Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They've done it again and better!!!
After releasing a cracking come back album in 2008 (Animal Instinct), I thought the Tygers may have been hard pushed to top it, but the good news is they have.

Robb Weir & Co. have produced a top notch album. "Ambush" is in a classic rock style. Great riffs - solos - and lyrics, delivered with an enthusiasm that some young bands of today would find hard to...
Published 22 months ago by Rockfan

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars A shame
I had the spellbound album album back in 1981 and the cage from 82 but this band are just a very poor tribute band and this album is very poor so sad.
Published 9 days ago by Big Dave


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They've done it again and better!!!, 24 Sep 2012
This review is from: Ambush (Audio CD)
After releasing a cracking come back album in 2008 (Animal Instinct), I thought the Tygers may have been hard pushed to top it, but the good news is they have.

Robb Weir & Co. have produced a top notch album. "Ambush" is in a classic rock style. Great riffs - solos - and lyrics, delivered with an enthusiasm that some young bands of today would find hard to muster.

All the tracks are delivered with the sheer power of they're live performances, and Chris Tsangarides who produced their early classics "Wild Cat" & "Spellbound", has helped reproduce that live power for this studio recording.

Standout tracks are hard to pick as all songs are of a high calibre, but "She" and "Hey Susie" are noteworthy. The latter re-inducing the "Hello Susie" Character from their dubut album with just a teasing hint of the original Susie riff towards the end of the song.

Also Rodney Matthews' art work has helped to capture the mood of a bygone era - remember all his great LP covers?

Take no notice of the poor 5/10 review in Classic Rock, if this had been an american band the reviewer would have been drooling all over it, get this CD - put it on, have a few beers and teleport yourself back to the early 80's and relive the excitement of NWOBHM.
You know you want to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album, 14 Oct 2012
By 
John Atkinson "doublejd" (Huddersfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ambush (Audio CD)
First of all can I start by saying that the comments submitted by Mr A. D. K. Ogston really do need qualifying.

1. The Tygers never have and never will be any kind of INXS tribute band.
2. If Mr Ogston knew anything about music (which I doubt very much) then he would know that the lead singer of INXS was called Hutchence and that he's been dead 15 years.
3. His command of English is pretty poor. The word is advice not advise.
4. You do not use all capital letters when writing reviews!!

So now you can safely ignore his comments. All I can say is if you are a real fan of the Tygers then you will love this album. So do your ears a favour and buy it!

The following words are an addition to my original review. I see Mr Ogston has slightly amended his review so some of the above issues, namely 2) and 3) have been corrected and do not apply. However, I still maintain that this is a fantastic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give it a try, you will not be disspointed, 19 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ambush (Audio CD)
If you like NWOBHM or just good old fashioned British Classic Rock, give this album a try and you will not be dissapointed. Big Guitars, Drums and really catchy choruses (Just what the Tygers are known for)make this a 80s album with a 2012 sound. Stunning Artwork, produced by Chris Tsangarides its a real road trip down memory lane back to the hayday of classic rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best thing I've heard in years!, 4 Oct 2012
By 
This review is from: Ambush (Audio CD)
I actually bought this album for a family member, but after one listen I knew it was gonna have to stay in my car. It is without a doubt the best album I've heard in a long time. Every track is original and strong. It keeps you rocking from start to finish. So I speak on behalf of myself and every passenger in my car who has said, " wow, who is this?" ..... buy it now, you won't be dissappointed.
10 out of 10!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just like beng at the Marquee Club in 1980, 30 Oct 2012
This review is from: Ambush (Audio CD)
Remember getting the first single on Neat Records after seeing Tygers of Pan Tang supporting Iron Maiden at the old Marquee Club in 1980. Saw them at Reading, The Lyceum and headlining themselves at Hammersmith.

Listening to this album brings back memories of those early Tyger days and the Rodney Matthews album cover is classic.

Top tracks are She, Keeping me alive and Man on Fire. Just grab a copy you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tygers are go, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ambush (MP3 Download)
Yeah the Tygers new release is a must have. I really enjoy this album and it's great to hear them on such a quality album.Hopefully looking forward to seeing them this year. An old group still going strong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tygers still relevant., 29 Dec 2012
By 
Peter J. Dooley "Retrohorror" (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ambush (MP3 Download)
Tygers Of Pan Tang release their best album since 1981's Spellbound and possibly their most accomplished of all with Ambush.
Anyone who likes New Wave Of British Heavy Metal or Classic Rock will do well to buy this now ! Teaming up again with producer Chris Tsangarides ( Y & T, Tokyo Blade, Lords Of The New Church ) who twiddled the knobs for their first two albums does a great job again. It's great that founding member Rob Weir is keeping his baby alive with a great band and some cracking new songs especially Keeping Me Alive, One Of A Kind, She, Man On Fire, Hey Suzie and easily the best vocalist in the band's 35 year career, Jacopo Meille, who gives a stunning performance here. When I recommend bands to people and they ask me what album to check out first, I'll normally suggest an early album from the band in question, however, if you are new to Tygers, then Ambush is easily the best place to start. How many bands can you say that about ? A must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well, what a pleasant suprise......, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ambush (Audio CD)
I was a huge fan of the Tygers back in the day and have always held a soft spot for them. Trying to keep up with some of the less well known Tygers releases over the years has possibly been a little dissapointing if I am honest.
But the "Animal Instint" album was a great improvement and leads nicely onto this fine CD album we are considering here.
For me; Ambush is simply one of the best albums of 2012 and stands out as probably the best Tygers album of all their incarnations.
Heavy rock with a NWoBHM feel this is quality Rock'n'Metal music.
Now if I could just get to see them live ..............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A shame, 14 July 2014
This review is from: Ambush (Audio CD)
I had the spellbound album album back in 1981 and the cage from 82 but this band are just a very poor tribute band and this album is very poor so sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tygers Roar, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ambush (Audio CD)
I must confess having been a big Tygers fan in years of yore I wasn't too take with the last album from Rob & Co, however this is a different beast altogether back Chris Pantang at the knobs we have a classic rock album in the traditional NWOBHM vein, there are several stand out tracks which have jumped out over several months of listening each to their own so you choose!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ambush
Ambush by Tygers Of Pan Tang
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews