Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (108)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterly tale of western adventure
I was first drawn to Lonesome Dove because of its Pulitzer Prize winning pedigree. Having never read a western novel before I didn't know what to expect. But if want an authentic, exciting and intelligent adventure story then look no further. The journey of The Hat Creek Cattle Company is one that you just might never want to come to an end as you share the trail with...
Published on 30 May 1999

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book, poor editing
I loved this book and was pleased to find it recommended on this site. I saw the serialised TV version in the early 90s and have always remembered what a good story it was, and was not disappointed. The only reason this is not a five star review is the editing, which is very poor. I don't expect perfection but there were an awful lot of mistakes; incorrect words, words...
Published 18 months ago by Ms. E. Robinson


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterly tale of western adventure, 30 May 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Lonesome Dove (Paperback)
I was first drawn to Lonesome Dove because of its Pulitzer Prize winning pedigree. Having never read a western novel before I didn't know what to expect. But if want an authentic, exciting and intelligent adventure story then look no further. The journey of The Hat Creek Cattle Company is one that you just might never want to come to an end as you share the trail with Captain Woodrow Call and Gus McCrae. Lonesome Dove spawned prequels and sequels, none of which quite reach the heights of the original, not because they were inferior books, but because the first in the series is such a difficult act to follow. If you've never read a western before then try Lonesome Dove and like me you might just be in for an unexpected treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Staggering!, 5 Mar 2012
By 
Bluecashmere. (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonesome Dove (Paperback)
I have just completed a novel of approaching 900 pages that I wished never to end. It is quite magnificent, so much so that it feels like an impertinence to offer even the most lavish praise. I'm sure that it is not only in the heat of the moment that I'd claim for it a quite remarkable power - a power to change and enhance sensibility that I can't easily find a rival to match. By turn it is intelligent, perceptive, stomach-churning, delicate, richly funny (I, too, like another reviewer found myself laughing out loud) and throughout infused with the most generous love of humanity with all its weaknesses and follies. It has a cast of sharply realised individuals with whom even amongst the most degenerate, with perhaps one exception, we can find windows into aspects of ourselves. Without doubt the best novel I have read for many a long year, indeed since "Blood Meridian" and "The Border Trilogy". A parallel study would be fascinating but not something I propose to embark on here! I have yet to see the film, but the casting sounds inspired. Blurbs deal so often in trite superlatives for the mediocre at best so it is difficult to register the full impact of something so very special. I realise I have said nothing of its contents. It seems to me too great to be pigeon-holed into a genre. The setting is vital but there is scarcely anything that does not transcend the shifting locale, richly evoked as it is. A few inadequate words that I yet hope may encourage others to read this tremendous book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LD IS THE GREATEST NOVEL EVER WRITTEN!!!, 27 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonesome Dove (Paperback)
Lonesome Dove is truly just one of those novels. Yes, it's that novel you're desperately looking for every time you're after something new to read, something that will grip you, that you will live every day to read until it is done, whose characters you will WANT to be with, to KNOW how they fare. It is beautifully written, charming and wonderful, epic and adventurous; and yes, it is a western. Very few westerns are good, let alone BRILLIANT. Since reading Lonesome Dove, I have searched the entire western cannon for anything near as good, and the only other book that ever came close was Kit Cope Rides the High Country. Josey Wales: Gone To Texas & The Vengeance Trail Of Josey Wales [Two Westerns is also probably the only other western out there that will grip you as a book should. I'm not sure why, but westerns are usually low-quality. But I promise you, Lonesome Dove is considered by many to be one of the greatest novels every written, western or not. I have read it 8 times, and searched endlessly for something half as good, and the two other novels I mentioned are the only two I ever found. If you have already read Lonesome Dove, I highly recommend them, if you haven't read Lonesome Dove, READ IT NOW!!! It is a love song to beautiful writing, to wonderful plotting, to great, deep, authentic characters. Everything that is good about writing is here in abundance, IT WON THE PULITZER PRIZE AFTER ALL, AND FOR A VERY GOOD REASON! READ IT READ IT READ IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The great western novel!, 15 May 2007
By 
I really can't add much to what as already been said about this book, it is truly an American Classic. This story of two Texas Rangers in the twilight of there lives who decide on one last adventure, a cattle drive to the wilds of Montana. From the outside this might sound like a typical genre western, but nothing could be farther from the truth. This is a realistic story filled with real characters who you will love, hate, and sympathize with. McMurtry breathes life into this story like few authors are ever able to do. Gus, Woodrow, Pea Eye, Jake, Lorena, Blue Duck become real people that still pass through mind. If you read one book this year make it "Lonesome Dove" you will not be sorry! For another book peopled with McMurtry like Characters try "Across the High Lonesome." A book I picked up after seeing it recommended by McMurtry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lonesome dove, 30 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Lonesome Dove (Paperback)
i was given this book by a friend who loved it.i didn't hold much hope of getting through it, it seemed so long. but one winters day i had nothing else to read and embarked on this. it was the best book i think i have ever read, it wasn't long enough! you know the feeling when you're reading a book and you just can't wait to get back to it. I annoyed a lot of friends because i wouldn't put this book down. when i finished it i bought copies for them too, so they could understand and forgive me.this is a great book to get compleatly absorbed in. I want to go and read it again now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the great American novels!, 10 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Lonesome Dove (Paperback)
This review is from: Lonesome Dove (Mass Market Paperback)
I just reread this book again and was reminded how truly wonderful it is. I originally read it years ago and if anything enjoyed it more this time. I don't read many westerns, but this is truly something more. A book all Americans should read. For a great eread set in the modern American west do try "Across the High Lonesome," a book I picked up after seeing it recommended by Mr. McMurtry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding: a modern classic, 26 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Lonesome Dove (Paperback)
This is an outstanding novel: like all classics, it's great the first time you read it, and it gets better the more times you read it.
At one level, it's a typical Western: good guys, bad guys, a damsel in distress and a few gunfights. It's a terrific adventure story of life on the cattle trails as a group of cowboys take a herd from Texas to Montana. The plot is complex and twisting to maintain your interest. The detail and atmosphere ring true: many of the events are based on historical fact.
But you don't have to enjoy westerns to like this book: the tradition and cliches of the western genre never intrude. It's also a profoundly moving work of literature. The characters are vivid: all of them, from the main characters to the incidental passers-by, come alive: you love 'em, hate 'em, laugh with them and at them. The consistent theme through the book is a longing for those pioneer days: heroism and bravery contrast with selfishness and cowardice; ambition with apathy, and hope with despair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Editor needed, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonesome Dove (Kindle Edition)
Great plot, fully-fleshed characters but constant repetition of phrases irritated. Either he should read his own stuff or have someone do it for him.Smacks of laziness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful epic character driven saga., 4 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. R. N. Lock "Ricky Lock" (Bexley, Kent) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonesome Dove (Paperback)
This is a great adventure novel with great characters. It's written with wit and character building that is wonderfully entertaining. It's a sweeping saga that takes you into the heart of a western country that won't easily be forgotten afterwards - Larry Mc McMurtry has a great style of writing and he draws you into a land of harshness and opportunity - moving you from pathos to comedy and to many other emotions as the story unfolds. It's a wonderful epic and it will keep you engaged long into the night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome!, 16 July 2009
By 
Michael W. A. Kaal (Netherlands, Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonesome Dove (Paperback)
Maybe not as spectacular as certain other western novels, but this epic saga is a must read for western fans.
It keeps you wanting to turn pages and feels you leaving empty after reading the last sentence...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews