Customer Reviews


567 Reviews
5 star:
 (468)
4 star:
 (58)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Way way beyond my expecations
Just back from the Screen Cinema in Winchester. Objective summary: the film is sensational, it looks utterly great, it sounds fantastic. Way beyond my expectations! It is fantastically well edited, excellent but not excessive use of film effects including what looks like super eight "fan footage" shot from the audience, and some great slow-motion moments too. Most...
Published on 18 Oct. 2012 by Michael, Hampshire, UK

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great performance
A performance worthy of the group's reputation, but the sound quality on the DVD is so bad (unless I have a faulty disc)that the product should contain a warning about the poor sound. I would have bought it anyway, for reasons of nostalgia, but the terrible sound quality was especially disappointing since I watched it immediately after the DVD of the 2005 Cream...
Published 23 months ago by Mr. Michael Turner


‹ Previous | 1 257 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Way way beyond my expecations, 18 Oct. 2012
By 
Michael, Hampshire, UK (Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Celebration Day [2CD+DVD--DVD Case] [2012] [NTSC] (DVD)
Just back from the Screen Cinema in Winchester. Objective summary: the film is sensational, it looks utterly great, it sounds fantastic. Way beyond my expectations! It is fantastically well edited, excellent but not excessive use of film effects including what looks like super eight "fan footage" shot from the audience, and some great slow-motion moments too. Most importantly, the cutting between shots is not too fast, as has been a common complaint in other band concert films. There some lovely close-ups of Page's beautiful Gibson guitars too.

It is fabulous to see so much eye contact, smiles and warmth between the band - most of the time they are standing very close together - no long catwalk excursions here. A real sense of joy is palpable throughout.

My face is hurting from smiling so much. The whole thing is beyond terrific but if forced to pick highlights I'd say the epic, pulverising Kashmir, a lovely Stairway, and Trampled Underfoot, Nobody's fault but mine, and the "never played live before" from Presence - For your life (great black and white backdrop projections on that song). Oh hang on, I've just remembered, Since I've been loving you was an absolute tour de force too!

Thank you so much for releasing this Led Zeppelin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


305 of 325 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Content review - the film and music, 13 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Celebration Day [2CD+DVD--DVD Case] [2012] [NTSC] (DVD)
I'm one of the lucky ones to have been in the Hammersmith Apollo last night at the Premiere of this movie. I did have a concern on this release or at least the Amazon choices. All I could see originally were NTSC choices but then found the PAL DVD versions - the review covers the content rather than media standards and formats......BluRay will come to me eventually but only when the current backside kicking DVD home cinema system I own gives up the ghost!

Now for content alone it's gets 5 stars. And on watching this I hope they never reform because frankly it won't get any better than this in terms of musical tightness and perfection. This should and will stand as their most solid concert across their career in my view and as a legacy memory it will never be surpassed. I feel sorry for today's youngsters that they have nothing remotely close to this or Pink Floyd ( who should also resist any further reunifications for the same reasons) in terms of musical creativity and longevity (a dirty word for today's music hacks and DJs) .

The concert starts with a rip roaring version of Good Times Bad Times. Cue much air guitar and audience head nodding (not banging, the Zep crowd have long since gone beyond that). Plants voice isn't as strong and piercing as in his heyday and one wouldn't expect it, but its still streets ahead of any I've heard past and present and remains fully capable of carrying off the music. Note the high long notes of Stairway and Kashmir, which he carries off here with arrogant aplomb. I won't do a track by track critique because each is extraordinary in terms of variation and execution. Plants overcomes his ageing voice shortcomings with brilliant improvisation that is inspiring and creatively exciting. Stand out tracks for me were the first track which throws you straight into the energy and passion and the sheer enjoyment of crowd and band. If the boys were nervous then it didn't show. Black Dog and Ramble On send shivers down the spine before the utter gorgeousness of the magical In My Time Of Dying . Each song is performed with craftsmanship and Page has rarely ever been better than in this concert. One of the bonuses of this is the decent screen time for John-Paul Jones so one of the quieter members gets the chance to display his skill on bass and keyboards for perhaps a greater appreciation than normal, as he generally lived in the shadows of the other three (as do most bassists I guess). Then through to another stand out piece with No Quarter filling the auditorium with its haunting keyboard beginning. Plant himself states that Dazed and Confused was one of the songs that couldn't be left out and the version here is a masterpiece and yes, Jimmy's violin bow does feature and yes, it is one of the highlights of the entire Page master class. Play this at 11!

Stairway is epic as expected and even my least favourite song. The Song Remains The Same comes to new life and appreciation here. Misty Mountain Hop is executed superbly for what in my view is a tough one to do live. But the final 3 songs leave you gasping for more. Kashmir is a track that they've never quite nailed live in my view. Usually a brilliant live track ruins the album original a little for me but Zep have never done this quite like Floyd have with Comfortably Numb or Shine On. However this time they absolutely do nail it. It's fantastic. This now brings me to mention the Man of the Match. Throughout the whole thing I watched Jason Bonham carefully wondering if he could do justice to his dad. Well let me tell you - he does more than that. Jason Bonham on this entire gig is a 'tour de force'. He is very possibly the best drummer in music today and certainly the best I've seen. I don't believe in ghosts but even a hard bitten old atheist like me could be persuaded that Johns spirit was being channeled into Jason throughout this concert. His bond and the warmth and friendship to the other band members is plain to see and his drumming on Kashmir is simply sensational. Every bit as good if not better than the original. I'd question that if John were alive he'd have had the energy to carry off a 2 hour concert as well as his son.

The film ends with 2 encores, a hugely varied Whole Lotta Love with Page excelling with that iconic riff and Plants voice, Jones bass driving the song with Bonham pushing the song harder with yet more excellent drumming. The final song had to be Rock n Roll. And boy does this get the treatment. It finishes with Bonham drum crescendo which defies the laws of coordination and possibly physics! Both encores are superb but the final track left the audience cheering, stomping and probably a tear or two of joy at having witnessed this. I would love to have been at the original gig but only 18000 from 20 million applicants got tickets. This was the absolute next best thing. I urge you to see this in the cinema, and then buy it but watch it on as big a TV with as good a home cinema as you can get. It's epic, it's awesome, it's thrilling, inspiring, joyous and emotional. It's rock and roll as raw and exciting as possible . It is how music should be :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


98 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Celebration Day 2xCD/Blu-Ray: superlatives justified, 20 Nov. 2012
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
So here it is at last on general sale: the 2xCD/Blu-Ray of Zeppelin's now-legendary one-off celebratory reunion performance on 10th December 2007 at London's O2 Arena. The event was to honour the life and work of Atlantic Records founder Ahmet Ertegun who in 1968 had such faith in a young British band that he backed them with money and a recording contract, and who died aged 83 of a backstage fall during the Rolling Stones benefit concert in October 2006.

Is all the hype about this concert justified? You bet. The performance is indeed worthy of all the superlatives heaped on it, and in every way outstanding.

Having seen the youthful band several times in the 1970s, the initial shock of seeing three guys in their 60s (well OK, in 2007 Plant was 59) - plus the near-perfect-fit Jason Bonham standing in for his long-departed father on drums - on stage together, is swept away once the music starts. From the storming opener `Good Times Bad Times' through two hours of some of their best-known numbers, this is Led Zeppelin, and this band ROCKS. The fast-fingered Page is outstanding; Plant - ever the great showman and commanding stage presence - retains power, emotion, volume and range in his voice even though he avoids the screaming high notes which gave Zeppelin distinctive character in their youth; JPJ is the bedrock for the band both on keyboards and bass, and Jason Bonham almost unbelievably gels with the band so perfectly that he might indeed be his father pounding the skins with power and feel.

Much of the time Page, Plant and Jones stand close together, physically; almost touching each other. The astounding thing is how relaxed they are, how at ease, how professional - and how they simply enjoy themselves on stage so much. The sense of occasion is intoxicating, the numbers powerful, tight, joyous. Plant relaxes and interacts good-naturedly with the audience between songs, the atmosphere that of a celebratory family reunion where everyone is simply having a great time.

Highlights: too many to list. `Kashmir' probably takes the Gold. Awesome.

The 2CD+Blu-ray package is a fine artefact. The cover shows the iconic Zeppelin over London, presented in the slightly archaic style so frequently characteristic of the artwork employed by the band. CD1 displays the time 10.12 on an antique clock-face, on CD2 it's 12.10: the walk-on and walk-off times of the band on the night. Nice touch.

Seeing them play and interact with each other and with the audience is a must, and adds so much to the experience. Many of the frames are close-up and personal, with a front-row audience perspective. You do, however, need to hear the music through a big powerful sound system: play loud.

Some minor points: there is no acoustic set, a standard of the band's stage shows in the 1970s, and the actual song `Celebration Day' - the perfect name for this event - is not performed. These are not niggles, just observations: the whole concert is awesome.

For those fortunate enough to have won tickets, they have the experience of a lifetime, a night to remember. There were tales of ticketless devotees on the night offering more than GB£4,000 in cash for a ticket, and of ticket-clutching fans refusing to sell. They made the right choice. For the rest of us, this is as good as it's going to get - and fortunately, that's pretty darned good. Personally I hope this was Zep's final concert, as it's difficult to imagine they could ever top it, and they go out in style.

Once, giants walked the Earth. Alas, we may never see their like again. But at least we have the record, and what a record it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lavish Vinyl Box Set, 16 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I held off buying the CD/DVD/MP3. I wanted the Vinyl. I love Zep's studio albums.
But I've never been blown away by the Live albums - The Song Remains the Same, How the West was Won etc,
So I knew the Vinyl will become collectable - but wasn't sure what to expect from the concert's music.....
Well - Led Zeppelin have never, ever sounded so good live. Thundering, tight, mysterious, fun, awesome.

Biggest surprise ? = Jason Bonham's drumming was simply stunning. The room shook!

Nothing comes close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rock and Roll, 20 May 2013
By 
Bryan A. Pfleeger (Metairie, LA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've read many of the reviews here. All seem to say that they are written by Led Zepplin fans. This makes sense for why else would you be reviewing this set if you were not a fan? The December 2007 show at London's O2 Arena has been something of a holy grail for many of us. The fact that it was finally being released in any format was a source of joy.

Having heard the CD's and seen the Blu Ray Im left with a sort of confused feeling. Not on the part of the band nor on the production of the film but on the part of many who feel that they were somehow sold short by this set. In my opinion the set is quite solid. The song choice was excellent. Led Zepplin has always been able to take the blues and heavy rock and meld it into something unique and special. They do so here on many of the selections.

One of the problems that has been associated with the set is that it is not of perfect sound quality. There are complaints that the bass is muddy, that Page is sloppy compared to studio versions of the material. I dont find this a great problem. It's a live show some 25 years post the last great studio album. People age its a fact of life. Robert Plant's vocals are a bit weak at times but it still does the job quite nicely. Jimmy Page is a great guitar player but he has always been a bit sloppy live. That is the nature of a live show. What he does on some of this materail is amazing in a cavern of a building like the O2 Arena. JohnPaul Jones bass can be muddy as it is fully centered in the front channels but this is how the band wanted it. His keyboards were and still are amazing. Jason Bonham seems to be a stronger drummer than his father was even if he looked a bit nervous at times.

If I have a problem with the show its with the editing. This is a common issue with many viewers. I would rather see the concert and the band's interactions with each other than the million cuts between camaras but this too is the way the band wanted the show captured.

I for one enjoyed the performance and the presentation and feel lucky that there is a record of this reunion show even if it is not perfect as many wished it to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blown Away, 22 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ive just returned from a 15hour medical shift to find Celebration Day Blu Ray on my doorstep. I poured myself a large whiskey and inserted the disc. I've simply been blown away by this recording! The band ooze quality and magnificence; the sound and picture quality is sublime! If you are in your 40s or more (as I sadly am) this concert will bring back fantastic memories of when music was inspirational with each song screaming energy and class. Led Zeppelin are simply legends! The performance is packed with classic songs and I defy anyone not to sing along those famous words to all of them! Thank you Led Zeppelin for sharing this performance with everyone. Buy it now ... You certainly wont be disappointed!... Damn it .... it's time for another 15hour shift ... Not to worry ... I'll have to play the accompanying CD recording on full volume on my way in ... Simply blown away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ROCK 'N' ROLL!!, 19 Nov. 2012
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I haven't seen the movie in the cinema,so i'm reviewing the package i bought,so what do we get?

Music -superb ,2 cds of quality rock,yes a couple of bum notes here and there,yes Plant cant reach the heights anymore but its a solid performance doing justice to the legacy.It should be noted that Jason Bonham isn't his father but puts in a star performance,so well done,no pressure or what.

Dvd's - ist dvd ,the gig,captured beautifully looks and sounds great,the bonus disc well worth watching,you'll view a few times but it wont overshadow the concert.

Packaging: I went for the cd case packaging,to allow housing with rest of my cd collection,its smart well presented,a fold out digi pak housed in a decent slip case,the booklet is ok nothing to write home about.

So there it is a long waited for (with much anticipation) release and its worth every moment i waited,a superb package. Also well done Amazon,despatched at weekend ,arrived today,day of release,spot on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great performance, 17 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A performance worthy of the group's reputation, but the sound quality on the DVD is so bad (unless I have a faulty disc)that the product should contain a warning about the poor sound. I would have bought it anyway, for reasons of nostalgia, but the terrible sound quality was especially disappointing since I watched it immediately after the DVD of the 2005 Cream reunion,where the sound quality was as good as it gets for a live recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the promised land, 19 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is for the 2CD/Blu-ray/DVD bonus disc set.
Anyone with even a passing interest in Led Zeppelin needs to have this amazing set in their music collection.

The performances from Jones, Page and Plant , exceed anything from the patchy Song Remains the Same film. JPJ not only plays incredible bass and keyboards but, like the rest of the band , can't contain his joy at being finally reunited as the band belts out versions of some of rock music's finest tunes and riffs in a way no one has a right to expect.

I see some reviewers have criticised Robert's singing and reduced range. Well I have news for them, that's what makes this so wonderful. He is actually singing and not screaming or wailing and brings a maturity and depth that befits the passing of the years. Jimmy's guitar playing is fresh, urgent, sparky and tighter than anything I have seen of him before in concert.

I have deliberately not mentioned Jason Bonham until now. If his father was not looking on from somewhere on high with an approving nod and chest busting pride, then I would want to know why. Jason is absolutely tremendous in driving his Dad's old mates on to a supreme performance.

This video brings the intimacy of the stage into the living room in a way few concert DVDs have done before. And the DTS surround sound is absolutely bang on -- loud and ballsy but clear. Even Jason's occasional backing vocals which are a special treat !

The songs are treated in a similar way as they were on what was to prove to be the original line-up's final ever concerts during a tour of Europe in 1980 before Bonham's untimely death. They were being pared down with some improvisation but trying to peel away the excesses.

That's what you get here and , ultimately, a fitting epitaph for the band that for me will stand alongside The Beatles as a national music treasure , leaving a musical legacy echoing around the world as inspiration to millions of musicians and music lovers.

If the stunning climax to Kashmir does not leave you welling up, check with your GP to see if you still have a heart ! Having watched this twice now, I am pleased the band did not go out on the road and risk all they gained here with a farewell beyond comparison.

No pyrotechnics , no guest vocalists, no celebrity compares. It's obvious at the curtain call that the band enjoyed it and so will you.

The bonus DVD has the full show rehearsal but filmed from a single fixed camera .I had been hoping to hear some banter and some of the other numbers attempted or considered for the shows. But that is the only gripe one can have.

Please buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray Audio Review, 31 Dec. 2012
By 
My girlfriend gave me this blu-ray audio for christmas. It was the first time I came across the format. However, lucky enough to own a PS3 and a PS3 surround sound system I was able to enjoy this wonderful present. Basically the audio blu ray gives the choice of various sound options: PCM stereo, PCM 5.1 and DTS HD. I chose the DTS option and it is wonderfully expansive sound - just imagine the blu-ray concert Blu-Ray without the picture.

The advantage of the audio version is that it goes straight to the track listing, no waiting around therefore, and there isn't the distraction of the concert footage on the TV screen which is perfect I you're intention is merely to listen to the concert rather than watching it.

The concert is wonderful - tight but loose at the same time as one reviewer put it and benefiting from a raw, non contrived energy that is less obvious on the individual studio albums. Moreover, the fancy sound options make it a better quality experience than any regular audio CD or mp3 could ever hope to be.

Of course the downside is that, short of being able to import a blu-ray cd on your laptop or some such, you will not be able to transfer the tracks on your mp3 player and so not be able to listen to the concert on the go. I don't mind this as I rarely if ever listen to live music on the go.

One final note - I also own The Song Remains the Same live recording and I really think Celebration Day is better for a number of reasons. Firstly there are tracks that are later, i.e. after Houses of the Holy, including my favourite one, In My Time of Dying (on the Physical Graffiti album). Secondly it is more to the point, The SRTS concert had incredibly long solos, e.g. Dazed and Confused went on for half an hour, and that's more than I can take. The solos here do not meander forever but remain loyal to the album versions.

Conclusion: Five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 257 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Celebration Day [2CD+DVD--DVD Case] [2012] [NTSC]
£9.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews