Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another day, another 80s compilation
I'm a sucker for any collection of 80s music. It's almost as though Paul McKenna or someone similar has programmed me to open my wallet at the merest mention of anything that looks even vaguely like an 80s compilation album, so it was inevitable that '100 Hits - 80s Originals' would be winging its way to my door at some point. It contains a goodly number of the old...
Published 20 months ago by Hal Marshall

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No dodgy remixes, no re-recordings, but not quite as advertised!
"100 Hits: 80s Originals" is one of five new additions to the brand this autumn. Among this century of UK chart entries (hits is a little on the generous side as a description for some), there are a few genuine rarities but a much narrower range of acts than ever before (the EMI stable gets raided on this occasion, Warner having been host to many recent 80s sets from...
Published 22 months ago by Eric Generic


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No dodgy remixes, no re-recordings, but not quite as advertised!, 3 Nov 2012
This review is from: 100 Hits - 80S Originals (Audio CD)
"100 Hits: 80s Originals" is one of five new additions to the brand this autumn. Among this century of UK chart entries (hits is a little on the generous side as a description for some), there are a few genuine rarities but a much narrower range of acts than ever before (the EMI stable gets raided on this occasion, Warner having been host to many recent 80s sets from Demon). Plus, for the first time, the specific version or mix that is claimed to be on the disc does not always turn out to be what is actually on the disc.

So, for potential purchasers and perhaps anyone else who is interested in such matters, here are the main differences between what you see and what you get:

CD1
Heaven 17's Temptation is credited as an "edit", but is longer than the 7" mix on most Heaven 17 compilations (4:11 compared to 3:36). 19 by Paul Hardcastle is not actually claimed to be a single mix, so bear in mind this is the full 5-minute plus version from the album. Most compilations use one of two shorter edits around 3.30.

CD2
Simple Minds' Sanctify Yourself is not an "edit" but the usual 4.59 album version. Some mp3 retailers list it as 3.59 but on the CD it is a full minute longer.

CD3
Jingo by Jellybean should be listed as an edit, as this is the much shorter 4.25 single mix which is very hard to find anywhere, and does not appear on the original CD of Just Visiting This Planet.

CD4
Love Don't Live Here Anymore by Jimmy Nail is the shortest edit available, previously featured on NOW 1985 in the 90s and not the 3.48 mix from Jimmy Nail albums/compilations.

CD5
China Crisis' Christian is the full album mix, at 5.44, and neither an edit nor one that lasts 2.44, as the mp3 sites suggest in their tracklisting details.

All the other edits/mixes where noted on the CD sleeve and linernotes are as described. Several of them are fairly hard to get anywhere else, such as an even more edited mix of The Politics Of Dancing (3.48 compared to 4.10 and 4.16 on other 80s compilations), and the single versions of Let's Go All The Way and C'est la Vie. Listen To Your Father, a 1984 solo non-album single from Feargal Sharkey (written and backed by Madness) makes a very welcome first appearance on CD for at least 28 years, since the near-mythical NOW 4 was pressed in limited quantities.

Also be warned that many of the tracks are modern-day remasters, dating from 1999 right up to 2012, so they may sound slightly louder or clearer than earlier versions. The booklet is helpful in that sense, as it clearly lists what remaster is used where applicable.

Overall, this latest installment in the 100 Hits 80s series is really only for collectors and purists, since the biggest hits have been included several times already on other collections and the songs chosen to represent the likes of Kim Wilde, Kate Bush, T'Pau and so on might be considered "second division" selections by casual music followers. The upshot of this is that Breathing, View From A Bridge and I Will Be With You get the chance to shine, instead of the usual suspects Running Up That Hill, Kids in America and China In Your Hand.

As always, check the full tracklisting at leisure to make sure there is, to quote an old 80s advert, enough Fizz for your Bucks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another day, another 80s compilation, 12 Jan 2013
By 
Hal Marshall "Literary philanthropist" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits - 80S Originals (Audio CD)
I'm a sucker for any collection of 80s music. It's almost as though Paul McKenna or someone similar has programmed me to open my wallet at the merest mention of anything that looks even vaguely like an 80s compilation album, so it was inevitable that '100 Hits - 80s Originals' would be winging its way to my door at some point. It contains a goodly number of the old favourites, as well as a fair few that I certainly haven't heard in years. 'Just For Money', for instance. Last seen on my old 'Now 6' double cassette, eaten by a rapacious tape deck in 1986. Or Jimmy Nail's 'Love Don't Live Here Anymore', which I have managed to successfully avoid since my old 'Now 5' double album was scratched by a psychopathic stylus in 1985. Ah, memories. That's why I buy these sorts of albums.

I feel somewhat humbled by the top review of this item, as I know already that mine will be vastly inferior to that one. All this talk of 'edits' and 'mixes' is far beyond my musical appreciation. And I certainly have no idea whether something is seven inches or not. Well, I know of one or two things that are definitely not, but that's a whole other story.

Obviously any compilation that opens the batting with Spandau Ballet's 'Gold' could very rapidly disappear down its own plughole in terms of originality, but this one does recover well. There's nothing from Bananarama, which is something akin to wanton 80s desecration, but the second disc just about manages to make up for that. It is quite impossible not to sing along to the likes of 'The Power of Love' and 'Simply Irresistible'; the latter I believe has the added attraction of being one of these somewhat elusive seven inchers. Lucky Robert Palmer, that's all I can say.

CD5 is the obligatory naff one - there's one in most compilations. There's something about the opening to 'Too Much Too Young' that just really gets up my nose, and the tracks that follow hot on its heels have pretty much the same effect I'm afraid. It's a pity that 'It's My Life' by Talk Talk is jammed right in the middle of the disc, like a gold watch down a sewer, but at least it's around somewhere.

All in all, and putting all thoughts of size to one side (since I am most definitely not qualified to talk about things like that - as my ex-wife would no doubt be delighted to confirm) this is a very enjoyable and eclectic collection of 80s music. It has just about enough of the really good, really memorable hits to be able to get away with the odd strange one. I would have bought it regardless, because I have almost nothing in the way of willpower, but I would nevertheless rate it very highly in comparison with other similarly-themed compilations. Just remember though, that size isn't everything. Pardon? Yes - I always thought that was a lie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Originals does exactly what it says on the CD, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits - 80S Originals (Audio CD)
What was good about this album is the variety of tracks, the main issues were a number of tracks were faded as rather than the original close off. But apart from that well worth the purchase if this is the sort of music that you wish time never forgot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourites, 16 Jan 2014
By 
John E. Lightheart "Lighty" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits - 80S Originals (Audio CD)
I have quite a few of the 100 hits 80s collections and I have to say this is one of my top 2. A couple of replica songs from others in the series but overall they seem to have hit the spot with the songs on this collection. A few more alternative 80s songs and a little less reggae would have made this the best one but I'm not going to downgrade to less stars for that. Enjoy if you buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Small Note for the Purists..., 21 April 2013
This review is from: 100 Hits - 80S Originals (Audio CD)
Living in a Box fans may wish to note that the version of 'Scales of Justice' on this CD is the one that appears on the album, and not the slightly better, beefier single version, which I wish had been put on instead. A minor quibble for what is a good compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars gift, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits - 80S Originals (Audio CD)
bought as a gift for a friend who moved to australia so not my kind of music,
he seems pleased with cd,s and they were delivered on time and well packed
and i thought price was reasonable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits - 80S Originals (Audio CD)
There are some great tracks and just starting playing this. A Birthday Present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits - 80S Originals (Audio CD)
Excellent CD !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

100 Hits - 80S Originals
100 Hits - 80S Originals by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews