Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death and Life in a Japanese POW camp
The harrowing experiences of an ordinary man in extraordinary circumstances. This first hand account of life as a prisoner medic in Japan during WWII proves to be both compelling and enthralling. It tackles, head on, the horrific subject of the ill treatment and often subsequent deaths of his fellow comrades, whom he had tended to, to the best of his abilities, with very...
Published on 25 Oct. 2011 by VandaP

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bloke bloke bloke grrrrrrr
could have been a very readable book, lots of facts/experiences without any glamorising but it was ruined by the overuse of the word ' bloke ' sometimes six times a page it really got on my nerves also the poor grammar eg beginning a new sentence with a conjunctive such as ' and ' thus making that sentence nonsense. If someone could go through it and tidy it up then I...
Published 5 months ago by rod


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death and Life in a Japanese POW camp, 25 Oct. 2011
The harrowing experiences of an ordinary man in extraordinary circumstances. This first hand account of life as a prisoner medic in Japan during WWII proves to be both compelling and enthralling. It tackles, head on, the horrific subject of the ill treatment and often subsequent deaths of his fellow comrades, whom he had tended to, to the best of his abilities, with very few supplies and little experience. His description of his first encounter of death is dealt with in a succinct manner and his recollections of accepting his freedom and settling back into civilian life are particularly poignant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a book, 18 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is amazing, i could not put it down. It is simple, blunt and to the point account of an RAMC Medic. There are no frills attached. It is an emotional, enigning, and hart warming account of this medics career from training through, combat, capture, imprisenment, and post war adjustment. I could and probably will read this book again.
If your after a book that is goes into minute detail, and the whys and what fors, dont get this. If you want a very personal account of an individual expereances and thoughts, this will not disapoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Healing in Hell, 29 Oct. 2011
An absolutely riveting book, I picked it up from Waterstones before a flight to the Middle East and could not put it down. It is exceptionally well written and very easy reading. I passed it onto a friend on Tuesday and it's already gone through three pairs of hands in just under a week! Everyone has loved it so far and felt compelled to finish it at the expense of work commitments, children and all life's other distractions!

I have read a significant number of history books - I sat the history tripos at Sidney Sussex many years ago - and can say that it really is a cut above (and in many ways much more like a novel than a history book). That said, while it is a page turner, I felt I learnt an awful lot about the trials of the Burma railroad and life's struggles in an extreme situtation. Not many books combine excellent narrative with real content. Paul Cargledge's books on ancient Greece might be a point of comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Heartfelt Memoir, 1 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Healing in Hell : The Memoirs of a Far Eastern POW Medic (Kindle Edition)
This is one of the more sensitive FEPOW books I have read.

Mr Adams writes from the heart, pulling punches, but getting across his story so very well. What he saw, rather than what happened to him physically is at the centre of this memoir. It's not a journal of redemption or violence, though it contains reflections of both.

Read it, is all I can say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bloke bloke bloke grrrrrrr, 31 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Healing in Hell : The Memoirs of a Far Eastern POW Medic (Kindle Edition)
could have been a very readable book, lots of facts/experiences without any glamorising but it was ruined by the overuse of the word ' bloke ' sometimes six times a page it really got on my nerves also the poor grammar eg beginning a new sentence with a conjunctive such as ' and ' thus making that sentence nonsense. If someone could go through it and tidy it up then I would give it more stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading but nothing special., 1 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Healing in Hell : The Memoirs of a Far Eastern POW Medic (Kindle Edition)
This is a well written book which helps others to understand why so many of the last generation hate the Japanese and have been unable to forgive their attrocities during the 1939-45 war.
I'm glad he took time to write it and hope doing so helped him come to terms with things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent read,well written,, 29 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Healing in Hell : The Memoirs of a Far Eastern POW Medic (Kindle Edition)
An account of the life of pow s of the Japanese during the war.
Well written this book pulls no punches describing the horrors the men had to live with. But the book also tells of the spirit and help people can give in shockingly bad situations. The author gives an insight on the feelings he has living with the terrible memories ,,,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hell is the right word, 17 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Healing in Hell : The Memoirs of a Far Eastern POW Medic (Kindle Edition)
A great read, it takes you back to a brutal time but shows how to overcome the brutallity and indifference. I worked with a person who was in Changi he used to catch snakes to get money to live in prison. He cut is ankle and it quickly became ulcerated due to how low his body had become in the camps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I found it was stretched beynd need and would have been better served in abridged form, 13 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Healing in Hell : The Memoirs of a Far Eastern POW Medic (Kindle Edition)
What a horrific experience was being a POW of the Japanese. Therefore this story carries with it my sympathy. Despite this, I found it was stretched beynd need and would have been better served in abridged form. It jumped about a bit and made it a little difficult to follow in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars TRUE BRAVERY, 22 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Healing in Hell : The Memoirs of a Far Eastern POW Medic (Kindle Edition)
This book was inspirational, how these men could be so dedicated to helping others was truly amazing..What these men endured I believe showed the courage and tenacity of each and every one of them which I truly think would not have an equal today..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews