Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eyes opened, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voices from the Workhouse (Kindle Edition)
If we had to live as these people did in this day and age then I do not think that many of use would survive, we learn how hard people lives where and how much of a disgrace some people found going into the workhouse was , eventhough they had no choice if they wanted to survive. The treatment of children and young babies give you food for thought as well as the rule that had tobe abided by I think that every young person should read this to see how much life has chnge for the better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Subject, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting collection of memories of both inmates and staff of workhouses, a real insight into the culture of the times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read for general interest or study., 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as I have a particular interest in this area of history and first person accounts of workhouses are naturally not all that common, especially not all in one place. It is basically a collection of short, first hand accounts arranged into logical chapters by one of the most popular workhouse historians at the moment. The book covers inmates, staff, and social enquirers among others and features the likes of Charlie Chaplain and Henry Morton Stanley. A lot of the accounts are obviously sad and tragic but a lot are surprisingly positive, the short stories make the book suitable for 'dipping in and out of' or for reading in a couple of sittings. I would recommend this for people who have a general interest, have workhouse ancestry or for poor law students - bearing in mind that a lot of the sources and accounts are biased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful ancestry research tool, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A valuable and interesting book. Very useful for research as well as of historical value.
Well researched and written book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enlightening book ., 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voices from the Workhouse (Kindle Edition)
A very good read. Lot's of information on life in the workhouse ,told by evidence given by inmates ,Governors and under cover reporters of the time . I was drawn to this book and found it hard to put down . Recommend this to any one who has any interest in the Workhouse , the food and accommodation and the characters that visited these institutions .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good historical book, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Worthwhile book to have when researching family members who might have been unfortunate enough to require "parish support"! An historical account of past life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Buy, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this on behalf of someone else for a present. My feedback from them was that the birthday girl was very happy
with this book and it's contents. Packaging was good, no problems there. So A very good information book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the voices, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voices from the Workhouse (Kindle Edition)
another book taken from the mass media archives all about how the workhouses were very very nasty.and how peaple really thought of them especialy for history buffs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa72bc54)

This product

Voices from the Workhouse
Voices from the Workhouse by Peter Higginbotham
1.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews