Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars28
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£11.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 November 2012
Not really background music either, it needs a proper listen. I have to listen to the tracks individually, for the most part, or it can get too much and shock & awes you. I really like it; intense and with it's own identity. Kinda clears the airways and allows you to start breathing in other more familiar/mainstream music in a different light again. The Fall do this for me too, but in a different way.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2012
Godspeed's songwriting is as strong as ever, the two 20 minute tracks on here all being exceptional. It's true there's very little cohesion between the tracks, all four tracks seeming like they were thrown on here despite not really matching but it's not too distracting considering the quality of the tracks themselves. Highly recommended for all post-rock fans.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2012
I didn't notice that this had appeared for about 3 weeks. I wondered if Godspeed were not coming back. Although SMZ are brill too. Same sort of thing as before, so if you didn't like "Raise Your Skinny Fists" then you won't like this. There are two long tracks, and two shorter ones. My fave is "We drifted like worried fire".
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2013
It's a long time coming, and it's worth the wait.

My initial reaction of 'oh great, two drone pieces' was stumped by actually hearing the work. Listen as an album - strong, powerful and somewhat trademark GY!BE pieces bookended perfectly by textural sound. Really, a fantastic listen.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
I would rank this amongst their best work. In particular We Drift Like Worried Fire. I didn't think much would come close to f# a# infinity, but this stands out
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2015
Superb. My favourite band at the moment, and I know I'm late to the party, having only recently discovered GY!BE, but better late than never, bloodfam.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2012
Like it very much! :)
an awesome album from Godspeed You! Black Emperor
Black Emperor is coming back !!!
have fun with it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2012
Not as good as previous albums yet it soars above most of the conformist dross that is out there, currently masquerading as music!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
Brilliant. Louder, and more aggressive than it's predecessors, it's super eastern and heavy. I was absolutely blown away.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2012
Not the usual gripping GS!YBE. I got the feeling it was too developed and not enough variation of emotions. Just the one. Heavy guitar and drums too often.

Still it's Godspeed, so if this was to be put against any other album it will get 5 stars, it's just not their best.

You'll still enjoy it. So still buy it.
0Comment4 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£15.99
£11.98

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.