Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Strength To Strength
Conor J. O'Brien is a fine song writer. No doubt about it. Villagers' 2010
album 'Becoming A Jackal' was a quietly menacing and thoroughly engrossing
affair. The kind of stuff which gave you the shivers in a very nice way.

Their new release 'Awayland' opens up a few new avenues. The sound, though
still substantially acoustic in nature, has...
Published 18 months ago by The Wolf

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Patchy album
A few good songs: in particular, 'The Waves', 'Nothing Arrived' and 'In a Newfound Land You Are Free'.

The most beautiful bit of the album is the first two thirds of the opening song, 'My Lighthouse', which is criminally ruined by a really unpleasant key-change ending.

A quite lyrical album in places but slightly silly and even cheesy in others...
Published 10 months ago by Our Mutual Fiend


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awayland Hits Home, 22 Feb 2013
This review is from: Awayland (Audio CD)
This is a spellbinding collection of songs from the brilliant mind of Conor O'Brian, translated into an ever evolving collection by his collaborators. This support and depth makes Awayland an engaging listen, perhaps more so than the introspective debut, Becoming a Jackal.
Far from his initial wonderings backed by little more than an acoustic guitar, seeing O'Brian and Co. live demonstrates the diversity and perspective of this record- never before has the energy of the record, particularly on tracks such as The Bell and the masterful Earthly Pleasure, been so clearly conveyed. The wider spread of influences goes to make this not only the strongest set of songs O'Brian has ever assembled, but perhaps the strongest that any act has this year. Rereshing and engaging, Awayland never ceases to amaze.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it! Just incredible, 14 Jan 2013
This review is from: {Awayland} (MP3 Download)
Fantastic, they've really expanded since Becoming a Jackal, delving into the relms of electronica with a twist of funk and jazz. Only on my first listen but my favourites so far... My Lighthouse, The Waves and Passing a Message. Sublime!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A really interesting album and way way better that the first one, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: {Awayland} (MP3 Download)
A really interesting album and way way better that the first one. The music is well written and you can really see a movement into new areas of writing some great lyrics too. Track three is a corker and addictive, other tracks on the album a little more conventional but you will find something you really enjoy. Influences abound through this album from Radiohead to Cold playish singing quality, I shall put it on now...keep going lads its getting better and better but keep to the weird and steer clear of commercialism...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite listening at the moment, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Awayland (Audio CD)
Love almost all the tracks on this album. Heard `Waves` first, via social media, then read an interview with Villagers in a music zine. Listened to a few tracks on-line- then had to buy it. Lyrically, wonderful! Happy me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Step Forward., 29 Sep 2013
By 
Kevin Williams "Kev" (Newport, S.Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Awayland (Audio CD)
I really liked ' Becoming A Jackal', and in many ways this is a move forward, a lot more electronic,better songs and production.
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Patchy album, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Awayland (Audio CD)
A few good songs: in particular, 'The Waves', 'Nothing Arrived' and 'In a Newfound Land You Are Free'.

The most beautiful bit of the album is the first two thirds of the opening song, 'My Lighthouse', which is criminally ruined by a really unpleasant key-change ending.

A quite lyrical album in places but slightly silly and even cheesy in others.

Overall, a bit too nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as good as hoped., 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Awayland (Audio CD)
Purchased this on the strength of "The Bell". A marvellous track constantly played on 6 Music.
However apart from that and " Nothing arrived" "The Waves" and "My Lighthouse" Nothing else really stands out.
I do though look forward to hearing more from them, as I suspect there is better to come. Perhaps it's time for me to buy their
first album which is highly rated..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed immensely., 22 Mar 2013
By 
T. Lill "timlill" (Cambridgeshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: {Awayland} (MP3 Download)
Grear lyrics and great tunes make this a must have album. Was only 5 via amazon mp3 download app.
Fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marvelous, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Awayland (Audio CD)
A wonderful 2nd album. I was expecting more of their first album's sound to be present yet, barring the first track, it's a complete departure. Ambitious and successful, album of the year contender already. I'll stop gushing now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A long time coming - and not entirely worth the wait., 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: {Awayland} (MP3 Download)
I first became acquainted with Villagers in mid-2011 and was lucky enough to see them perform in Placa del Rei in Barcelona in September of that year - and coincidentally I'm off to see them again tonight in the less glamorous surroundings of the old Digbeth Institute in Birmingham - well it is St. Valentine's Day.

I bought this album a couple of days after it was released and had mixed feelings at first. i've played it a lot since and have reconciled some of my differences and have finally accepted that "The Waves" is a rather good song (I didn't enjoy it at all at first) and "Nothing Arrived" is one of those tunes that you know upon first hearing that you will love for years, but I just feel that several of the tracks seem to be filler to make the album long enough. "Judgement Call" is a case in point. It seems to lack the finesse of so many of the songs on "Becoming a Jackal" and doesn't really go anywhere. I find myself reaching for the skip button. Too many of the tracks seem insubstantial and unmemorable. I've been listening to the two albums back to back in the car for a couple of weeks and can't help thinking that "{Awayland}" only achieves the high standards of the first album a few times.

If you're already a fan, then you've probably already got both, so why are you reading this review? If you're just discovering Villagers then my advice would be to listen to "Becoming a Jackal" first and give "{Awayland}" a try when you're convinced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Awayland
Awayland by Villagers (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews