Customer Reviews


185 Reviews
5 star:
 (125)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


198 of 205 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A welcome addition to the Playstation family!
After the recent death of my launch Playstation 3 from 2007, I was in the market for a new console. This coincided with prefect timing from Sony, with the launch of their 2012 slim model. Having owned both a launch and slim Playstation 3 from 2009, I felt it was fair to share my views on Sony's latest offering. As with all Sony consoles, the packaging was attractive and...
Published 22 months ago by Fireball Dragon

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Smaller than Original 60GB, but rubbish disk lid and only 2 USB instead of 4
Nice size, I am hoping they have improved the reliability compared to the original 'fat' PS3 but we will see.

Smaller size = good, fits under TV easier.
Bigger hard disk = good, and sensible since disks are so cheap now.

2 x USB ports = bad. Seriously, how expensive are USB ports? No excuse for cutting the amount of ports.
No more PS2...
Published 11 months ago by McJaffa


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

198 of 205 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A welcome addition to the Playstation family!, 14 Oct 2012
By 
Fireball Dragon (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 500GB Super Slim Console (Console)
After the recent death of my launch Playstation 3 from 2007, I was in the market for a new console. This coincided with prefect timing from Sony, with the launch of their 2012 slim model. Having owned both a launch and slim Playstation 3 from 2009, I felt it was fair to share my views on Sony's latest offering. As with all Sony consoles, the packaging was attractive and neat! Included in the box is: a 500GB PS3 slim console, wireless Dualshock control pad, power cable, av cable, usb charging cable and instructions.

----------------------------
FIRST IMPRESSIONS
----------------------------
-The first thing you notice about the console is the size and weight reduction. Admittedly, I did not see much of a difference between the launch console and slim model from 2009. However, this machine is (almost!) the PS3 slim I had been waiting for.

-The machine is a combination of both a charcoal matt and glossy black finish. This actually looks a lot nicer in person than in pictures.

-There are two usb ports on the front, as with the previous slim model. The rear has all the usual ports form previous models; ethernet port, HDMI, optical cable, AV multi-out and of course the power adapter input.

-Discs are now inserted by the sliding across of a disc tray, located the top of the PS3.

-The included Dualshock controller is essentially the same as previous generations, and as comfortable and trustworthy as ever!

------------------------
POSITIVE POINTS
------------------------
-My launch PS3 had a 60GB hard drive, and my 2009 slim a 120GB. This is my first console with such vast disc space (500GB). It is a very welcome addition, considering that many games can now be downloaded from the PSN store (this is particularly useful if you have a Playstation Plus account).

-While playing games, I have noted that disc spinning noise is reduced when compared to previous models. This is apparently due to better ventilation (as claimed by Sony). Without discs, noise levels are virtually zero.

-The slim form factor allows for easy portability of the console, as well as discrete positioning.

-------------------------
NEGATIVE POINTS
-------------------------
-Although the console is nice enough to look at, I do feel some compromises have been made in the design. Overall, the previous machines were definitely more classy, with their slot loading mechanisms. Build quality seems a bit hollow, despite pleasing aesthetics.

-Again, no PS2 backward compatibility. Also gone is the SD card reader that was found only in launch models.

-------------------
CONCLUSION
-------------------
The price of this new model is a little steep, considering that the PS3 is now over half a decade old (and with rumours of a PS4 around the corner). But overall, I am pleased with the new Playstation slim. It does have some flaws in build quality, but these can be easily overlooked due to the slim form factor and new design. There are some places I feel Sony could have improved on to make the 'ultimate' Playstation console. However, if you are in the market for a new PS3, you can't go far wrong with this. 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 78 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sony PS3 Super Slim Review, 20 Oct 2012
By 
MrE (E Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 500GB Super Slim Console (Console)
First thing to note is that this console was a surprise for most people, i can remember seeing it on the internet at first and saying "oh is that the new PS4" ... sadly not!

This is the PS3 but in super slim form so it went down to weight watchers and came out a leaner fitter machine. It does nothing more or less than the standard "slim" model and comes with the same accessories and controller. The main difference is the size which really makes it the smallest HD gaming console on the market and the top loading blu-ray drive which i will talk about later. The main difference in terms of "whats under the hood" is the hard drive which is now 500GB (in my view this is overkill yet it would allow you to boast about the size of your hard drive). All the ports on the back are identical as are the two USB ports on the front!

As usual the fit and finish on this console is second to none and it's finished in a stylish gloss finish. The top is a rigid finish which allows the top loading drive cover to slide the full length of the console. On the mater of the top loading drive, it works well and the sliding cover is easy to operate... but this does create a problem or two. First as the drive is now on the top and all there is to cover it is the thin sliding cover the drive is more audible than before although it's nothing that's going to distract you from gaming or watching a movie, the bigger problem is because the drive is top loading you can't exactly put the console under your TV and leave it there as how can you change disks?? There just wasn't enough room to get to the disk drive so ensure you have a deep shelf to place it on.

Other things to note:

In terms of software this console is exactly the same as any other PS3. In my experience after testing the wireless out and comparing it to the previous slim this one has a better range. The controller is the same great controller as you got before which features a built in battery and operates off blu-tooth which means it's very efficient and uses little power while gaming.

PROS: Well made, this is the size the PS3 should have been from day 1, 500GB of storage so enough to last a lifetime, excellent connectivity in terms of wireless and blu-tooth, controller is brilliant, online is free to use, can stand vertically!

CONS: top loading drive cover feels cheap, thin and is not noise insulated.., because it's top loading you need extra space to gain access to the drive (so those narrow shelves under you tv are out), 500gb is overkill for most people yet it's the only option that makes sense as the 12GB model will get filled very quickly if you play a lot of games, expensive!

VERDICT: To be honest i fail to see why they brought the super slim console out, it does nothing new except it has a bigger hard drive and is smaller. Yet because of the top loading drive you can only place it in certain places. Don't get me wrong i like the idea and the console looks good and works well but be in no doubt the reason they did it was to save money compared to slot loading drive they had before. Yet at the same time the console is expensive...

My recommendation is to stick with the current "slim" model if thats what you have as it's NOT WORTH upgrading unless you specifically want to pay extra for this new one! If you're new to the gaming world then sure this would make a great console, just be aware of the top loading drive and where you're going to put it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Balance is restored!, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 500GB Super Slim Console (Console)
I got this to replace my old FAT PS3 that died the other week from the dreaded Yellow light of death.. It had been used to death in the 5/6 years I had it so it did very well.. I was going to hold out for the PS4 as its not long off now.. However I have a good amount of PS3 games I simply wont be able to play on the PS4.. Classic Black opps with zombies and the like.. (I could never be without that game in my collection)

So ok.. Is this any better the the original FAT PS3? No clearly not.. Its got a bigger hard drive and a better fan system so im told.. But the main hardware is as the original.. however its not anywhere as cheap and lightly made as people have been moaning about.. The disk tray does make a little more noise when loading then the old one as its at the top now.. But the system itself is a lot quieter then the old one when running games off the hard drive or non disk tasks .. I have a plus account again now and I play most things on the HDD and it makes hardly any noise at all, even after hours of use its still the same.. So yes I love this one as much as the old one.. Just miss the over the top DVD drive tray lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome 5*, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 500GB Super Slim Console (Console)
Arrived in amazingly safe packaging, works like a dream, easy to install and makes absolutely no noise, its a dream console as it stands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best television accessory you can buy, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 500GB Super Slim Console (Console)
This is the best television accessory you can buy, and of it's generation the best console. Even if you aren't a serious gamer, the ps3 makes your tv Smart with an internet browser, Netflix and other streaming services and catch-up services like 4od and BBC iPlayer, a 500gb hard drive that you can store movies, pictures etc, and unlike the xbox offers a 3D BluRay player.
It's arguably more reliable than an xbox360 and Sony I find are better with customer services than Microsoft should anything go wrong. The differences in gameplay between this and a 360 are minimal, and as to the exclusive games it's up to you what you prefer - big exclusives being games like The Last Of Us, Uncharted and Little Big Planet vs Halo and Gears of War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars and there is a plenty of exclusive such like the whole ratchet and clank series, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 500GB Super Slim Console (Console)
after 5 years of xbox 360 i decided to move to another generation but instead choose ps4 i decided to bought a ps3(and i will bought in the future a wii u to put near it) , why i took a ps3 ? well now is cheaper and her games as well, i am tired of shooter and fighter games i prefer now platform and particular games with some exception , and there is a plenty of exclusive such like the whole ratchet and clank series , jax and daxter trilogy, sly trilogy, puppeteer,wipeout HD little big planet series, metal gear solid 4,the last of us ecc. , and i forget it there are a lot of ps one classic game like final fantasy XII ,IX crash bandicoot and spyro series(i bought these one for first game) , i could never imagined how much exclusive game the sonys' console hold , the ps3 super slim is very light and small i was surprise,and i did not find the casing too much cheaper as well i like it the new disk insertion remenber me my childhood when i had the ps one my first console. Set up was easy as well and i found the menu more beautiful than Microsoft console i liked the controller i dont find so much difference from xbox360 controller , i did not tried the blue ray drive so i don't know yet the level of noises because most of the game i will buy by digital delivery , and in that case the console is very very quietly, i appreciate it i can buy from playstation network with the paypal system is more safely now than before so if you want a very good game system took a this one you will be not disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small, quiet, powerful., 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 500GB Super Slim Console (Console)
I bought this model to replace an old 'full size' PS3 that had given up after many years of service.

So far I've been very impressed. It really is a super slim unit, also super quiet, certainly compared to the previous model. This unit also doesn't seem to get anywhere near as hot, despite being in a fairly confined space.

To some, a return to a top loading "manual" disc mechanism might feel a little cheap - but it works well and I find swapping discs over a bit faster!

If you want to replace a dead old-model PS3, or you're new to Sony - be sure to pick up the super slim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still a powerfull games machine, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 500GB Super Slim Console (Console)
Even as "last years model" the PS3 is still an excellent console. With a vast array of games available including some award winning exclusive titles which are now very cheap (The last of us and the Uncharted series spring to mind). The slim takes up a little more space than your average Blue Ray player but with the 500 GB hard drive it can store movies, downloaded games, music and pictures.
With an internet connection it can be used to play Amazon prime films or Love film on your TV as well as BBC I player and E4 and even as an internet browser though it is cumbersome to browse the web or write anything longer than a tweet without a keypad attachment (not included).
If your holding out for PS4 to come down in price this is still a good console and doubles up as a blue ray player compatible with most sound systems. To boot if you have a modern sony TV then most models will let you use your remote with the PS3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's my birthday present, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 500GB Super Slim Console (Console)
I bought this Playstation Slim for my 21st birthday and I'm not disappointed. For a playstation it is very small and looks nice.
The delivery was fast so I was able to start playing very quickly.

Thank you very much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Smaller than Original 60GB, but rubbish disk lid and only 2 USB instead of 4, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 500GB Super Slim Console (Console)
Nice size, I am hoping they have improved the reliability compared to the original 'fat' PS3 but we will see.

Smaller size = good, fits under TV easier.
Bigger hard disk = good, and sensible since disks are so cheap now.

2 x USB ports = bad. Seriously, how expensive are USB ports? No excuse for cutting the amount of ports.
No more PS2 support = bad. Why remove support when it used to be there? A cynical attempt to get you to buy new games, the machine has the ability as the original version had it, but they remove it for the slim versions. I expect that kind of stuff from Microsoft.
No way to copy over content or save games from old faulty PS3 = Bad, I understand encryption to prevent copying, but the new PS3 is registered with same user details as the old one was, surely you should be able to connect the old hard disk up with a USB caddy and read it? No.

Summary: too many sacrifices for the sake of a cheaper price. No option to buy a fully featured model any more either, budget spec or nothing. This is a backward step not an improvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sony PlayStation 3 500GB Super Slim Console
Sony PlayStation 3 500GB Super Slim Console by Sony Computer Entertainment UK (PlayStation 3)
199.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews