Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant little documentary, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ken Burns - The Dust Bowl [DVD] (DVD)
before i watched this i never knew anything about the dust bowl in america.as with all ken burns documentaries its a mixture of footage and interviews from people who lived through it.a good 4 hours of watching which i really enjoyed.i have also watched ken burns civil war,the west and the war and they are all very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 27 Jan 2013
By 
B. M. Price (Swansea, South Wales, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ken Burns - The Dust Bowl [DVD] (DVD)
This was a part of history that I as not aware of. An excellent documentary describing these terrible and heartrending times. The first hand accounts of survivors was particularly interesting. Another great documentary by Ken Burns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE DUST BOWL, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ken Burns - The Dust Bowl [DVD] (DVD)
It is an insight into what we do wrong to the environment, but leaves us with hope and a warning about the future. Not to do it again.The question is will we listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An eco-disaster of epic proportions., 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ken Burns - The Dust Bowl [DVD] (DVD)
A superb collation of period newsfilm and photographs,backed by thoughtfully selected music add up to the usual superlative standard achieved by the inimitable Ken Burns. An in-depth documentary on a man-made disaster, stark and harrowing, illuminated by the recollections of eye-witnesses,survivors whose moving accounts are acutely moving. A testimony to the enduring human spirit,and a brilliant documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ken Burns - The Dust Bowl [DVD] (DVD)
What a story of life,s hardship and survival stunning . Both my wife and I were spellbound for the whole film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Removes the dust from your eyes, 22 Oct 2013
This review is from: Ken Burns - The Dust Bowl [DVD] (DVD)
I knew only vaguely of the famous Dust Bowl and wanted to learn more about it. This documentary film is nearly 4 hours long (on two discs) without the extended interviews. It doesn't feel like it though. It is probably better to watch it in two seperate sections so it doesn't all blend into one dust cloud.

It's basically a human interest film because you follow the fortunes of 4 or 5 families in seperate counties in different states. They all had different reasons for being there, for leaving, for staying put. They all dealt with it in their own way depending on their own circumstances. It puts the situation in a broader political context and you also learn of the social consequences on those who stayed put and those who left for 'greener pastures' which turned out to be as dark as those they left.

Worth every penny if you have any interest in social history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What can you say?, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ken Burns - The Dust Bowl [DVD] (DVD)
Ken Burns is brilliant at whatever he does. If you enjoy history done well you shouldn't miss this great series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dustbowl, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ken Burns - The Dust Bowl [DVD] (DVD)
my brother in law was well pleased to recieve this item for his xmas present ,he knows he can rely on me to come up with the goods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Amazing, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ken Burns - The Dust Bowl [DVD] (DVD)
I knew nothing of the Dust Bowl before I watched this dvd,but I knew of Ken Burns.Nobody can make a documentary like him so I knew it was a safe purchase.Not only was I not disappointed by the all round story,but was truly amazed by how these people overcame appalling adversity.I thought life was hard enough for those people who trekked west in Ken Burns : The West:,but these people survived inconceivable hardship. To all those in todays society who think they are having a hard time,may I suggest they look at this brilliant documentary, and if this doesn't show them how lucky they are today,then nothing will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 April 2014
By 
Mr. Robert C. Smith "Bob Smith" (Wantage, Oxon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ken Burns - The Dust Bowl [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent piece of film making documenting the Dust Bowl. If you like John Steinbeck's Grapes of Wrath, or Woody Guthrie's Dust Bowl Ballads then this is for you, it gives you the background to the events that inspired these great artistic works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ken Burns - The Dust Bowl [DVD]
Ken Burns - The Dust Bowl [DVD] by Ken Burns (DVD - 2012)
14.21
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews