZILLA vs BOREDOM, 19 Dec 2011
By 
C. Kingswell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This movie is a follow-up to 'Godzilla 1985' which , in my opinion, was very entertaining and had a great music score. In comparison, 'Godzilla vs Biollante' is unbearably tedious. Following Godzilla's apparent demise in the previous movie, some of his cells are found and rival factions fight it out to get their hands on them. A scientist then uses the cells to create an indestructible plant which he thinks will benefit mankind. The plant, now called Biollante, grows to gigantic proportions and has the same cell structure as Godzilla's.
Godzilla awakens after several explosions take place at the volcanic site where he was believed to have died, and he immediately heads for Tokyo. A brief battle ensues between him and Biollante in which he emerges as the victor. The authorities then attempt to kill him with every means at their disposal, finally injecting him with an anti-nuclear bacteria which should, in theory, destroy him. Then, Biollante returns for an all-out battle with Godzilla.
The movie has its moments, but, at 105 minutes, it is way too long, with Godzilla not even appearing until after 40 minutes has elapsed. In fact, his time on screen seems rather limited, with too much emphasis on unnecessary dialogue. The music score by Koichi Sugiyama doesn't help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Godzilla Vs Biollante [DVD] [2012] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: 28.15
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews