Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars213
4.5 out of 5 stars
Colour Name: Blue|Change
Price:£8.42+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 June 2014
At the time of writing, this set is being sold at £28.53. These contain 7ml of ink, comapred to the XL cartridges which are 11ml. So the equivalent price for the XL cartridges would be £28.53 x 11 / 7, which is £44.84. Amazon are selling a full set of the XL cartridges for £59.48. This does also include the PG550XL, which costs £12.45 on its own. So the equivalent cost of the XL cartidges for comparison is £59.48 - £12.45, which is £47.03. If you're still with me, you'll now have realised that buying these smaller cartridges is better value than buying the XL ones, which isn't what you would have expected.

It's a different matter if you're buying individual cartridges, where the XL size is better value.
11 comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
When Canon sell you a new printer (Pixma MG5450) they only give you starter cartridges with it which hold a very small amount of ink in them PGI-550 black and CLI-551 colour cartridges c/m/y (STARTER CARTRIDGES). I was using about 3 black and 2 each of the colours cartridge per month and it was costing me a small forturne. I later found out that Canon do a higher yield versions of the PGI-550 and CLI-551 cartridges which cost only a few pounds more but hold far more ink in them than the starter cartridges which I was using before. What you need is a PGI-550XL on the black which hold 22mls of ink rather than the 15mls of ink that is in the black starter cartridge and on the colour what you should be using is CLI-551XL cartridges which holds 11mls each colour rather than the 7mls which is in the colour starter cartridges. I can even go one better, I now use a company called advantage online who stock the Canon originals PGI-550/CLI-551XL's plus do British premium compatible PGI-550XL and CLI-551XL cartridges which hold a impressive 25mls black and 12mls per colour. I have used them a couple of times so far and have been quite impressed. I hope you don't fall into the Canon trap of selling a very good printer (Pixma MG5450) at a very cheap price and then trying to charge you load of money for starter cartridges which are nearly empty.
1111 comments|64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2013
This should be an economical way to acquire these cartridges but the savings scarcely justify buying in bulk. The standard cartridge life is short and much greater savings can be had buying the XL ink tanks.Even then, the "XL" cartridge life is roughly the same as the previous generation (CLI-8) standard product.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
My photos came out looking good with this ink, colours are brilliant, delivery was quick , and I got quite a good few A4 photos printed, no smudges, very clear looking & professionally done, excellent!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
Another very good original product from Canon. Amazon have made it easy to get hold of at a competitive price. The product is easily identified.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
I thought I was buying a full set of replacement cartridges, disappointed to realise you don't get the larger black cartridge so why show it in the image? Also realised these are starter cartridges not the high capacity XL cartridges which again are shown in the image. You have to read every bit of small print to realise this isn't the deal you think you are getting. Pretty annoyed but you live and learn, beware!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
As someone has said previously - how do you review ink?

All I can say is that used on an MX925 all-in-one printer/scanner, I've found Canon genuine inks to produce much better photographs on glossy paper. I've previously had to junk two canon printers when 'compatible' inks blocked the print head, or produced results that were frankly rubbish. I resent paying silly money for printer ink - albeit this was the most competitive price that I found for the real mccoy - but I would never recommend using third party inks. At least on a device with separate ink tanks, you don't throw away an entire cartridge when only one colour has run out. Recommended,
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2014
This is an ink jet cartridge set, it is working well in our Canon printer. Service from supplier was excellent.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2014
Got a good canon printer and it replaced a previous one in which I used compatibles and i blame these for giving that printer and early binning. I will now buy genuine inks from canon and the quality is there. Yes its more expensive but unless your printing the magna carter Its not that expensive considering you may end up investing in another new printer if u dont use the genuine items.

Also buy on amazon and the basic non XL version as they dont last much longer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
Proper Canon cartridge at a price no-one else can touch. Tried one of the 'imitation' ones in the past.......Never again !!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 10 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)