Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't see what the problem is
Most surprised to see such negative reviews on here. Personally I think this is a great remix album and actually very much in keeping with tone of 'Hardcore....'. Some saying it isn't an easy listen but I'd say: A. That's par for the course. and B. Isn't it nice for your ear to be challenged by music? Am a long time Mogwai fan and would recommend this to anyone else who...
Published 17 months ago by Peter C

versus
15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not so much a remix, but a destruction of the album
Before I say anything, I think it's only fair to mention that this is exactly what I expected of another Mogwai remix album. We need only to look at the artists they have selected for the job to see that it's not going to be an easy listen. There's none of the usual canon for this genre on remixing duty, i.e. the four tet and burials of this world, despite that this is...
Published 21 months ago by Mr. S. Brown


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not so much a remix, but a destruction of the album, 30 Nov 2012
By 
Mr. S. Brown "stub2001" (Canterbury, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Wrenched Virile Lore (Audio CD)
Before I say anything, I think it's only fair to mention that this is exactly what I expected of another Mogwai remix album. We need only to look at the artists they have selected for the job to see that it's not going to be an easy listen. There's none of the usual canon for this genre on remixing duty, i.e. the four tet and burials of this world, despite that this is exactly what most of their audience want. Therein lies the problem, that there seems to be a fundamental discrepancy between what influences Mogwai and what influences their audience. They make their own form of gritty yet cinematic post-rock, but none-the-less, they are post-rock and as a result, most of their followers ascribe to that aesthetic. On the other hand, Mogwai's personal influences appear to stem from a destructive/punk aesthetic, which is far more apparent on their earlier records - and through their choice of producers/artists for this album.

Therefore, expect a lot of noise and not a lot of melody. There are a couple of saving graces to the record, namely Umberto and RM Hubbert's efforts - and Zombi's remix has a great 80's electro feel that just falls short of the mark when it fails to progress any further. But overall, it's dense, obtuse and seemingly intentionally under-produced - just the way they like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What the hell was that!!!???, 23 Nov 2012
By 
godzilla78 (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Wrenched Virile Lore (Audio CD)
Hmmmmmmm, remix albums can be like marmite - you either love it or hate it. In this case had the opening 4 tracks been removed then the overall picture would have been better. A wrenched virile lore gives Mogwai's previous album (Hardcore will never die, but you will) the electro pop treatment and it's not very pretty. The first 4 tracks are awful, remixes that sound like they have been done with a spectrum or commodore. Most of the album completely butchers the sounds you would associate with Mogwai, only tracks 8-10 sound remotely like the band. A couple of other songs towards the end of the album pick up before being destroyed by more unnecessary electro pop, especially 6 which starts off with some great Spanish guitar until the dreaded electronic influence ruins it. For die-hard Mogwai fans I can only warn you that its not an impressive album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Try Kicking A Dead Pig Instead, 28 Feb 2013
This review is from: A Wrenched Virile Lore (Audio CD)
I'm a massive Mogwai fan and was really looking forward to this release of remixes. While it's above average from start to finish, it does lack any single killer track and starts to feel a bit samey if you're listening closely. That said, it's great to stick on for background music; either at work or for a late-night trip, but 1998's 'Kicking a Dead Pig' as a far more diverse and interesting collection of remixes in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An absolute waste of time, 18 Jan 2013
This review is from: A Wrenched Virile Lore (Audio CD)
Thankfully I chose to listen to the tracks on you tube and the like first.

The result I will not buy or listen to this rubbish again. Mogwai are a fine band but this is a serious own goal!

If you are a fan please listen for free before purchasing, and if you are a newcomer start somewhere else!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't see what the problem is, 9 Mar 2013
This review is from: A Wrenched Virile Lore (Audio CD)
Most surprised to see such negative reviews on here. Personally I think this is a great remix album and actually very much in keeping with tone of 'Hardcore....'. Some saying it isn't an easy listen but I'd say: A. That's par for the course. and B. Isn't it nice for your ear to be challenged by music? Am a long time Mogwai fan and would recommend this to anyone else who is a fan. True it is not perhaps the best place to start out on your Mogwai journey, but who picks a group's eighth or ninth album -and a remix album at that- as their first?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super album, bad reviews are wrong, this is classic Mogwai., 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Wrenched Virile Lore (Audio CD)
Some tracks (faster ones) are reminiscent of early Chemical Brothers, slower ones are classic Mogwai. Altogether top stuff, bad reviews are wrong, this is super.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Wrenched Virile Lore
A Wrenched Virile Lore by Mogwai (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews