Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


346 of 347 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good collection to start your repertoire
I have no intention of becoming a busker as I suspect I would either starve or be paid to go away, but despite that this an excellent little volume.

If, like me, you have the vaguest of ideas of how to play guitar but can not pick out a tune by ear then this is ideal. A hundred and one well known songs with melody, chords and lyrics. You probably know them well...
Published on 24 Dec. 2007 by J. Brand

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 101 Acoustic Hits for Buskers
Not a bad song book though some songs do not show the chord shapes and some songs are quite difficult to play I found that I had to transpose a number of tunes into easier to play chords but not impossible if a little time consuming, so not all songs are beginner friendly. Because of the books large binding the pages open easily and stay open but some songs cover more...
Published on 14 Feb. 2012 by A F Middleton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

346 of 347 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good collection to start your repertoire, 24 Dec. 2007
By 
J. Brand "jbrand" (Somewhere else) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I have no intention of becoming a busker as I suspect I would either starve or be paid to go away, but despite that this an excellent little volume.

If, like me, you have the vaguest of ideas of how to play guitar but can not pick out a tune by ear then this is ideal. A hundred and one well known songs with melody, chords and lyrics. You probably know them well enough that once you've worked through it a couple of times you'll have a fair grasp of it. Most guitar tutorials only include a few complete songs so add a little book like this and you'll have a reasonable repertoire.

Practicalities
It's ring bound, it's a minor point but for scores it's an important one as it means it lies flat while in use.

and as the decsription doesn't list the content, here goes ... songs included are;
50 ways to leave your lover - Paul Simon
The 59th Street Bridge Song - Simon & Garfunkel
American Pie - Don Maclean
Angie - The Rolling Stones
Angels - Robbie Williams
Babylon - David Gray
Blackbird - The Beatles
Blowin' in the wind - Bob Dylan
Both sides now - Joni Mitchel
Bridge over troubles water - Simon & Grafunkel
Brown eyed girl - Van Morrison
Bye Bye Love - The Everly Brothers
California dreamin - The Mamas and Papas
A case of you - Joni Mitchel
The circle game - Joni Mitchel
The closest thing to crazy - Katie Melua
Constant craving - K.D.Lang
Corcovado - Frank Sinatra
Crazy - PatsyCline
A day in the life - The Beatles
Diamonds and rust - Joan Baez
Don't know why - Norah Jones
Don't leave home - Dido
Everything I own - Bread
Father and son - Cat Stevens
Fernando - Abba
Fields of gold - Eva Cassidy
Fragile - Sting
From a distance - Nanci Griffith
Funny how time slips away - Willie Nelson
The girl from Ipanema - Astrud Gilbert
Good people - Jack Johnson
Goodbye yellow brick road - The beatles
Grace - Jeff Buckley
Guantanamera - Pete Seeger
Hallelujah - Jeff Buckley
Hey ther and everywhere - The Beatles
Hey Jude - The Beatles
Homeward Bound - Simon & Garfunkel
How deep is your love - The Bee Gees
Hurt - Johnny Cash
I don't want to talk about it - Everything but the girl
I walk the line - Johnnu Cash
If you could read my mind - Gordon Lightfoot
Imagine - John Lennon
In the summertime - Mungo Jerry
Jolene - Dolly Parton
Knockin' on heavens door - Bob Dylan
Let there be love - Oasis
Life for rent - Dido
Light my fire - Jose Feliciano
The long and winding road - The Beatles
Lost cause - Beck
Love and affection - Joan Armatrading
Love is all around - The troggs
Love me tender - Elvis Presley
Love minus zero / No limit - Bob Dylan
Lover, you should've come over - Jeff Buckley
Mad world - Michael Andrews
Maggie May - Rod Stewart
(Maries the name) his latets flame - Elvis Presley
Me and Julio down by the schoolyard - Paul Simon
Michelle - The Beatles
More than words - Extreme
Mr tambourine man - Bob Dylan
Mrs Robinson - Simon & Garfunkel
No regrets - Tom Rush
No woman, no cry - Bob Marley
Northern sky - Nuck Drake
Norwegian wood - The beatles
Not fade away - The rolling stones
Nothing ever happens - Del Amitri
One day I'll fly away - Randy Crawford
Other side of the world - K T Tunstall
Patience of angels - Eddi Reader
Pink moon - Nick Drake
Romeo & Juliet - Dire Straits
Say yes - Elliot Smith
Scarborough fair
Sisters of mercy - Leonard Cohen
The Skye boat song
Something to talk about - Badly drawn boy
The sound of silence - Simon & Garfunkel
Stay (I missed you) - Lisa Loeb
Tears in heaven - Eric Clapton
That's entertainment - The jam
There she goes - The La's
Ticket to ride - The Beatles
Trouble - coldplay
Until it's time for you to go - Buffy Saint-marie
Vincent - Don Maclean
Waiting in vain - Bob Marley
The weight - The Band
What a wonderful world - Louis Armstrong
Wild Wood - Paul Weller
Wild world - Cat Stevens
Wonderwall - Oasis
Year of the cat - Al Stewart
Yellow - coldplay
Yesterday - The Beatles
You're so vain - Carly Simon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 101 Acoustic Hits for Buskers, 14 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not a bad song book though some songs do not show the chord shapes and some songs are quite difficult to play I found that I had to transpose a number of tunes into easier to play chords but not impossible if a little time consuming, so not all songs are beginner friendly. Because of the books large binding the pages open easily and stay open but some songs cover more than one page which means one has to stop playing so as to turn the page which can be annoying. I would have loved this book in A4 size with slightly larger print that can be read further away hence only 3 stars. But still good value for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Verses Missing., 17 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I decided to get '101 Acoustic Hits for Buskers' as I was keen to add to my repertoir of songs just in case a 'sing-a-long' party ever materialised without warning.

I was kept well informed of the book's progress whilst making it's way to my front door from the Book Depository - (have used them before and find them excellent to buy from); so no issues at all on that front - in fact the book was delivered in great time, and as described.

I would have loved to have been able to give this book a five-star rating, but sadly can't as many of the great songs - 'Vincent' etc... only include the first verse. Not much fun for a 'sing-a-long' if nobody around the table or campfire knows the rest of the song.

With this in mind, all-in-all, not a bad book, and good for picking up the essence of a song. A fair selection of styles and genres to choose from; but sadly as mentioned, you may want to print out the full lyrics off the [...] of your favourites once you've learnt the chords from the book.

Good format, easy read, nice lay-out, and the ring binding sure does help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful., 10 Nov. 2011
I'm a complete beginner for guitar, and this book is great. It comes with notation, pictures of the chords, lyrics and plenty of songs.
It's ring-bound which is great as it lies flat when you need it to, no need to sit for ten minutes breaking the spine.
I'll admit I do wish there were a few more songs from different artists, as I'm not the biggest Paul McCartney fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good -, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't often write reviews. I bought this book for my brother to strum along to. I am a decent guitarist myself and have just had a flick through this book and do not like the arrangements this book has laid out. There are some bizarre chord combinations that have been written for a lot of the songs making it difficult to play the song when in truth far simpler chords are actually what is required to make the song resemble the original.

Furthermore some songs have clearly been originally written by tuning the guitar down a semi tone or tone or using a capo. As far as I can see this book doesn't require a capo for any songs which means they have had to be transcribed into other keys to compensate. In short even if you learned the song exactly like the book says, it won't sound the same..

Other mistakes such as saying Coldplay Yellow is in the key of C when it is actually in B is just lazy.

In short I would not recommend this book. People I would imagine buy this book to pick up and play songs for a bit of a strum. It over complicates songs in some parts and in other just plain gets songs wrong. If you want a good book of this style I recommend the Little Black Song Book range. A lot of the songs covered in this book are covered in those and the quality of sheet writing is far higher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just what I wanted, 23 Jan. 2010
This is the best guitar songbook I've found as it is small so easy to carry around,has pics of each chord as you play it,has a huge range of songs so plenty of favourites for everyone and ring binding holds pages open.Also the music score means you can sing along even if you don't know the tune.
This is 2nd I've bought as I gave 1st to friend sailing around world teaching herself guitar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Decent collection of songs, but not practical, 14 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a nice collection of songs, but the notation is not practical: For most songs, there is a small diagram for every single time a chord is written. A table in the back would have been useful if you forget what a Gm6 looks like, but the notation looks extremely cluttered. Maybe it was intended for beginners, but if you have to figure out an "A" every time you play it, you won't be able to play the songs anyway.

The choice of chords also isn't the most practical, for many songs, easier versions can be found online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent selection of songs, 2 Oct. 2012
By 
Martin Dearlove (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has a pretty good selection of songs for acoustic guitars. Not sure all the chords are 100% but that shouldn't be too much of an issue.

There are not many songs very suitable for the Beginner and there is no help with strumming patterns etc., so probably better for Intermediate to Advanced players.

The ring binding is excellent - all songs/chord/tabs books should be in this format. However, the font is very small and chord shapes are difficult to read from more than a foot or two - for Guitar players it might be better not to have had the score of the melody and, instead, have devoted all the space to the chords/lyrics. It might have also have left enough room for all the lyrics, which are sadly not complete.

So, from a guitar playing standpoint, overall, no more than 3 stars. I'll probably end up using the book for reference, but still going on line to get easier to play, and easier to read, versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars aRubbish. The Kindle version is just s bad photocopy of a printed book, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 101 Acoustic Hits For Buskers (Kindle Edition)
Stay away from this Kindle book. it's a con.
The printed book should be fine but this Kindle version is just a bad photocopy of the printed book.
If i could find a way of returning this and get my money back i would.
Amazon you should be ashamed of yourself allowing such a con in your market place.
Wise Publications a shame on you too.
I have a good mind to report this to the Office of Fair Trading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ...for buskers?, 2 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How many buskers do you see standing in the high street playing a song in E flat? I bought this book as a handy source of material for when I'm teaching guitar. Sadly, despite the title, the songs are all in their original keys, where it would have been much more appropriate (considering the title) to transpose them into easier keys, and given capo settings for the original key. I constantly find I'm having to do that myself. Some songs (eg Paul McCartney's 'Blackbird', and Joni Mitchells 'A Case of You' are just plain wrong. I would return it, but - well, I've written all over it now....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

101 Acoustic Hits For Buskers
101 Acoustic Hits For Buskers by Wise Publications
£12.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews