Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it
George Martin is better known for his 'a Song of Ice and Fire' series, and even though he mostly edited the Wild Cards series, he did contribute to the series. And I gotta say what a series it is. We have heroes and villains, super-powered people and unlucky mutants, but as typical of Martin the world they exist in is painted in shades of grey. Definitely worthy buy.
Published 2 months ago by Anna

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed bag
The stories are by different authors following a shared concept, so I suppose its inevitable that some are a better read than others.
Published 12 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 28 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Cards: Aces High (Paperback)
George Martin is better known for his 'a Song of Ice and Fire' series, and even though he mostly edited the Wild Cards series, he did contribute to the series. And I gotta say what a series it is. We have heroes and villains, super-powered people and unlucky mutants, but as typical of Martin the world they exist in is painted in shades of grey. Definitely worthy buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Cards: Aces High (Kindle Edition)
One of the best books i've ever read! I've really enjoyed it. It's a cracking good book. Favourite so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best so far!, 15 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Cards: Aces High (Kindle Edition)
Here there is a single storyline taking place over just 24 hours. It is fast-paced and enthralling and quite difficult to believe it is written by several authors. Brilliant!! I will definitely be buying the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed bag, 12 Aug 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Nottingham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Cards: Aces High (Kindle Edition)
The stories are by different authors following a shared concept, so I suppose its inevitable that some are a better read than others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Cards: Aces High (Kindle Edition)
Not as good as the first book in the series. The writing, as you might expect from something with several contributors, is uneven; a few parts unreadable. Cliches abound, and one particular tale is rife with schoolboy smilies of the facepalming variety. The book has its good moments, for sure, but ultimately disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Second Volume, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Cards: Aces High (Paperback)
Who doesn't love a good alien invasion? (well apart from those being invaded and slaughtered)the answer Aces as we come to the second part of the first trilogy of wild cards (each set of stories are released in trilogies apart from the odd four parter or full length novel) the Swarm an alien race intent on nothing short of complete destruction has set it's sights on earth, earths only chance Aces (who thought I was going to say superman?), people given abilities by the wild card virus released over New York city in 1946, but not all Aces are working together in the background an evil Ace lurks waiting to use the alien invasion to his advantage.

Aces high sees the overall story ark brought into the mid-eighties (modern day when it was being written) after a brief stop in 1979, and sees the return of most of the original cast of Wild Cards (Wild Cards 1) brought back to fight the dual threat, it also sees some new faces emerge, Modular Man the android with some very human character traits and a yearning for freedom from it's maker, Demise who can share his death around, Water Lily who can control water (the clue was in the name I suppose)and also Jube the Walrus who I won't tell you to much about (spoilers).

The story is told like Wild Cards in several short stories with Modular man and Jube stories split up to bridge the other parts, this does make the whole story fell a bit fractured but not by enough o stop any enjoyment of the story which take the concept forward and adds new elements all building up to the finale and then leaving strands open to lead to Wild Cards: Jokers Wild all without being boring or obvious, the standout story in my opinion is winter chill written by George R.R. Martin and starring his character the Turtle (or the Great and Powerful Turtle to give him his full title) a story about how being a hero is sometimes not all it's cracked up to be.

So if you have read Wild Cards and liked it I can highly recommend the follow up also if you havn't read the first book and fancy given this a try you can, it has a much more self contained story then the first that is capable of being standalone, but you probably need to background to fully understand everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Cards: Aces High (Kindle Edition)
Excellent science fiction book. Characters have well versed back stories and provide interesting interactions within their alternative reality. Well worth a look
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wild Cards: Aces High
Wild Cards: Aces High by George R. R. Martin
5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews