Customer Reviews


206 Reviews
5 star:
 (96)
4 star:
 (61)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smells Like Greece!
Bought as a birthday gift for my wife who'd loved "The Island" by the same author.
Yes,we know they're VERY short stories,but if you love Greece then you'll love this little book.
Published 8 months ago by Daisy's Dad

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars book review
I choose this book because I have read all Victoria Hislop other books. Very disappointed.All short stories and did not find them very interesting.
Published 23 months ago by Mrs Julie Lawrence


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars book review, 19 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I choose this book because I have read all Victoria Hislop other books. Very disappointed.All short stories and did not find them very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sweet but not enough, 18 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Long awaited but very disappointing. Whilst short stories were delightful, not enough of them. Read in less than one hour. Overpriced, very thin little book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smells Like Greece!, 31 Jan 2014
By 
Daisy's Dad (Liverpool,England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a birthday gift for my wife who'd loved "The Island" by the same author.
Yes,we know they're VERY short stories,but if you love Greece then you'll love this little book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hislop short stories, 19 May 2013
By 
R. Cronk (Charing, Kent U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We all enjoyed reading these short stories, light but informative and written in a descriptive and intriguing way linking fact to fiction seamlessly, and not too heavy going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magical, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Dance and Other Stories (Kindle Edition)
Lovely short stories, full of love and sunshine. Beautifully told and a joy to read. I'm sure everyone with a heart will enjoy reading them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed Victoria Hislop's other books, particularly the Thread and the Island. They were interesting, informative and well written and I really felt I'd learned about an aspect of history that I would not otherwise have been aware of.

Therefore I was looking forward to reading this collection but found myself feeling ripped off. A collection of very short stories that are barely stories at all. With the exception of one story that related to lingering tensions from the civil war I though that the book was discarded jottings that were put together to cash in on the author's success. Some of the stories just seemed cynically formulaic.
The story I did like was a good idea and had potential to be really interesting and to uncover how people's past affects their present whilst informing the reader about an interesting period of history. However it seemed rushed and too short to develop the story and characters. This made it feel like it was knocked out to fill space.

I'll think very carefully before bothering with this writer again as she seems to have sold out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great, 25 Jan 2014
By 
jean lightfoot (Raynes Park, LONDON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is good as at the end of the year it's so great to be able to read a short story as attention span is lest with all that is going on. Just love it also as its about G.reece
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor in comparison to her other books., 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book seemed as if she has written the start of a story and then run out of ideas and just put all the ideas together into a short story book. After reading her other excellent novels I wasn't terribly impressed with the short story one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light read but enjoyable, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Dance and Other Stories (Kindle Edition)
Interesting group of short stories. Easy reading. If you like Victoria Hislop's style generally you will probably enjoy reading this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable short stories, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Dance and Other Stories (Kindle Edition)
felt this book was thoughtfully written. it transformed me to Greece in each story. think it would appeal to people who enjoy Greece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Dance and Other Stories
£4.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews