Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting collection of memoirs
Odd title as the book includes a chapter on the Burma theatre. However, Martin Bowman has written a prodigious number of books on the air war in World War 2 including several about the Mosquito already so finding a new title might be difficult. Several previous books have included a lot of lists of missions, which, whilst representing an impressive amount of research, can...
Published on 9 Mar. 2009 by G. M. Brown

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rather too much of a catalogue
I love the Mosquito and have seen one close up at Hatfield in the early sixties. This book is not quite the definitive work that I was hoping for. There were rather too many repetitions and I began to wonder whether this was a compilation of other people's efforts rather than a researched volume.

Nevertheless this book does represent a comprehensive list of the...
Published 22 months ago by Budcus


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting collection of memoirs, 9 Mar. 2009
By 
G. M. Brown (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Odd title as the book includes a chapter on the Burma theatre. However, Martin Bowman has written a prodigious number of books on the air war in World War 2 including several about the Mosquito already so finding a new title might be difficult. Several previous books have included a lot of lists of missions, which, whilst representing an impressive amount of research, can make for pretty tedious reading. This one is better with a liberal sprinkling of first hand recollections of Mosquito crew including the often neglected photo-reconnaissance missions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rather too much of a catalogue, 29 May 2013
By 
Budcus (South Coast) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mosquito: Menacing the Reich: Combat Action in the Twin-engine Wooden Wonder of World War II (Kindle Edition)
I love the Mosquito and have seen one close up at Hatfield in the early sixties. This book is not quite the definitive work that I was hoping for. There were rather too many repetitions and I began to wonder whether this was a compilation of other people's efforts rather than a researched volume.

Nevertheless this book does represent a comprehensive list of the operational life of the Mosquito in WW2 and beyond with some valuable insight into the character of the people who flew them. It also brought into sharp focus the extreme danger of flying in the years before D Day. it also recounted the well documented failure of the Mosquito in tropical climates which appears in one paragraph of this book to be discounted as untrue but does later admit that apparent structural failure was three times higher in the Mosquito in this theatre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mosquitoes in action, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mosquito: Menacing the Reich: Combat Action in the Twin-engine Wooden Wonder of World War II (Kindle Edition)
Found this book is a fascinating read. Interesting to read about the pilots and navigators that flew the Mosquito during World War 2. Some good descriptive passages about low level attacks and reconnaissance missions. Would definitely recommend to readers interested in World War 2 aviation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Virtually unreadable, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mosquito: Menacing the Reich: Combat Action in the Twin-engine Wooden Wonder of World War II (Kindle Edition)
While this appears to be well researched, there is no discernible narrative. The odd vignette from former aircrew aside, the book appears to be a rather dull recitation of facts presented with all the flair and passion of the Saturday afternoon football results, focusing on which aircraft and crews were lost with little description of what they accomplished. I struggled with, then eventually gave up during the first chapter. I flicked through the later ones to see if there was any likely improvement, then promptly deleted it from my iPad to free up the space for something more worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as being there ..., 16 Feb. 2013
By 
John Atkinson "ManxTog" (Douglas, Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I feel that this book succeeds in conveying the experience of what it was like to take part in flying operations with the Mosquito aircraft. The many accounts are vivid and detailed and contain the sort of facts needed to get one into the cockpit and flying the machine. The sounds and smells are recounted as well as operational details of exactly how targets were attacked, altitudes, approach and navigational details, etc. There is also a lot of detail concerning the various problems of flying with Merlin engines and nursing damaged planes back to a friendly airfield. All in all, an excellent account of what it was really like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Virtually unreadable, 8 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mosquito: Menacing the Reich: Combat Action in the Twin-engine Wooden Wonder of World War II (Kindle Edition)
It is turgid and almost unreadable. I was very disappointed. I gave up and did not finish the book. This was a shame since it was well researched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mosquito, 21 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mosquito: Menacing the Reich: Combat Action in the Twin-engine Wooden Wonder of World War II (Kindle Edition)
An in-depth look at all combat operations for this amazing aircraft! This is a book for the more informed reader...it gets a bit stuck in the facts and figures of combat operations which gets repetitive. There is little "boys own" descriptive but some of the pilots memories although brief are interesting. There are copious notes that must be read in conjunction with the main text otherwise you don't get the fuller picture. As good book but hard going in some sections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating read, 22 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mosquito: Menacing the Reich: Combat Action in the Twin-engine Wooden Wonder of World War II (Kindle Edition)
I have just started reading books that are about WWII and in particular the RAF .
I had heard of the mosquito but knew nothing about it, I didn't realize that it played such an important part in the combat arena.
I recommend that anyone interested in the history of the RAF or WW11 should read the book, I promise you will find it hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Experience WWII night bombing direct rom the cockpit of the Mozzie, 1 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a revealing and insightful commentary on the many and varied missions flown by the WWII Mozzie squadrons. It uses and quotes very frequently from the flying logs and debriefing reports of the aircrew. So it can be a bit like reading the telephone directory, but if you persevere you start to get a real feeling for what it was like to fly these missions. How they routed to and returned from each mission with very dry comments on everything from the cold to the terminal effects of the flak and night-fighters on their fellow aircrew. This alone gives you some understanding of the stress of continually flying sorties and encountering the same dangers again and again, night after night.

This is a good read for the period flying aficionado, but more about the brave Mozzie crews than the Mozzie itself - not that there is anything wrong with that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor., 7 Aug. 2013
By 
Lenny (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mosquito: Menacing the Reich: Combat Action in the Twin-engine Wooden Wonder of World War II (Kindle Edition)
Straight narrative descriptions of raid after raid. No analysis, no explanation. The words from the crews are worth reading but are completely without context. This is a book which begs for some soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews