Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb chronicling
His grammar doesn't seem to be perfect, but this guy really can tell a story.

It would have been very easy, unavoidable almost , to turn out a bland, matter-of-fact technical catalogue on less-than-perfect aircraft, but the author manages to mix clear descriptions of the technical deficiencies (that must necessarily be told) with enthralling tales of each...
Published on 5 Sep 2007 by Stuart Briggs

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but slightly wanders off piste in each chapter.
This book is a collection of stories about the development of odd aircraft or ones which had hideous vices and killed lots of pilots. Each chapter focusses on one type but seems to wander off to other aircraft of the same time period. It made it slightly confusing to follow at times. It covers both east and west aircraft from WWI to the very recent past. A reasonable...
Published 4 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb chronicling, 5 Sep 2007
By 
Stuart Briggs "stuartbriggs" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
His grammar doesn't seem to be perfect, but this guy really can tell a story.

It would have been very easy, unavoidable almost , to turn out a bland, matter-of-fact technical catalogue on less-than-perfect aircraft, but the author manages to mix clear descriptions of the technical deficiencies (that must necessarily be told) with enthralling tales of each aircraft's service history.

Even in the case of 'crude' WWI aircraft, the way each story is related makes this a very difficult book to put down.

Informative and thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 12 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent book on a very interesting topic that is not covered by many books.It is well research and easy to read.Humans mostly learn from their mistakes ,and aircraft designers are no different,this book is a must for younger readers to give them knowledge of aircraft that they most probably never heard of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but slightly wanders off piste in each chapter., 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Infamous Aircraft: Dangerous designs and their vices (Kindle Edition)
This book is a collection of stories about the development of odd aircraft or ones which had hideous vices and killed lots of pilots. Each chapter focusses on one type but seems to wander off to other aircraft of the same time period. It made it slightly confusing to follow at times. It covers both east and west aircraft from WWI to the very recent past. A reasonable read but I won't read it twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed this book, but more pictures needed., 15 May 2013
As an aircraft history fan, I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

I would however, have liked a few more pictures so I could visualise the airplanes. However, I read the book in conjunction with surfing the airplanes, and this added enormously to the experience. The web contains many pictures but not information to the depth of detail offered by Robert Jackson in the book.

My other quibble is I would have liked a bibliography to give me confidence that the author knew what he was talking about (although the text agreed with facts that I already had knowledge of), and enable me to follow up what I have read.

Just to add, that the book is also a tribute to the brave men and boys who tried to fly these planes and to the skills of the guys who actually managed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars and thought this a good read, however as some other reviews have mentioned ..., 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Infamous Aircraft: Dangerous designs and their vices (Kindle Edition)
I have a keen interest in aircraft, and thought this a good read, however as some other reviews have mentioned it really could have used more illustrations especially as a lot of the subject matter are largely unknown types that are rarely seen in more general aviation books. Still would have no problem recommending this though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good ideas gone wrong., 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Infamous Aircraft: Dangerous designs and their vices (Kindle Edition)
An interesting insight into aeronautical developments which did not quite cut the mustard. Some of the aircraft featured in this book should have scrapped before leaving the drawing board.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but not inspiring, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Infamous Aircraft: Dangerous designs and their vices (Kindle Edition)
An interesting but rather disturbing account of the international problems that faced aircraft designers in their constant quest for improvement.
It also highlighted the extreme bravery of the test pilots. Having been first of all a RAF ground engineer, and then civilian, I fully appreciated many of the problems encountered, and was frequently amazed.
A very good read if aeroplanes are in your blood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating!, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Infamous Aircraft: Dangerous designs and their vices (Kindle Edition)
I was 'very pleased with this book probably because I can remember a lot of the later aircraft covered. In the 50s and 60s a lot of the development was a bit "hit and miss" particularly when airframe designers were struggling to cope with the power of the new jet engines and effects of compressability as speeds approached Mach 1.0. Altogether a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Unfinished?, 1 Mar 2014
By 
A. Currah "gabblerachet" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Infamous Aircraft: Dangerous designs and their vices (Kindle Edition)
A very good book, however the Tarrant Tabor and Tu-144 (which are both mentioned in the blurb) are NOT in the Kindle edition, so I'm feeling a bit short changed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Infamous Aircraft: Dangerous designs and their vices, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Infamous Aircraft: Dangerous designs and their vices (Kindle Edition)
This was a great book for me. I could relate to all the aircraft from my childhood days of becoming an an avid aircraft enthusiast. Many I had forgotten about and reading about them refreshed my memory, and often to the models I had made.
However having all the background information about their development and flying characteristics made me realise just how difficult early aircraft were, when trying to meet military standards that seemed to change every week. Today we take flying as being quite normal and unspectactular, but to get to that stage many test pilots lost their lives and aircraft designer were almost learning aerodynamics 'on the hoof' as they faced new challenges.
This was a facination book well written, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I would have liked the author to have included more examples but I suppose there has to be a limit. Well worth a read if you wish to know the early background to aircraft development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews