Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars37
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 July 2013
This book is brutal. A group of survivors go to rescue the one man who can save the world from zombie Armageddon. Dr Ekks the man with the cure. There is only one problem, he was last spotted in a Subway Station below the streets of New York. Added to this the city has been nuked by a neutron bomb designed to kill the zombie but it has not worked. So our intrepid bunch of followers go in search of (Spock) the doctor.
What follows is an underground bunker story. Very much in the ilk of James Herbert's Domain. Antagonists on the outside just waiting to break in. Rising water levels and other dangers within.
It is a good slow burning book. I knocked a star off as Adam took a bit too long to get to the climax.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2013
This novel is the follow-up to the superb 'Outpost' and the not-as-good-but-still-very-good 'Juggernaut'. 'Terminus' falls somewhere between the last two books - brilliant in places, inspired in others - but just falling short of Outpost's grim excellence. Not to say that this isn't anything but a cracking piece of apocalyptic fiction and a fresh spin on the 'dangerous mission to search for a cure' plot. There is some great descriptive prose, fleshing out the motley collection of characters and the ruined world in which they're trying to survive.
And be prepared, this is a bleak story. Unrelentingly grim for the most part, 'Terminus' stayed with me for days after I'd read it. The parasitic virus that has devastated the planet is steadily wiping out the human race, and there's not much that can be done to stop it.
Or is there?
We don't know. We may find out if there are further additions to the series. I hope there will be. The only real criticism I had of the book was that it didn't show as much of the infected or 'prowlers' as I would have liked. But that's probably just me!
Nevertheless, it's a great read. Action-packed and engrossing. This, along with Outpost and Juggernaut, would make a great film trilogy.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 24 December 2013
This is the third novel in this series, following on from Outpost and Juggernaut. The three books are set in different places and involve different people, but all dealing with various stages of the same dystopian scenario. In this book, the alien infection has covered much of the Earth, and in New York there is a concerted effort by a noted scientist to find a cure. When New York is bombed with nuclear weapons to try to stop the spread of the disease, a small squad of survivors must try to find the scientist and see whether his announcement of a cure is true. But can they get there before the prowlers get them?

This is a tightly woven novel which focuses on a small group of people in a world that has clearly been hit hard by the alien pathogen. This small group, operating in a small area of New York is on a focused mission, but there's plenty of action even in this narrowly defined group and area. The prowlers are everywhere and the rescuers each have their own motivations for what they are doing.

This is not a book for those of squeamish turn, nor for those offended by bad language. This series of books feature hard men and women who are fighting for survival and don't intend to let much get in their way. This book is no exception, and the narrative is short, staccato and breathless to fit the flow of the story.

I have thoroughly enjoyed all three of these books, and I hope there are more to come because there are certainly loads of unanswered questions and heaps of directions that the story could now take. There's a lot more to be learned about the infection itself, as you will see from reading these books, and I hope the author has some more books up his sleeve for us to enjoy. Definitely recommended, but start with Outpost first, then read Juggernaut before you read this one.
66 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 August 2013
Adam Baker's alien parasite continues its' reign of terror in the brilliant `Terminus.'
In the first book of the series, Outpost, we first learn of the alien infection that falls to Earth from a Russian Space station. The caretaker crew of a dormant oil rig learn that this infection has decimated civilisation, and is headed their way. In a neat twist to the current hordes of undead revenants storming the bookshelves, this infection spreads metallic tendrils and spines through the flesh and nervous systems of its' hosts, eventually killing their soul and leaving a homicidal, frenzied, hungry walking husk. We also learn that there is a guiding alien intelligence, almost like a hive mind.
The next of the series, `Juggernaut,' is a prequel that details how a precursor to the infection that destroys our world lands in the desert, where it decimates a team of mercenaries on a sham mission controlled by CIA rogues, eager to develop a new bio-weapon.
These books are brilliant fast paced reads with a kinetic, staccato prose, deeply flawed protagonists, and examples of human evil that prove every bit as deadly as the alien infection itself. All of which can be found in the latest installment.
In `Terminus,' New York is nuked (along with other major cities) by Presidential order in an attempt to slow the infection. But a neuroscientist and his team may have found crucial information about the infection, and a transmission is received from them deep in the city's trashed underground system. A team comprising of military, fire and rescue, and a prisoner who was a potential lab rat of the Doctor's, and may have a clue to his whereabouts, are dispatched to the underground to rescue the Doctor and retrieve his research.
This is the grimmest, bleakest installment of this series yet. The setting is claustrophobic in the extreme, an irradiated underground system of a devastated city. The revenant creatures are truly horrific and disturbing, with their bulging metal tumours and spines and unstoppable blood-lust. There are some wildly disturbing deaths by the infected, and some hybrid monstrosities that pay a respectful debt to `The Thing.' There is betrayal, counter betrayal, and as stated above human evil and manipulation every bit as destructive as the infected creatures. It seems a world without hope. And yet. Some of Baker's heroes are violent prison lifers, but they show courage, resolve and a concern for their fellows missing from the fascistic military who supposedly wear the badge of the good guys. The Fire and Rescue are also courageous and resourceful. The story shows that in such an extreme situation, background and past do not matter so much as the resolve to make a difference and protect those by your side in the present. The character of `Lupe,' the lifer and gang criminal, makes for a heroine you will cheer for. So, pockets of human goodness and decency survive.
The book does leave loose ends. There is still story to be told, and I hope Adam Baker continues to tell it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 17 December 2013
This is the third instalment in Adam Baker's loosely-linked series of apocalyptic horror novels. It's also the least interesting. Characters are clichéd, the plot is predictable, and Baker has adopted a telegraphic style of writing - all clipped sentences - that quickly becomes tiresomely repetitive; even leading on occasion to confusion about who is speaking.

The hinted-at linking plot elements that made 'Outpost' and 'Juggernaut' seem a little more intriguing than other recent books in the genre have here receded so far into the background as be irritating rather than provocative. Baker doesn't do anything here to distinguish his novel from dozens of others, and falls below the standard he set for himself in the earlier books. 'Terminus' is at best zombies-by-numbers with a vague SF premise, which itself is far too reminiscent of already over-familiar film and game scenarios. The promise of 'Outpost', sustained but not improved upon in 'Juggernaut', seems to have evaporated here.

Not recommended, even for fans of the genre. If you haven't read Baker, start with 'Outpost'.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2013
In 2011, I happened to stumble across Outpost, the debut novel from Adam Baker and was so thoroughly impressed, I got my hands on the follow up title Juggernaut as soon as I possibly could. Now in 2013, Baker revisits the Outpost universe he has created with Terminus.

So, considering the synopsis provided, Baker has taken proceedings from the lonely oil rig set in the bleak Arctic landscape seen in Outpost; left behind the imposing ancient fortress lost in the deserts of Iraq in Juggernaut and drops his current cast of characters into a long forgotten subway station under the city of New York which has been over-run with the infected and subsequently found itself to be the target of a tactical nuclear strike. If nothing else, Baker can't be accused of lacking in imagination!

In common with the previous entries in the Outpost series, Terminus features some strong female leads and the set-up for Terminus, to my mind at least, is unique within the genre. However, at times the plot was reminiscent of elements from Aliens, Escape from New York, Assault on Precinct 13, Mimic and Virus; all of which I had absolutely no problem with. Additionally, Baker peppers his story with knowing yet unobtrusive film references, which amused me no end.

Baker's descriptive prose is exemplary. He leaves little to the reader's imagination, conjuring up a nightmarish vision of New York populated by walking cadavers and throws a ragtag rescue team of firefighters, military scientists and convicts into the 200 miles of subway tunnels beneath the city and has them contend with the threat of collapsing buildings, flooded passageways and radiation sickness before even thinking about the dangers posed by the infected.

Critically, those looking for a quick horror fix will be left disappointed. Although the threat of the infected is ever present throughout Terminus, the author chooses to keep them at bay, building the tension before unleashing his own particular brand of undead horror on the main players here in bloody, visceral style.
Although Terminus is set in the same Outpost universe, it is perhaps most appropriately regarded as the third in the series rather than a sequel since the reader does not discover the fate of the characters last seen in either of the previous entries but Terminus does take place after the events seen therein and advances the general theme set by Outpost and Juggernaut.

At 400+ pages, Terminus is an action-filled horror novel with believable characters facing a seemingly impossible situation; and unlike many sequels or further entries to a series, succeeds as a standalone title. However, it is worthy of note that the real strength of Terminus lies with the characters Baker has created here. After all, I found myself in the unforeseeable situation of rooting for a gangbanger, white supremacist and a convicted serial killer...
22 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
I found this book to be just as thrilling as the last two.I also really liked the characters in it.such as Lupe and sicknote.I think Adam Baker has yet again put together a real great bunch of characters which you might love or hate depending on who they are.but I certainly felt it easy too form a bond with some of those characters and was given a great insight into there personalities through Bakers great writing style.The plots quick pase and edgy feel through out is adrenaline pumping and at times his graphic descriptions are stomach churning.I also find his ability too describe complex machinery or explain the workings of equipment in a brief sentence great.On down side we will have too wait another year or so till his next book.if you've not read his previous books JUGGERNAUT and OUT POST.your missing out there great.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
I enjoyed Terminus but it didn't grip me the way outpost and Juggernaut did - its definitely worth a look as a continuation of the overall story that Adam Baker is telling but the feeling that all the characters were doomed right from the outset as they were plunging into a radioactive city made it hard to connect with them - i mean if the zombies (sort of) didn't get them then they were gonna die of radiation sickness or being murdered by the people who sent them in right? I'd like to read more on this alternative take of the zombie genre from Mr baker so if he writes anymore i'll definitely be buying them, but this is the weakest of the three so far. It would be good to see what happened to the surviving characters from Outpost and Juggernaut as these were really well developed, it was a shame to leave them without some kind of definite fate/resolution - though maybe that's the whole point, to show the confused chaos the world had become. Terminus left you with the feeling the mission to find a cure was largely pointless anyway as there didn't appear to be anything left to cure or any means to produce/administer or distribute any cure that was found anyway (or why would they be relying on such a ragtag bunch of misfits to save humanity anyway?). Outpost was about personal survival against great odds and juggernaut was a get rich quick scheme turned survival horror in the middle of nowhere, both these worked incredibly well and would make excellent movies - this was a save humanity story that didn't make too much sense when you thought about it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
On the whole, this proved to be a gripping jaunt into the bowels of New York's ruined subway system, keeping company with the crew of criminals, firefighters and military types, searching for a lost scientist who may have found a cure to an alien plague that has pushed humanity to the brink of extinction.

To add to the tension, New York -- along with many other major US cities -- has been hit with a nuclear device in a desperate attempt to stem the spread of the infection, which has turned much of humanity into cadaverous revenants riddled with metallic growths. A high-yield device, even the tunnels are no protection from radioactive contamination, so it's a race against time to find the man who may be able to save mankind.

Terminus is a follow up to Baker's novels Outpost and Juggernaut; both action-packed yarns that are filled with tension, gripping characters, and a suitably doom-laden air. This third installment maintains all those elements, but I have to say there is a sense that it has lost some of the momentum found in those earlier novels.

Perhaps it's the metallic plague losing some of its lustre (an infection, incidentally, that all-but reminds me of the melding plague in the Revelation Space series), perhaps it was the constraints of its setting in the tunnels beneath Manhattan island, but the story and the atmosphere felt a little stale by comparison with those earlier works.

So why the four stars? Despite what I've just said, I think it deserves them. Terminus remains an edge of the seat thriller, packed with action, suitably chilling, populated with characters whose fate you'll care to share, but the theme appears to be showing signs of wear and tear.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Number three in Adam Baker’s somewhat grim series. Number four has also recently been released.
The series is based on a kind of end of world scenario where people are infected by alien spores that have a bit of a hive mind. Humans are being hunted now and there is not much sign of hope. As the books progress mankind is more and more on the back-foot and we are given different perspectives on the out-break, the link to the books is the outbreak, not the characters that change from book to book. In Terminus an over-run New York has been nuked in a desperate attempt to slow or destroy the infection but it is discovered that a key bunch of scientists may be surviving in the subway system. A disparate team is sent in to try and find them and or recover any key research. And, of course, things do not go well.
There is an undercurrent in these books that mankind is doomed so you feel that there will not be a miracle cure or a resolution, you are watching the death of humanity. And that becomes the series weakness, as a reader you have no hope or expectation that anything you are reading will make a difference, so your view becomes “when” and not “if”.
Having said that, this is full of action and tension and delivers well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.